Bee, Myself and I #4

I have had a busy couple of months as you may have grasped, but am determined to get the Hatbox Quilt done… eventually.

Hatbox 6So, here’s the sixth and latest block. This fabric was a surprising purchase for me, as I’m absolutely not a yellow fan and don’t usually go for reproduction style fabrics, but it just seemed right for the concept and brings some balance to all the other colours I’ll be using, which seem to be heavy on the red/blue/green parts of the colour wheel. Funny, that, so unlike me…

Turning out these blocks is getting faster. The process is still a bit fiddly, what with two thread colours, hand basting, trimming out at the back, etc, but I’ve made a few now, and don’t have to stop and check and think so often. And I’m not frightened of the Y seam any more. It’s turning out with perfect corners, even if that’s completely pointless, as the corner is cut away at the back!

The others in the Bee may or may not be posting. It’s a no-obligation Bee, so it depends on whether we have time or not. This month, I managed to get one done. Hop over to Carla’s blog to see what it’s all about, or you can click on the Bee, Myself and I button in the left hand column to go straight to the Bee page, where there’s a list of all the other participants.

29 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #4

  1. haha, I wondered if a Y seam was necessary! Apparently not but now you have it DOWN!! 🙂 I like this block. I do like a lot of repros. This one would be a little fussy for me for some things, but it does work just perfectly here. (And yes, you know sometimes I love fussy!)

  2. Debbierose says:

    Well done, fitting this cute hat box in with all your other tasks. I like how its progressing

  3. M. L. Kappa says:

    Looove the yellow hatbox, Kate!

  4. tialys says:

    Aha! I’d almost forgotten about the Hatbox Quilt, what with all the other things you’re doing. Glad to see it’s chugging along there in the background.

    • katechiconi says:

      It nags me every time I take a photo; all the bits and pieces are on a tray under my cutting table, which is where I keep the board I take the photos on. I’ve finished all the top row of Dresdens for T4T, and thought it was time for a quick break for something else 🙂

  5. this is the 1st time I hear about it, looks good to me !

  6. kathyreeves says:

    The prints you used look very like the hatboxes I remember going through at my last childhood home. (Rooms not cleared since the 40’s) Brings back memories of exploring old storage rooms and vintage dresses. 🙂

  7. claire93 says:

    36 hat boxes??? are you mad as a hatter?

    • katechiconi says:

      Apparently so! Because I have at least that many fabrics saved up to make the blocks, and have had for a good 5 years 🙂
      It’s going to make a beeeyutiful quilt.

  8. Murphy’s law must surely state something about perfect Y-seams when they get covered up and cut away.

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    I’m glad you were able to get a hat box made what with everything else you’ve had going on. I completely missed out this time around. Hopefully I’ll be back on track by next month. This is a lovely box by the way. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t feel too much pressure with these blocks. The quilt isn’t promised anywhere (yet!) and I can enjoy the process in a much more meditative way than is usual for me!

  10. rutigt says:

    I love that yellow fabric. It´s so suitable for a hat box, I think. I´m not a fan of yellow either, but sometimes the color is perfect in your projects!

  11. I’ve been poking around your blog this evening as I’m finally feeling a bit more caught up. I love this hatbox quilt. I don’t think I’ve seen this one before.

    When I was in high school, I went to my first county fair and fell in love with all the gorgeous quilts on display. I fell in love then and there.

Leave a Reply

