Accentuate the postive…

You gotta accentuate the positive, they say. Lots of people have said it in lots of ways, but this is my favourite version, and a bit of a leitmotif for my life 🙂

Positive signSo I did. Accentuate it, that is. The positive sign for Stay+ is done. When I’ve finished some secret F2F2 sewing this week, I’ll do a little more work on ScrapHappy, and then get cracking with Stay+. I’m having a busy week, so there hasn’t been a huge amount of free time to sew, but I’m happy to report that I have in fact emptied one whole shoebox of scraps…

OffcutsThe leftovers from trimming out ScrapHappy. I don’t believe even the most frugal would find anything useful in that little lot, so they truly don’t count as scraps any longer!

We’re away down south on Miss Scarlett for the weekend to visit some motorbiking friends. I need to get the pannier bags out and start the packing, assemble the wet weather gear we hopefully won’t need, and bake some visitor-gifts.

Right, back to the kitchen. Two date and gingerbread loaves, some peanut butter cookies and an apple cinnamon upside down cake in the oven to be watched.

32 thoughts on “Accentuate the postive…

  1. claire93 says:

    gorgeous layout!

  2. Jule says:

    Not scraps anymore but fabric pasta – Quilting Arts magazine recently had an article in their April/May issue about these ‘noodles’. Something similar is here (project #2) – http://www.quiltingdaily.com/Fabric-Art-Techniques.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not so short of useful scraps that I need to think of ways to use slivers only a few millimetres wide! Seriously, there’s no way to sew this stuff together… unless you mat it down and collage it, and that’s not my thing.

  3. sounds like a busy week indeed! enjoy your biking adventures 🙂

  4. dayphoto says:

    HAVE A FUN TIME! Your baking sound yummy. I have company coming a surprise. A long time blog reader and her husband! I will be busy in the kitchen and getting the house up to snuff!

    Linda

  5. I like the term fabric noodles. 🙂 The quilt is prefect. And the kitchen smells wonderful. Looks like you are feeling better to be standing so long. I’m behind. Miss Scarlet is … a Motor bike??

  6. kathyreeves says:

    Very nice, and you can feast on upside cake as a reward!

  7. tialys says:

    Have fun on Miss Scarlett and meeting up with your friends.x

  8. Debbierose says:

    Very pretty layout, and yes unless your doing confetti quilt, then toss those scraps

    • katechiconi says:

      Already history! I thought about picking through the bin to retrieve the tiny strips and put them out for the birds to use for nest material, but I could see them getting sprinkled all over the back yard… I’ll give the birds all the threads from my thread catcher instead.

  9. eva says:

    love love love your blog…. so interesting!!!
    those teeny tiny scraplets you showed….. well there is at least one more use for those. i gathered those bits for a while (just bagged them & shoved the bag in a corner) until i had enough to fill a “futon” for a doggie bed. i made a pillowcase – shaped “bag” and stuffed it full of those bits – including batting bits, stitched the pillowcase shut, then made hand stitches randomly throughout the bed…. and voila…… a doggie futon/mattress.
    so…… one more use for all those COTTON shards…
    Zoe the dog LOVES her futon…
    xo
    eva

    • katechiconi says:

      You know, if I had a dog, I might do the same thing… Little tiny slivers of fabric a couple of millimetres across are too difficult to store successfully unless you have a project in mind, and a use where the colour/size/composition doesn’t matter. I do keep scraps large enough to produce two seams and a visible piece, especially from my treasured fabrics. Thanks for visiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

