Time for Teal 14: finally, the ribbon

I’m feeling a bit sheepish at how long this block has taken.

Teal ribbonHaving got my F²F² contribution for June squared away, it was time to turn my attention to other things. Despite the siren call of the next Hatbox block, or July’s F²F² blocks, I was firm with myself. The ribbon had to be done. That said, I’ve been a bit easier on myself than before. My previous ribbon block was paper pieced. This time I’ve gone the appliqué route, which meant I was able to give it some nice rounded curves and there are no distracting seams. I’m pleased with it.

Best of all, though, it means that all but the outermost border blocks are now done (and I already have a fair number of those). Rather than dive into the outer blocks, I’m going to stop block construction, and start sandwiching and quilting the ‘tea table’ central blocks and dresden border, and then joining them together. If for some unforeseen reason I run out of time, it means I will have a smaller but complete quilt, and a bunch of lovely blocks to put towards the next quilt. I simply cannot miss the September deadline.

I must find my quilt marking pen. It seems to have gone walkies!

36 thoughts on “Time for Teal 14: finally, the ribbon

  1. Beautiful appliqué. I’m very much looking forward to seeing this finished.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve finally learned the trick of successful appliqué. Use a tiny bit of stick adhesive (UHU or Pritt, something like that) on the back edges of the pieces to hold them in place temporarily. It washes out. And use a sheet of tear-away stabiliser behind it, to stop the stitches drawing up and distorting the piece. Works a treat 🙂

  2. Grannymar says:

    The ribbon looks wonderful and when the quilt is complete only you will know that block is appliqué and not paper pieced. Laptop sick so comments from my phone might be slow for a few days.

  3. Debbierose says:

    Lovely applique, perfect for the ribbon

  4. tialys says:

    Is there no end to ways of putting a Pritt stick to good use? 😉

  5. I have said before I know naught about quilting, but I am invested in this one for two reasons: I love the pun, and my mother’s favourite colour was teal. It makes me happy to see so much of it!

  6. knitnkwilt says:

    The ribbon looks good–and applique can be done by hand instead of machine, also helpful. Love your strategy!

    • katechiconi says:

      I do love hand appliqué, but preferably not when I’m pressed for time, or indeed for these curved shapes, when turning edges under would be on the bias. I wanted smooth curves, and this process gave me the result I was hoping for 🙂

  7. The ribbon is just right. I’ve used glue stick to help with applique edges, too, and yes, it’s a great help. I’ll look forward to seeing more. But Kate! Do be patient and gentle on yourself while quilting. I know that’s a very physically-demanding process.

    • katechiconi says:

      I shall only be doing 12 inch squares, and my back will definitely let me know when it’s had enough. One at a time, slowly and surely, I’ll get it all done.

  8. rutigt says:

    It´s a great block, love he colors!

  9. It’s a lovely block and thank you for the tips on applique. I wondered how you got it so perfect looking. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The stabiliser was a revelation. You can get away without glue if you baste the pieces down in place first, but I was too lazy! Because it’s a simple school glue, and I use very little, when I go to trim away the fabric at the back leaving a 1/4 inch seam allowance, the glue peels apart very easily.

      • I have a quilting friend here that uses school glue watered down and she does mostly applique. One day I will try too. The stabilizer is a new trick.

      • katechiconi says:

        The stiffness of the stabiliser stops the fabric being drawn into a ‘channel’, which is what often happens with zigzag or blanket stitch. I have a big envelope into which I put the large bits I’ve torn away, to be used another time on a smaller section. As you don’t stick it to the fabric (pin or baste it), you can use it multiple times.

  10. Robin Murphy says:

    The ribbon is just perfect Kate, I love the paisley with the plain, they go together so well. Slowly but surely you will get there and by doing QAYG it wont be so heavy for you. Applique is just perfect the curves are great.

    • katechiconi says:

      Sorry about taking so long to reply to this, but I missed it somehow. I agree, the fabrics are perfect for this context. I shall be starting the QAYG in the next few days, once the Husband is back to work after his 4 days off…

  11. Magpie Sue says:

    I, too, like the softer curves you achieved with applique. So glad you’re the one doing this and not me! This looks beautiful.

    • katechiconi says:

      I was glad to get it done, as it means that the quilt could stand alone without the outer border if necessary. But I’ve made a good start on the QAYG, and will be posting about it soon.

  12. Great ribbon!
    And good thinking on starting from the middle and working out. A finished smaller quilt will be better than an unfinished quilt if you hit a hurdle.

Leave a Reply

