F²F² July round up

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmI had such fun with the colours this month!

Sandra chose a lovely colour combination of plum, light green and cream, and within that there’s been a unique range of interpretations that look fabulous together in the gallery.  I think the finished quilt is going to be very, very special, and I hope Sandra will love the process enough to want to play again!

We’re all past the post in time this month; new members mostly well ahead of time and previous participants remembering how long it actually takes to get the blocks made!

Head over to the new F²F² gallery page to see the range, it’s really impressive. Scroll all  the way to the bottom, new images are added at the end.

August is Sue’s turn, and she’s chosen Orange and Yellow on Black as her colour choices. There’s an image on the Members and their Colours page which shows her source of inspiration, and it’s lovely, so vivid and striking. I’m looking forward to working on her blocks a lot :-). There are several members’ contributions already up in the gallery, so obviously the colour scheme is inspiring us already!

Time to go and dig out all my blacks – the orange and yellow are no problem!

11 thoughts on “F²F² July round up

  1. tialys says:

    I love everything so far! It’s a shame we haven’t seen more finished quilts from the last round but I’m sure it will happen eventually.

    • katechiconi says:

      I know Esther has been working on hers in the few minutes that completely redecorating her flat allows… And Susan used hers for Quilts of Valor, so we won’t see one single quilt for her, and Annett hasn’t been well, and Emmely got married, and so on, and so on! I’ll be getting on with mine once T4T is done and I’ve finished the ScrapHappy quilt, I promise…

  2. claire93 says:

    oooh the gallery is filling up for August already! Glad I’m not the only eager one ^^

    • katechiconi says:

      No indeed, I have to tell you that Sandra is pulling away from the rest of us in a big way, and is stockpiling blocks in advance. She’s gone from a reluctant participant, worried about whether she’d get it done, to being totally addicted!

  3. Grannymar says:

    Great inspiration with colour, many of them I might never have thought of putting together, yet seeing the galleries has certainly changed my mind.

  4. You and so many other inspired sewers, across the wide web, have turned sewing back into a communal activity. Read this today and thought of you.

    INSTRUCTION

    My hands that guide a needle
    In their turn are led
    Relentlessly and deftly
    As a needle leads a thread.

    Other hands are teaching
    My needle: when I sew
    I feel the cool, thin fingers
    Of hands I do not know.

    They urge my needle onward.
    They smooth my seams. until
    The worry of my stitches
    Smothers in their skill.

    All the tired women.
    Who sewed their lives away.
    Speak in my deft fingers
    as I sew to-day.

    Hazel Hall
    .

  5. rutigt says:

    So many great blocks for Sandra! Now it´s gonna be so fun to play with black and orange and yellow 🙂

Leave a Reply

