Time for Teal 20: Border country

Onward to the border!

I have realised I cannot really afford to hang around too much with T4T’s outer border. Life has a way of presenting you with surprises, and unless I maintain momentum I may find myself nearing the end of August with Time for Teal still unfinished. Another sustained effort will help to make it happen.

So I have begun arranging the blocks I have, trying to work out a balanced effect. They seem to divide sensibly into ‘pale’ and ‘strong’ groupings, the latter being blocks with very bright or dark fabrics featuring prominently, and the former being more balanced and lighter in their contrast. So the plan is to alternate, with Viv’s wonderful wonky pineapple blocks at each corner, which definitely fall into the ‘strong’ category!

T4T collage 8I needed two more ‘pale’ blocks for the bottom row, and fortunately I got a squishy in the mail today from Viv’s cousin Robin which fit the bill exactly. I now have the rows sorted out for the top and bottom outer borders. I just need 10 more blocks, 5 on each side, and it’ll be enough. I’ve also made a couple of scrapbuster blocks using the smaller and less useful bits and pieces, and you can see all 4 blocks in the collage above.

There’s a squishy on the way from Nanette with an additional contribution, so I shall see what wonderful loot arrives before I determine how many more I need to make myself, and of what type, in order to finish the side borders.

Time for some sustained prep work. I have 14 blocks ready to go!

9 thoughts on “Time for Teal 20: Border country

  1. tialys says:

    If August whizzes by as fast as July did you really have your work cut out. Too late for me to send anything else for this one now but I’ll try to get something done for the next one.

    • katechiconi says:

      I reckon I’ll be OK. I’ll have the dresden border finished by the end of tomorrow if all goes well, and then I just have the outer border and binding to go! And it’d be lovely to have a couple of X blocks for Tealed with a Kiss for next year!

  2. tialys says:

    Oops, yes, just seen your ‘x’ before the word ‘blocks’. Crosses it is then.

  3. rutigt says:

    Great, wow, beautiful……..!!

Leave a Reply

