ScrapHappy July

More scrappy loveliness this month.

Once again, it’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Sunnies case detail

Scrappy Sunnies caseJust for a change, I haven’t made a postage stamp block!  I’ve made a case for my sun-glasses. This came about because I got fed up with losing my existing black vinyl case in the black depths of my black handbag, next to my black wallet. So I’ve gone for something totally different. Not much chance of losing this, eh? It uses some of my favourite pink scraps, including that pink paisley teeny weeny binding. I had a scrap strip 1½ inches wide, but I really wanted to use it, so I made it work! I did a bit of freehand wiggly walking-foot quilting to hold everything together. The lining is a scrap of Michael Miller Tiny Guitar Picks in navy and white, from which I’m making myself a summer top, and the batting between the two layers is also pieced scrap, from my big plastic box of batting scraps. I put two strips together and joined them with batting joining tape, which works a treat and saves sewing the pieces together.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps – no new fabrics. It can be a random or formal quilt block, a pillow or pincushion, a bag or hat, a collage or rag rug. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address shown on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. You don’t have to worry about a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at):

Usually has a scrappy post:

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in Swedish and English)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Heléne at http://quiltochsom.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Sometimes has a scrappy post:

Eva at bambisyr-evaj.blogspot.com (in Swedish only)

Sue at sewingmagpie.blogspot.com (in English only)

Nanette at http://stitchandsow-homeandgarden.blogspot.com.au (in English only)

Lynn at https://thetialys.wordpress.com (in English only)

Norma at https://shesewsyouknow.wordpress.com (in English only)

Lynda at: https://pixilatedtoo.wordpress.com (in English only)

Birthe: http://birthesrom.blogspot.no (in Norwegian only)

Turid: http://densyendehimmel.blogspot.se (in English and Norwegian)

Cathy: http://nanacathydotcom.wordpress.com (in English only)

Jodie Zollinger: https://homesweetdreaming.com/ (in English only)

Debbierose: https://sewrosey.wordpress.com (in English only)

Claire: https://knitnkwilt.wordpress.com (in English only)

See you again, same time next month!

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “ScrapHappy July

  1. I love adding scraps to quilts for the richness and interest they provide. They are more fun to look at and more fun to make. So even though many of my medallions use (not sure how to phrase this) primary fabrics, that might be from larger pieces, I almost always use a lot of secondary fabrics that I’d consider scraps, too. For my big Moonlight Waltz medallion, one of the borders uses 4″ square-in-a-square blocks centered by dark reds. In my scrap drawer I had a lot of red pieces that weren’t quite big enough to make those blocks, so I pieced matching reds together to get what I needed. It was fun and I know every time I look at them, I’ll enjoy them again.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think the enjoyment of the fabrics is the key to what makes scrappy projects fun. Every time I use a scrap I remember the original project, how much fun I had making it, who it was for… I’m always a little sad when the very last tiny smidgeon of an old favourite is gone…

  2. Debbierose says:

    Nice & bright, love it & thanks for welcome to scrap happy

  3. tialys says:

    I need one of those!!

    • katechiconi says:

      It took me exactly an hour to make. You need three squares of fabric 8″ x 8″(outer, backing and lining), the same of batting, and about 20″ binding strip. Layer outside, batting and backing, quilt. Place lining fabric on top of quilted backing, stitch on top edge binding. Fold the whole quilted sandwich and lining in half, stitch on the rest of the binding, turn and mitre the corner, and finish by hand. Done. You can also add a loop of elastic and a button if you think your sunnies might fall out, but mine are a snug fit.

  4. claire93 says:

    you’d have to be blind not to find your sunglasses now ^^

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    Lovely case for your sun glasses. I agree with your comment that when you use the scraps you are reminded of the projects you have used the fabric for.

  6. norma says:

    Great use of scraps.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was the last of one my favourite bits of Kaffe Fassett fabric that isn’t made any more, so it’s lovely to have it to hand so I can look at it every day!

  7. Lovely colours!
    I find everything in the darkest depths of my handbag by feel. A minky or velvet case would work well for me. I used to have a toy donkey on my keys just to help me find them – something soft to grab.

  8. rutigt says:

    After having some problem with my internet connection I can finally leave a comment 🙂 Just to say lovely!!!! The colors are great!

  9. Kate, I smiled reading this. I’ve sworn off of black linings. Sure, they may not show the dirt but they don’t show anything else either in those shadowy depths. Your quilting is magnificent. I visited a quilt shop today for a simple purchase of machine needles and enjoyed all the quilts on the wall. Since I already sew, I’m thinking seriously about learning to quilt, though probably not till my second son leaves for college (two years from now). I’ll need a big project.

    I love your new glass case.

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope you do take up quilting, it’s very satisfying and enjoyable, as well as giving a creative outlet. If you can sew an accurate seam and are already familiar with your sewing machine, you’re halfway there. Plus of course, you will have a wonderful excuse to spend lots more time in your LQS! I look forward to seeing what you decide to start with in a couple of years 🙂

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    My sister has requested a case for her sunglasses from me so this is a very timely project post! She knows not to hold her breath or expect the new case this summer though. ;- )

Leave a Reply

