Time for Teal 17: the last row, and the tea table

It’s taken me all too long to get to this point.

Row 3, T4T It has been a week for multiple tedious medical experiences, including a flight back down to Brisbane for a follow up visit to the spinal surgeon. Thankfully it’s mostly over now, but I will have to scramble a bit to catch up with all the lost time. I’m feeling heaps better than this time a week ago, so I’m hopeful.

I got the last row quilted and joined, and once I’ve joined the three rows together lengthways, the tea table centre will be finished. Next will be the Dresden Plate Border, and then when that’s done, I’ll be able to assess whether I have time to complete the final outer border before the September deadline, or whether I have to finish the quilt there.

Right, back to the sewing machine! 

Tea table, all three rows

 

 

33 thoughts on “Time for Teal 17: the last row, and the tea table

  1. Nice to see you again and to hear you are feeling better. I pray that this Wii continue.
    Your handy work looks incredible, I wish I could see it. Hopefully you will take some colour photographs when it is completed?? 😉 Have a good weekend, Carina

  2. tialys says:

    It’s looking amazing and you are amazing for getting this far considering all the impediments that have been thrown in your way! Try not to stress too much if you aren’t going to meet the deadline – it won’t be the end of the world and the quilt won’t go ‘off’.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think after Wednesday I’ll be able to be more focused instead of my head being all over the place! I’m getting faster at not only the joining technique, but also the quilting. And spray baste speeds things up even more!

  3. EllaDee says:

    I’m happy to hear you are on the mend… you must have been very patient and good for it to be so 😊

    • katechiconi says:

      I tried to be, against all my instincts! I can touch my toes again, and only too much bending and walking too long still cause pain. Sitting at the sewing machine’s a piece of cake!

  4. Why, that is a splendid quilt- your work is wonderful. c

    • katechiconi says:

      This is only a small part of it, and it’s a communal effort; many of the squares you see have been contributed by others to the concept I came up with for the Ovarian Cancer charity auction quilt. It will be a wonderful piece of work when it’s done thanks to everyone’s creative contribution, but there’s a way to go still…

  5. claire93 says:

    it’s looking brilliant so far ^^

  6. Debbierose says:

    Delectable, fabulous, amazing

    • katechiconi says:

      Gosh, thanks! I’m really happy with how it’s coming together – being meticulous with seam allowances really does make all the difference with this process.

  7. The quilting makes them really glorious. Congrats on what you and all have done so far. This is spectacular.

    • katechiconi says:

      I wasn’t about to take risks with other people’s work, so all the quilting is what I know best: walking foot work in straight lines or gentle curves. I also wanted the designs to speak more loudly, so the quilting is quite recessive to enable that.

  8. Dancing a merry jig to hear you’re feeling heaps better!

  9. Kathy D says:

    How wonderful – you can touch your toes!!! Your recovery and improvement have been nothing short of miraculous! Good job, oh and the quilt is beautiful. So happy for you!

    • katechiconi says:

      In my impatience, I hadn’t realised what good progress I’d made until the surgeon pointed out that most people couldn’t bend so well at my stage of healing. The quilt is finally reaping the benefit of my mended back 🙂

  10. dayphoto says:

    I wondered where you were! I’m glad you are ever so much better. I read through your comments and WOW! I’m glad you are doing way better than most people with back surgery!

    Linda

    • katechiconi says:

      It was not a good week last week, very tiring and consumed all my energy. It was a boost to find out I was doing better than expected, though. And suddenly my sewing mojo is back and I’m roaring through the work 🙂

      • dayphoto says:

        Oh excellent! I’m glad you are able to roar through your work. Having off weeks are going to happen I suppose, but getting good news in the off week WONDERFUL!

  11. Thimberlina says:

    You’re amazing and an inspiration. Glad to hear things are looking up with your health, good luck with finish, but like Lynn said, it won’t go off, and will definitely be worth waiting for 😀

    • katechiconi says:

      In another hour’s time, I’ll have the three rows for the centre joined. I’m going to use a different fabric for a border around it, but the dresdens will also be joined with the cream. Lots to do, lots to think about, I’m just so glad I’ve got my energy for sewing back 🙂

  12. It looks great! I’m so pleased to hear you are on the up 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Definitely on the mend, to the extent that I now have a large physio program to do, not so much fun… They took me through it while I was with the surgeon, and I was soooo sore the next day. I must be very, very out of shape 😦

  13. Glad to hear that you are feeling better!

    • katechiconi says:

      Last week was pretty yucky, but I seem to have turned a corner somewhere. Since I wrote the post, I’ve joined up the whole centre panel and have quilted the first of the Dresden blocks!

  14. rutigt says:

    This is looking so great!!!

Leave a Reply

