Time for Teal 15: Let the quilting begin!

And it has. Begun, that is.

Centre and dresden borderHere’s the entire collection of blocks for the main body of the quilt. All that’s missing is the outer border of random blocks. Somewhere in the last 3 days, the healing of my back has turned a corner and I can now sit at the machine, stand to trim or cut, and bend over very moderately to pin or adjust things. It’s been a bit of a revelation; who knew that making quilts was actually quite demanding?

central row completeThis central row is done; quilted and joined. I’m not hand stitching the folds down on the back; I don’t know how gently the quilt will be treated in its future life, and I don’t want hand stitching coming apart, so it’s getting stitched in the ditch on the front of the quilt, which captures the fold tidily on the back. The speed of quilting and assembly is one of the fun parts of QAYG (Quilt As You Go). No matter where you stop, you end up with a mini-quilt of some description.

I started off by quilting more densely than I normally do, mainly because I could; the blocks are only a foot square and easy to manipulate. But I soon realised this might cause problems on the squares where the measurement was exact or perhaps even a bit scant. Quilting draws up the fabric, and too much of it will make the block a little too small. That’s a problem with QAYG, which relies on accurate blocks, sashing and seam allowances. Moving forward, I’m letting the block designs sing more loudly than the quilting, which will be minimal.

Tomorrow, I’ll start on Row 2, and then comes the fun of joining two rows!

38 thoughts on “Time for Teal 15: Let the quilting begin!

  1. Debbierose says:

    Wonderful job Kate

  2. tialys says:

    Look at all those lovely blocks!
    Quilting – and patchwork generally – is quite physically demanding. I suppose that’s why they make ‘ergonimic’ rotary cutters. I’ve definitely developed ‘tennis elbow’ over the last few months and I think it could be because of patchwork/quilting – or it could be typing……or launching tennis balls for the dogs.. whatever!
    Anyway, good luck with the joining. I’m afraid I had to resort to hand stitching mine down because the way my folds were captured at the back by my stitching in the ditch at the front could not be described as ‘tidy’. Or at least I wasn’t happy with being able to see the stitches as much as I could do. I think you’re right about quilting lightly too – there is a lot going on in this quilt already and, hey, if it works with less work for you then go with it!
    Well done on turning that corner 🙂

  3. claire93 says:

    this is going to look fabulous

  4. norma says:

    It’s lovely! Looking forward to seeing it quilted.

  5. Grannymar says:

    I am so pleased that you have rounded the corner to more activity. The first row looks really well and the background quilting somehow enhances the the theme of each block.

  6. NikkiM says:

    Hi Kate How are you? You up late. Love Nikki

  7. knitnkwilt says:

    I’ve enjoyed seeing plans, and now it is great to see the top. Glad to hear it is becoming more comfortable to sew! I too can get up much earlier when it is light. Oregon in the winter gets dark around 4:30 at night–have to pay for the light till 9:30 in summer.

    • katechiconi says:

      Here in the southern tropics it gets light at about 6am in winter (now) and 4.30am in summer, and at night it gets dark around 5.30pm in winter and 7pm in summer. Our twilight lasts about 5 minutes! Further north, there’s even less seasonal variance. And now it’s almost full daylight, so it’s time to get up and sew!

  8. Carole says:

    Wow! That is looking stunning already. And I’m glad you’re finding it easier to sew now. It must have been frustrating knowing that the quilt was waiting for you 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It was frustrating, and also a bit depressing, as I really wanted to sew and couldn’t. This stage of the quilt is enjoyable, because it’s broken down into small manageable pieces which fit together easily when they’re quilted.

  9. lucyannluna says:

    Sure it will look beautiful

  10. Robin Murphy says:

    It is looking amazing Kate, the quilting looks great. The way you have set it out is lovely.Thankyou for all your hard work.

  11. Looking fabulous already 🙂 I’m so pleased to hear you are getting more mobile already.

  12. rutigt says:

    I´m glad to hear your back is better!!! And the quilt……..and your quilting…….great!!!!!!!

  13. It’s a stunning quilt already!! I’m so glad you are feeling better and can do a bit more sewing. Your quilting is the perfect amount.

  14. katie z. says:

    I discovered the demands of quilting on my back after being injured in a car wreck. I machine quilted a Tshirt quilt, and by the next day thought I was going to die. I couldn’t even walk straight as the pain threw out one hip! I’m glad it’s getting easier for you.

    • katechiconi says:

      Initially, I was frustrated: I thought back surgery should sort everything out immediately and the pain should go away. Now, I realise I have to allow myself time to heal, and I’ve learned to break all my jobs down into smaller, manageable chunks, whether it’s housework or quilting. I hope your back settled enough to allow you to quilt again – but gently!

  15. Breezy says:

    Wow, these are amazing! I love the colors. xx

Leave a Reply

