Time for Teal 18: playing catch-up

Now that my mojo is back, I’m going for it!

Left dresden borderAlso now finished are the four Dresden Plate border blocks on the left of the centre panel, which are joined to each other but not yet to the centre panel.

Remember I said I wanted a narrow coloured border around the table top?  I’ve chosen the pale teal with cream spot I’ve used in a few blocks, as it’s relatively ‘quiet’, and because I already have enough of it. Next time I post you’ll be able to see how that looks. Meanwhile I have to go back and get a few more metres of the pale beige small print I’ve been using for the back and the narrow sashing. There was enough to do only what you see, and as it is, I had to piece the backing for one of the blocks.

Spray basting these blocks before quilting has been a bit of a life saver. All I can say is, they’ve improved the product since the last time I tried it, and I’m also using very, very little. But it does take far less time than pin or thread basting, and means I can make rapid progress.

I also wanted to show you what the quilting looks like. For the most part it’s fairly invisible on the front, and that’s how I wanted it. The design of the blocks is too pretty to be upstaged by the quilting, even supposing I was capable of quilting that would do that! But on the plain back, you can see what’s going on. It’s like a low relief of the images on the front, and I’m loving it! Sort of a wholecloth quilt effect. I’ve boosted the shadows in the image so you can see it more clearly; the actual back is more creamy-beige than grey!

Quilting, centre and left dresden borderFor anyone who has offered to make a random teal block or two for the outermost border, I’ll be ready to start that in about a week to 10 days. I have about half the quantity I need already. If everyone is busy, though, I’ll still have time to piece the remainder myself and get them integrated into the quilt, so it’s all good.

If you do want to go for it, though, it’s a teal and cream or light beige colour-way on a 12½ inch trimmed out block, but I’d ask you please to allow extra all round to allow for the quilting ‘shrinking’ the block slightly by anything up to a quarter inch. Any design is fine except for more dresdens or tea-related blocks; the border needs to be fairly neutral to let the central part tell the story.

I’m waiting for a firm deadline for the quilt from Ovarian Cancer Australia. Once I have that, it’ll be all systems go!

30 thoughts on “Time for Teal 18: playing catch-up

  1. manicmumdays says:

    I love the idea of QAYG but am terrified of putting them together in a neat manner … How are you going to do that Kate? 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      So far, so good. I find the key is having the quilted blocks trimmed to exactly the right size, paying close attention to cutting your strips the right size, and using accurate and consistent seam allowances. That said, a spot of fudging is easy enough, although I haven’t had to do any yet :-). Would it help if I did a quick tute? There are loads out there already, but as a newbie to the process myself, I do perhaps have an insight about what people need to know…

  2. claire93 says:

    looking as lovely on the back as it is on the front ^^

  3. Robin Murphy says:

    Love the quilting Kate, Dresdens look beautiful. It is all coming together so well. Will get blocks done and in the mail by friday.

  4. norma says:

    Lovely blocks! Teal is one of my favourite colours.

  5. You’ve definitely done the right thing letting the blocks do the talking. There’s some beautiful fabrics in this quilt and the patterns can shout for themselves. You are doing a fab job!

  6. Kathy D says:

    Yes to the tut, please! The back is gorgeous! I will have to keep that in mind when planning out the next one. Your work is so meticulous and neat.

  7. Lovely to see the back… call me perverse, but it somehow really appeals to me!

  8. knitnkwilt says:

    The quilt is looking quite good; the quilting decision’s perfect for it!

  9. kathyreeves says:

    Love the teal, it’s so fresh!

  10. tialys says:

    The quilting looks great. I’ve not managed another Dresden plate successfully since that one but, now I’ve remembered I CAN do them, I’ll give it another try. If I manage to get another teal block done in the next day or two I will.

  11. I am glad I added a buffer around my block to allow for shrinkage. OK, I hadn’t thought of shrinkage and was just trying to make sure you didn’t have any undersized blocks, as so often happens when many hands are involved, but it worked out well. Hurrah!

    • katechiconi says:

      If any blocks come in with no spare at all, I make a point of quilting them very lightly to minimise the shrinkage. Yours is just fine, so thank you for the forethought.

  12. rutigt says:

    Your quilting is great! I also like that the Dresden Plate blocks are all so different!

  13. nettyg says:

    This is all looking so good, lovely job! The weather has been so wonderfully un-wintery here I’ve been spending every moment either in the garden or painting….much too nice to be indoors. But I’m making sure I sew a bit every day, so there are more teal blocks underway, and it’s good to have a deadline, they’ll be there in time. I hope there’s enough ‘clearance’on my blocks to allow for quilting, hadn’t thought of that!

    • katechiconi says:

      Sounds like your weather’s much the same as ours 🙂
      I’ve been asked to get the quilt to OCA by the end of August, and so long as I have any blocks by mid August all should be well, even with the time I need to courier the quilt down. Thank you so much for the work you’re doing for this quilt, it will be so helpful. And don’t worry about the clearance; if I’m in any doubt about any blocks, I can usually manage to add a border or add a tiny bit around the outside just to give me that extra I need before I start quilting.

  14. nettyg says:

    Yes, I was thinking that about adding a border, you’re a clever bunny, you’ll find a way 🙂 I’ve given myself Monday as my deadline to post them, so a weekend push then you’ll have them mid-week….at least not far to go. Don’t over-do yourself 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      If you send them on Monday they’ll be here in heaps of time. I’ve got the left hand dresden border attached, I’ll do the right hand one tomorrow. Then I need to quilt all the top and bottom border blocks and attach those, and then finally it’ll be time for the outer border. But guess what! I don’t then need to sandwich and quilt the thing! Hurray for QAYG. Just the binding, and I love doing binding.

Leave a Reply

