Time for Teal 22: an end, and a beginning

OK, then, we have a result.

I will not be adding the outer border blocks to Time for Teal. Instead, I’ll attach the final dresden strip to the bottom, and then bind and label it. I’ll add a channel to the top at the back in case its new owners wish to hang it on the wall, and then I’ll send it off down to Melbourne :-), the first of many, I hope.

After that, it’ll be time to get cracking with the second one. Yup, once I’d made the decision, I took T4T down and arranged all the leftover blocks, and guess what? I only have 5 blocks left to make to achieve another quilt! Thanks mainly to the fact that I received Nanette’s lovely squishy this morning with 4 blocks and lots of lovely teal scraps. ย See, how nice are these?

Collage 1 Nanette S+

So, what’s the new one going to be like, you may ask (assuming you haven’t fallen asleep with boredom about the whole subject by now, of course…)? Well, quite a lot like this, actually:

S+ layout

It’s call Stay +ย (Positive). A visual pun, but a pun nonetheless. What, you thoughtย I’d let a perfectly good punning opportunity pass, did you? The plus sign in the centre currently blocked in with dark teal scrap fabric will be made up of chequerboard blocks in all the darkest shades of teal I have, including some of the lovely scraps Nanette sent me. I’ll be able to crank those out really quickly. There’s probably going to be some positional tweaking going on before I finalise the layout, but not too much. Yes, it’s a square, and slightly smaller than the other one, but it needs to be a square because of the + sign, and it’s still a pretty good size at nearly 160cm square. Certainly plenty large enough for chilly evening snuggling.

So, thanks to everyone who took the trouble to consider the issue and leave a comment. I appreciate every single one, and even if I didn’t go with your selection, it doesn’t mean I don’t care about your contribution.

Stay with me, there’s a new quilt trying to escape…

41 thoughts on “Time for Teal 22: an end, and a beginning

  1. anne54 says:

    That sounds like a sensible solution, Kate, especially as you almost have the makings for the second. I love the idea of the teal cross. (Isn’t teal a beautiful colour? One of my favourites.)

    • katechiconi says:

      It is a great colour, and has made – and will make – working on the OCA project a pleasure. I’m not sure I could do it with yellow or brown for example. I love the idea of the plus/positive sign, which emerged all by itself as I put blocks up on the wall. There was a negative space, and I decided it needed to be a positive space, and the rest followed from there.

  2. Jill says:

    What a nice job you have done. The blocks look great and I love the colour.

    • katechiconi says:

      For a quick and dirty arrangement of what I had and the spark of an idea, it’s not bad, but I’m pretty sure some of the blocks will be moved around a bit before I’m done. The main thing is, it’s a whole other quilt out of what I didn’t use for T4T, and that has to be good for OCA.

  3. claire93 says:

    brilliant!
    two quilts rather than one will bring in more money for OCA ^^
    And I do like the idea of the positive sign.

    • katechiconi says:

      Me too! I especially like that I don’t have to make too many more to get the blocks all done, and then I can take my time about quilting and assembling, rather than having to do it as they came in.

  4. tialys says:

    I was just looking at the Time for Teal quilt on your design wall again and thinking that, actually, regardless of size, I think I would look better (and tidier somehow with the Dresden Plate blocks around the border. So that’s good! What size will it finish at now?

    • tialys says:

      ‘I’ might look tidier with a Dresden Plate border around me but I actually meant the quilt ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • katechiconi says:

        I read the sense of it, and my brain inserted the necessary ‘t’. Of course, I don’t dispute that a dresden border would also suit you very well! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      Finished size for the quilt with just the dresden border would be 75 x 62 inches (190 x 158 cm). It’ll make a nice neat quilt, and I’ll use a darkish shade of teal to bind it to finish it off neatly.

  5. Grannymar says:

    I am so pleased that the decision has been made, One of my worries about the larger original size for the quilt was the central theme, I felt it was a little girly and perhaps it might not suit a full size bed quilt. Now we have two quilts: T4T and now Stay +. The latter is a perfect title from one of the most positive ladies I know. May the $$ roll in for OCA and the quilts provide comfort and joy to those who invest in them!

    • katechiconi says:

      Amen! I feel a sense of relief at this resolution, and the decision to make two quilts will spread the load of putting them together over a longer period, which is also a relief! It means I’ll actually be able to work on some other projects this month!

  6. Robin Murphy says:

    Great decision Kate, the T4T is great as is and takes the pressure off a bit too. This gives all those bonus blocks a chance to come together over time. I love the idea of the central positive space. Viv would be chuffed to think she had blocks in two quilts without even trying!

    • katechiconi says:

      Viv had such a poor idea of her skill latterly, so I’m delighted that she’s made major contributions to not one but two quilts. In a sense, too, she’s there in the positive space, being such a positive, strong and encouraging presence always.

  7. norma says:

    Hope they raise lots of money

  8. Thimberlina says:

    Great decision, and love the pun! And I’m not bored of it, I love your updates and seeing all the blocks ๐Ÿ˜€

    • katechiconi says:

      I truly cannot resist a punning opportunity, I’m infamous for it. I like to come up with entertaining or meaningful names for quilts, I feel it gives them personality and makes them more memorable. I’ll be stopping for a short break for other work after I finish T4T, but I’ll be starting the 5 blocks I need for S+ soon…

  9. katechiconi says:

    I’m so glad! I’m going to finish T4T and then give myself a short rest from teal before I start Stay +. I might actually finish up the blocks I need for the ScrapHappy quilt, you never know….

  10. Kathy D says:

    Always knew that you would make the right decision! What a wonderful 2nd quilt, it’s almost like 2 for the work of one. They are both beautiful!

  11. kathyreeves says:

    Kate, these are going to be two AWESOME quilts. I think you will be happy with their finish, AND with the funds raised. Let the bidding war begin!!

  12. Debbierose says:

    That’s a positive decision and excellent result. Like a 2 4 1 deal in time for teal ๐Ÿ˜

  13. How amazing that you only need another five blocks… and a pun as a bonus. Fingers crossed that they raise loads of money.

    • katechiconi says:

      Fingers crossed… Five blocks is quite doable, but once I have T4T finished, I’m going to take a short break for other things before I pick up S+. I have until January to get that one done, as the next fundraiser is February. Funny you should say Fingers Crossed… The next one after S+ is going to feature all blocks with an X in them. To be titled ‘Tealed with a Kiss’.

  14. They just roll off your fingers, one lovely quilt after another. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the stay + idea. Now that you are feeling better, it’s just one idea spark after another. Just lovely!

  15. Magpie Sue says:

    I’m almost glad I missed out on your call for a vote re: size! I was torn between the argument for a bed quilt because “who wants to make one that size?” and the two smaller quilts the could potentially be more useful and profitable. Everyone around here (in the US) seem to have giant beds, queen and king size, but the argument about getting the value of such a quilt is completely valid. And now that the decision has been made the second quilt is almost making itself. ๐Ÿ™‚ win-win-win!

    • katechiconi says:

      The quilt would have been quite generous for a queen bed, but as another commenter pointed out, the design would not have been to everyone’s taste for a bed, and might have had to be negotiated with a partner! For the charity, I’m glad to be giving them two for the price of one, and even gladder not to have to make a whole load more blocks, just the 5 more I need ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. rutigt says:

    Wow, great, beautiful!!!!! You do have some lovely ideas. This is one of them, absolutely!

  17. Yes, I am playing catch-up. I think you made the right call to split the blocks into two quilts – the spiky geometrics and the round Dresdens. Good decision.

    • katechiconi says:

      The quilt would have been vast otherwise, and I admit my heart was sinking slightly at the prospect of hauling all that bulk around under the sewing machine. This way, I got it finished in record time.

Leave a Reply

