F²F² July progress report

Good progress again this month.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmOnly halfway through July and we are only missing three sets of blocks to complete the month! Once again, I’m lagging behind, although I should be ready to send off my completed blocks later today. Sewing is getting easier; I can sit at the sewing machine for longer periods and stand for a longer time at the cutting table or ironing board. The new size of the F²F² group is easier to manage too; staying on top of who has sent what, when and to whom is much easier with only 9 participants.

I’m loving this month’s colour scheme, and there are some beautiful blocks happening over in the F²F² gallery, if you want to jump over there and take a look. A couple of people have mentioned that their cameras did not do justice to the colours this month, and I’m thinking that we will get a much better idea of how things really look once the quilts are finished… so, quite  a long way down the track, then!

From the last session, only three quilts have been completed, and very gorgeous they are too, but I know that Esther has also started hers. Go here and here to read about it and see the layout she’s working on. It’s beautiful, and the quilting is just amazing!

15 thoughts on “F²F² July progress report

  1. anne54 says:

    Kate, it has been such a time since I have checked into WordPress World, and it is lovely to see all the work you have achieved. The silver lining in your enforced immobilisation!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s only recently that I’ve been able to start sewing again, and I hadn’t realised how miserable I’d become without it! The workflow is still only a trickle, but getting stronger each day.

      • anne54 says:

        Creativity, in all its forms, is such a necessity. It often takes a back seat to everything else, but we miss it. I find I get very unsettled and rather cranky. i am glad that you are able to get back into the creative groove. Are you still in pain?

      • katechiconi says:

        Most of the time, I’m pain free, but if I have to stand or walk too far, my back aches sharply. That said, I’ve regained 90% of my original flexibility, and no longer have any pain at all in my legs. I see the surgeon on Tuesday. I think physio will be on the menu…

      • anne54 says:

        Yay! Sounds like you are making good progress and physio will help out too.

  2. tialys says:

    Now that I’ve received your blocks I’ve been able to go to the Gallery for the first time! Don’t my navy and mustard blocks look gorgeous? I’m going to make another three myself to make it up to 30 and then start the QAYG process which worked so well for my last one. I’ve only just realised that Sue’s churn dash block has arrows on it – it must be more evident in the photograph than in real life – I’m going to have another look at my ‘hard copy’ now. Thanks to everybody for your sterling efforts – I know my husband is going to end up with a fantastic quilt to use when he’s not home. xx

  3. I’m glad to find news of your body’s progress in the comments. So glad you’re progressing and hope you progress all the way to pain-free!

    • katechiconi says:

      Not all the way there yet, I still get quite sharp backaches, but I seem to have recovered almost full flexibility and can touch my toes again. The key is *listening* to the body and not pushing past the point of pain.

  4. Debbierose says:

    It’s not perishable, relax it will be finished when it’s done ☺

  5. dayphoto says:

    I’m so glad you are able to do more and more of what you love, without as much pain! YAY for healing!

    Linda

  6. rutigt says:

    So nice to see all the blocks! Now I´m just waiting for December 🙂

Leave a Reply

