Time for Teal 23: Time for a teal break

It’s done, my friends.

Last section joined, bound, hanging pocket and label added. Click on the photos to enlarge.

T4T finished frontNormally, I hang a quilt on the line to photograph it, but I didn’t like to disturb Mrs Noisy on her nest. The design wall is fully occupied by S+ so I can’t hang it there. The Husband of Chiconia was unavailable for quilt holding-up duties, being occupied with grubby activities in the garage. So I bit the bullet and approached the clothesline quietly and obliquely. She was a bit agitated for a minute or two, but when it was obvious I wasn’t interested in her or her nest, she sat tight. It didn’t help that it’s a breezy day and the damn quilt wouldn’t hold still, but there you go, I’m not complaining about a nice cool breeze.

T4T reverse, quiltingT4T labelToday or tomorrow, I shall head to the post office to get it off to Ovarian Cancer Australia’s Melbourne office. After that, I’m taking some days off from the colour teal to do some other sewing, read a book, clean the sewing room floor, that sort of stuff. I’ll be getting back to S+ soon, I just need a break from all that tealness, and so, I’m sure, do you…

Quilt details:
Size: W63 x H75 inches (W160 x H190cm)
30 x 12½ inch blocks, made by 13 contributors
6 blocks specially design for the quilt*
Begun 3 March 2016, completed 9 August 2016

I’ll also be stroking the absolutely gorgeous Japanese printed voile I bought in the 30% off Spotlight sale to make myself a dress and trying to find a home for the large roll of batting I also scored for a similar reduction. So, let’s see, what can I find to surprise you with next time?

So many lovely things to make, so little time… 

 

*If you’d like to use any of the blocks specially designed for this quilt by Esther of ipatchandquilt, please click through to  her Craftsy shop for all these – and many more – beautiful foundation paper piecing patterns.

60 thoughts on “Time for Teal 23: Time for a teal break

  1. kathyreeves says:

    Kate, it is spectacular! What a labor of love, and your tribute to Viv is beautiful. Thank you for making this happen. I’m looking forward to sending you something teal when the the next project begins.

    • katechiconi says:

      That would be lovely! I’m so glad you like it. I’m pretty happy with it, and would be quite glad to hang onto it, but it’s time to send it out to do some good 🙂

  2. M. D. Lonnie says:

    The quilt blocks have come together beautifully. Well done you!

    • katechiconi says:

      Don’t they all look great together? It just goes to show that people all over the world can work together to produce a harmonious result for a good cause. They’re such a great group 🙂

  3. Kate, I’ve not been following you long enough to know the origins of this quilt, but I gather it’s been a group effort for…a fundraiser. Or is this going to a cancer patient? It’s beautiful. I love the colors, the heart on the back, and your beautiful dedication to Viv.

    Enjoy your rest and a good clean up. That always does my heart good, too.

    • katechiconi says:

      Time for Teal is a quilt I’ve made for Ovarian Cancer Australia. Teal is the awareness colour for this cause, hence the colour scheme. Some time ago, we lost a member of the FootSquareFreestyle (F2F) sewing group to ovarian cancer, and I promised her before the end that I would carry the torch and raise funds to improve awareness. I contacted Ovarian Cancer Australia in February, asked if they’d be interested in quilts for fundraising, which they hadn’t done before, and they were keen. I’ve told them they’ll get a quilt a year from me until I’m no longer able. Once I’d made a start, offers poured into to make a block here, a couple of blocks there, and it just snowballed. And it look like OCA are going to get a bonus quilt for September, too!

      • Kate, what a lovely and empowering thing to do for your friend and for women everywhere. I’m not at all surprised that others jumped in with squares. This is yet another reason for me to take up quilting. I love the shared nature as well as the artistry and craft.

      • katechiconi says:

        If you do decide to take up quilting, your help will be greatly appreciated – I predict that contributors will rotate in and out as their commitments allow. I am fortunate to be in a position to devote a lot of time to this work.

      • You’re the best, Kate. I think I’ll look into a class this fall. There are plenty of quilt shops around here, and I already sew so it shouldn’t be a huge leap. I’ll let you know if I get it together. You have a good heart.

  4. This looks beautiful. It’s been great fun to contribute to this and watch it come together. And as Kathy says what a labour of love.

    • katechiconi says:

      Your block really blooms with that lovely flower, thank you so much! If you feel like making another block or two for later quilts, it would be most welcome 🙂

  5. M. L. Kappa says:

    It turned out absolutely wonderful, Kate! Wow! ❤️💕☕️

  6. Wow – another work of art. I hope it raises loads of money and goes to someone who really loves it.

  7. claire93 says:

    well done to you and all who contributed.
    And fingers crossed this raises lots of $$$ !!

  8. knitnkwilt says:

    It’s just delightful! And the quilting looks good too. Enjoy the finished feeling.

  9. Speechless at the gorgeousness of this quilt. It’s a teal extravaganza, and so exquisitely put together. ❤

  10. tialys says:

    Well done you!! It looks brilliant all put together and your quilting looks good – I’m never brave enough to use a plain fabric on the back :/ It is just the right size I think – I know I was in the ‘bigger’ camp but this is a good size – more than a lap quilt isn’t it? I hope so as this is the size I’m making for Mr. Tialys with my F2F blocks. I love how much information you managed to get on one quilt label – you must tell me how you did it some time. Go forth and play with something else for a little while now – any colour, as long as it’s not teal.
    Here’s to getting loads of money at auction. Will OCA put a reserve price on it or start the bidding at a certain level – have they said?

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not quite plain on the back, it’s a pale on dark cream tiny floral print, and I did quilt in cream, but I know what you mean – at one point I wondered if I were bonkers!
      As far as size goes, a lap quilt is usually 50 x 65 inches, so this is on the large and generous side, and also large for a single bed. What it will do is sit nicely as a topper on a standard double! I don’t know what OCA plan to do about a reserve, and if they ask I shall have to think about what a reasonable reserve would be…
      As for the label, well I just started typing and then edited when I saw a heart shape emerging! Then I took a screen shot of the Word document, flipped the image in PicMonkey, printed it out on transfer paper and ironed it onto a fabric label. 🙂

  11. alisonsye says:

    Well done. It’s just wonderful

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    What a beautiful quilt and wonderful concept. Well done (again) Kate.

  13. norma says:

    Fabulous! Well done to all the contributors.

  14. rutigt says:

    What can I say!!! It is absolutely fantastic!! I love the color teal and I love the way you put all the blocks together and your quilting! Wow, great and beautiful ❤

  15. Robin Murphy says:

    The quilt is fabulous Kate. Thank you so much for including us in this journey. I have enjoyed it immensely and will be making more blocks for as many quilts as you wish to create. I am sure Viv is smiling with us all. The label is perfect.

  16. Grannymar says:

    Amazing front and back, Kate. Congratulations to you and all who contributed their blocks for the project. Viv would be delighted with it. Now enjoy resting your eyes from all the teal for a while. Don’t forget to allow some time for the body to rest.

    • katechiconi says:

      Definitely time to rest the hand stitching hand! I shall spend some time on another project nearing completion, upon which subject more soon! I’m so glad you like the quilt, a fitting tribute to Viv and everyone’s hard work.

  17. Your tribute to a friend lost to cancer is not only beautiful, it’s also quilted wisdom. Tea, cake, flowers, and hearts say a lot about slowing down, cherishing the moment, finding sweetness. And the mandalas ask us to consider the complexity of patterns everywhere around us. It’s a marvel what fabric, thread, and love can do.

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree, and let us not forget, bringing together strangers in a common and creative cause. It’s going to give me a great deal of pleasure to provide the charity with quilts as long as they still want them and I can make them.

  18. dayphoto says:

    Your quilt is just stunning!!! Love your tribute and your work! EXCELLENT!

    Linda

  19. Magpie Sue says:

    Oh Kate, it’s wonderful! I see that it could be hung or used as a nap quilt. That didn’t really sink in when I read previous posts. I love how you shaped the credits into a heart shape, to say nothing of the lovely credit to Viv. Whatever amount this quilt raises it won’t be equal to the effort that you put into it!

    • katechiconi says:

      It really is a wonderful community project, isn’t it? Everyone’s offering is different, but they all work together so well. The heart in the label was classic serendipity, the beginning of the shape started to emerge as I typed out the information, and I simply tweaked until it worked!

  20. knettycraft says:

    It is wonderful Kate! And what a lovely idea to add that tribute to Viv!

  21. Beautiful work, Kate. Yes, I can imagine that you are ready for another colour or a good book after all the work you have put into this one lovely project.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m treating myself to a frenzy of colour, playing scrappy catch-up. I’m three blocks off having enough to finish the ScrapHappy Quilt 🙂
      It does make a nice visual change…

  22. Oh Kate, this is absolutely awesome !!!!it makes me happy just to look at it !!!

  23. […] sewed a teal X block for Kate’s next ovarian cancer fundraising quilt. She said helpers could make any teal 12-inch block that was shaped like an X. I looked through my […]

  24. […] till I have all the blocks done before I start to join them up. I learned the hard way with the Time for Teal quilt that joining long strips to long strips was a lot harder and more painful than it needed to […]

  25. […] size quilt for my niece’s wedding present 12 Hatbox blocks 9 blocks, quilting and assembly of Time for Teal OCA charity quilt 5 blocks, quilting and assembly of Stay+ OCA charity quilt 18 hexie flowers so […]

  26. […] Time for Teal,  Stay Positive,  Tealed with a Kiss. […]

Leave a Reply

