Time for Teal 19: I am a machine!

Seriously making up for lost time here…

right dresden borderI’ve finished the right hand Dresden Plate border, and both left and right borders are now attached to the central ‘tea table’ panel, using the pale teal with cream spot I mentioned in an earlier post.

The top and bottom edges of the tea table panel will also be bordered like this, when I get there.

Also completed, but not shown yet, are two of the Dresden Plate blocks for the top row. The other three are batched up and sandwiched with batting and backing, ready for me to start quilting them. It’s so, so much easier doing it this way. I can cut a bunch of back panels, a load of batting squares, press the fronts and sandwich them together in about the time it takes to fully quilt one block.

I haven’t yet run out of different ways to quilt each individual block. There’s only one repeat at present: the two large coffee pots have the same wavy line quilting because I feel it suits the blocks best. Everything else is different.

I quilted the second of Viv’s two dresden plate blocks yesterday, and stopped to think about her as I did so. I think they may perhaps have been the last pieces of patchwork she ever made… Unfailingly kind to the end, Viv. Good thoughts, good words, good deeds.

tea table and dresden sidesO.C.A would dearly like to have the quilt by the end of August for their September fundraiser, and I think we’re going to make it :-).

Tomorrow, I’ll finish the top Dresden Plate border.

41 thoughts on “Time for Teal 19: I am a machine!

  1. wow wow wow. It’s like the old you, but better 🙂 x

  2. this is a sight for sore eyes !! makes me happy just to look at it !

  3. Jill says:

    Beautiful work

  4. How lovely to be working with some of Viv’s blocks. I was so shocked at her sudden passing.

    • katechiconi says:

      So was I, even though I knew her heart was weak. It was lovely to hold something that had passed through her hands, and tuck it away into something that is going to become a permanent memorial to her.

  5. lucyannluna says:

    That will look amazing when it’s finished

    • katechiconi says:

      I think so too. There’s still another border to go round the outside after the dresden plate border is finished, but I can’t show it yet, as I don’t have all the blocks so I can’t work out how to arrange them.

  6. tialys says:

    I remember Viv having a struggle with the Dresden plates but persevering with them so she’d have something to send you. She’d be chuffed to bits to see them incorporated into the quilt.

  7. Robin Murphy says:

    Kate it is wonderful, I love that my block is beside Viv’s, I posted the two blocks this morning for the other border, hope they get to you quickly.

    • katechiconi says:

      That is no accident…. Thank you so much for the additional blocks on the way, it’ll help to get the whole thing done in time after my unexpected ‘holiday’ for the back surgery 🙂

  8. Grannymar says:

    Kate, I am playing catch-up. I feel like I have missed most of July with Family gatherings. The visitors have now left our shores and I am home with an upper respiratory infection and food poisoning! Give we a week and I should be on the mend. The quilt is fantastic, and as I was reading about Viv’s Dresden blocks, she was smiling at me from the side bar.

    Glad you are back to full throttle once more, enjoy being pain free.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh my word, you sound as if you could do with a large holiday. I hope you’ll soon be feeling much better yourself. Yes, I love the way that Viv’s face appears with her block, I couldn’t have arranged it better if I’d tried…

  9. That is going to be one cherished quilt. There is so much love in it. It’s absolutely beautiful. It’s just not the same without Viv. I do miss her too.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s why I keep her up in my side bar, why she’s still in my address book and why I haven’t deleted her from my Skype contacts. I’ll have to do it some time, but not yet, not yet…

  10. Thimberlina says:

    Congratulation on everything so far, and amazing after the tough time you’ve had that you’re on schedule too 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 I’m wondering next time, would it help if we quilted our blocks before we posted them off the you, but then the back wouldn’t match?? Just a thought to ease your work load.

    • katechiconi says:

      I considered that, but I really love how the back looks with all the same fabric, and actually, I’m loving the quilting side of it now that I can do each one individually. Who knows, next time I might actually venture into FMQ… But thank you for the thought 🙂

  11. kathyreeves says:

    Kate,
    I’m just learning about this wonderful project, but I am too late to join this effort. Will you do another teal project for OCA in the future? I would very much like for some of my teal scraps to help in a future endeavor.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I’ve promised OCA a quilt a year until I’m no longer able to do it. You’d be very welcome to join us next year; I’ll be posting an announcement on the blog about when the next one will begin, but I already have the theme sorted out. It’s going to be called ‘Tealed with a Kiss’ and the blocks will all be variants on an X, in the same colourway as you see on this quilt. If you want to take a look at some inspiration I’ve already marked, click over onto my OCA Pinterest board, here:

      Once again, the blocks will be 12.5 inch squares (unfinished, but please leave plenty of excess around the outside), and I’ll be assembling them with QAYG.

  12. craftycreeky says:

    Looks wonderful, well done, can’t wait to see it finished 🙂

  13. Who knew there were so many different ways to quilt a Dresden plate block??

  14. rutigt says:

    I´m back and I see you have done a lot. I´ll start here and read all your posts and say wow and great and beautiful before I´ve even read them 🙂

Leave a Reply

