Time for Teal 16: another row

It’s getting easier.

first and second rowNow that I’ve quilted and joined two sets of 4 blocks together, and have discovered the joys of preparation and setting up a little production line for the joining bit, I’m making progress.

There’s another row of 4 blocks to quilt and join, and then I’ve got the excitement of joining the three rows together.

Getting everything to line up is going to be the fun part. I’ve done my best to ensure I stuck to a ¼ inch seam allowance and that the blocks are trimmed as close to 12½ inches as I can make them (after quilting has drawn some of them up a bit too much). I think it’ll be OK, and am hoping the quilt police are on annual leave just now…

It’s been fun thinking up simple but appropriate quilting patterns for each block which can be achieved with a walking foot, a ruler and a pencil.  There will be repeats, of course, but not so far.

I’m taking a day off this tomorrow to start doing something on the 3 July F²F² blocks I have to get ready for the end of the month.

31 thoughts on “Time for Teal 16: another row

  1. tialys says:

    I must admit that I found the joining a little challenging from time to time when I put my F2F quilt together but it was a joy to be able to quilt each block separately. Using a quilting design that suits each block individually and putting a tidy square through the machine instead of a bloomin’ big quilt more than compensates for the odd wobbly sashing line here and there in my opinion.
    It’s looking good.

    • katechiconi says:

      I totally agree! It’s liberating to have a small piece to quilt, because you can do stuff like change direction 65 times if necessary without having to wrangle a huge monster through a small machine throat. I’ve made a point of squaring up almost obsessively so that I don’t end up with ‘steps’ in the layout. Seems to work so far, at any rate.

  2. claire93 says:

    since you appear to be making the central panel first, and then adding bands for the other designs I don’t think any slight “off-nish” with sashing is going to notice much.

  3. Debbierose says:

    Well done, it will be afternoon tea time sooner than you think. Then you can relax with a nice cuppa

  4. rutigt says:

    I always find it hard to come up with different quilt patterns. I think and think and look at the block. Sometimes the block “talks” to me and sometimes not. Sometimes I have to look up some old quilting magazines for ideas.
    So far your quilting is great!!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve been doing the same. The big coffee pot with the wavy ‘steam’ lines was fun. I just have to make sure there’s just enough quilting to make the texture consistent.

  5. Lynda says:

    This is so exciting to see you nearing the finish, Kate! Beautiful work!

  6. Magpie Sue says:

    It’s looking great so far. I’m glad you’ve noticed improvement in your back and that you’re able to do more at one time than previously. Now if only I could muster up some energy for my projects…

    • katechiconi says:

      I must admit, getting traction to get started was key. I was afraid of pain and dragged my feet. Once I was going, though, I found getting engaged with the work was enough to keep me going. I’m seeing the back surgeon next week for my 6 week checkup; I think he’ll be pleased.

  7. knitnkwilt says:

    Looking good so far! I always end up stuck after a couple different designs–next ones get too busy to coordinate.

    • katechiconi says:

      Most of these blocks are different enough from each other and interesting enough in their own right to demand something both simple and different from their neighbours. Plus I don’t want densely quilted and I’m not up to the kind of concentrated work FMQ would require…

  8. nettyg says:

    Lots off good stuff happening- blocks, back and brilliance! After an enforced rest for a bout of gastro I’ve made a start on your next outer blocks. They won’t be in the mail this week, but as soon as I can.

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope you are feeling lots better, gastro is no fun. I need to get some F2F2 blocks done, and then I’ll be back, to finish the central panel. Look forward to seeing what you come up with for the outer border; no rush at all.

  9. The abilty to quilt each block separately seems like such an advantage to quilt-as-you-go methods. I must do it one day.
    Thanks for the shrinkage tip. I must keep that in mind!

    • katechiconi says:

      If you’re planning denser quilting, it’s not a problem if you make your blocks on the large side. You also need to be aware that if your quilting is all up and down in one direction, your block will end up taller than it is wide… QAYG really is the way to go if you have a sampler quilt, though, because it breaks the whole thing down into manageable chunks. You could even do it with hand quilting if you had the time.

  10. Wow, this is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what the finished quilt will look like !
    Hugs
    Esther

  11. Emma says:

    Those look so amazing! I love all the different squares they are all so beautiful 😊

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve been so delighted and humbled by how beautiful everyone’s contribution has been. They’ve come from all over the world. I’m just starting the process of assembling, and the finished quilt will be amazing. Hopefully it will raise loads of money for Ovarian Cancer Australia!

      • Emma says:

        Such a great cause too! Are you selling the quilt at a local show? I’d love to come if it’s not too far from Brisbane 🙂

      • katechiconi says:

        The quilt’s going to be going down to Melbourne to the Ovarian Cancer Australia office there. They’re having a fundraising event in September, and the quilt will be auctioned then. I’ll be posting about it nearer the time. And I’ve committed to making a quilt for OCA every year, so if you’d like to participate another time, you’d be most welcome. It’ll be a different theme each time. Next year’s will be called ‘Tealed with a Kiss’, and all the blocks will be Xs of different designs. Not as complicated as this one, that’s for sure!

      • Emma says:

        That’s so neat! I’d love to participate but I’m ultra beginner in quilting, hopefully I’m good enough by the time you do it next year 🙂

      • katechiconi says:

        Next year’s blocks will be very simple, so any skill level can join in. You’ll be welcome. Only piecing is required; I do the assembly and quilting and binding.

      • Emma says:

        Sounds like a lot of fun! I’ll keep my eyes peeled for the details then 🙂

  12. it’s absolutely gorgious !!!

Leave a Reply

