Time for Teal part 12

More eye candy!

T4T collage 6In this collage, the pale large pale background Dresden Plate is from Carla at Granny Maud’s Girl.  The heart comes from Sue of From the Magpie’s Nest, and the other two Dresden blocks are from Annett.

AnnettsquishyThe second collage shows the lovely gifts she sent with them – that was a really fabulous squishy parcel! Don’t you love the collapsible thread catcher, perfect for travelling?

I now need only two more Dresden Plate blocks, and I know that Nanette is sending me at least one, so I shall wait and see what comes before I make any more.

I’ve bought the backing and sashing fabric to assemble the central ‘tea table’ area. I’m looking at this quilt now and thinking that September, which seemed so far off a month or two ago, is creeping closer. I’ve been out of action in a fairly significant way for nearly a month. I must start to get back into the routine of doing some regular sewing each day, or the deadline will come and go with no quilt to present to Ovarian Cancer Australia for the charity auction. I know I have the best of excuses: it was serious surgery and I’m not able to work for more than an hour at a time, but at the same time, I need to get moving. I won’t overdo it, but I also won’t be lazy or put it off till later.

Next, it’ll be time to start the rest of the outer border blocks :-). I already have some, so once the centre’s sorted, I can lay them out and see what’s still needed.

28 thoughts on “Time for Teal part 12

  1. Robin Murphy says:

    Lovely Dresden blocks, and what a gorgeous thread catcher. Happy to help with other blocks needed, just let me know what sort. Don’t over do it Kate, we want you to be able to enjoy it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I may take you up on that very generous offer: a couple of random design blocks for the outer border, same colours, same size. They’re all going to be different, so you can make whatever you like! The improvement is slower than I’d like, but it is getting better all the time, so I must just be patient.

  2. nettyg says:

    I have 2 dresdens made, I was going to keep going and make more, but I’ll stop now ! I’m happy to make a couple or 3 outer blocks since I still have all my teal fabrics out, so still 12 inch blocks ? Love Sue’s heart, and the squishy thread catcher is adorable, nice gift Annett.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes please to the outer blocks! Same size as the Dresdens, 12.5″ unfinished. I’m using the the threadcatcher already, it’s beside my machine. I’ve pinned a nice tutorial for it on my Pinterest board – are you interested?

  3. Debbierose says:

    Squishy packages well done. Cute thread catcher

  4. Great that you have enough Dresdens. I started reading this post about an hour ago, but kept following your links and getting sidetracked! It the quilt doesn’t make it to the auction, I’m sure there’ll be another one before too long.

    I’m trying to pluck up courage to machine quilt the random blocks in my current project. I bet I’m undoing by this evening and reverting to hand quilting!

    Keep getting better.
    love,
    ViV

  5. lucyannluna says:

    Love that heart block. Looks like it’s going to be a beautiful quilt

  6. Another set of pretty blocks! Looks wonderful!
    Annett really made lovely gifts!
    Esther

  7. claire93 says:

    try and take things easy. If you don’t get T4T finished in time for the September charity auction, there will be others.

  8. Lynda says:

    Such loveliness! We’ll be waiting for the finish, but we know it takes as long as it takes… you’ll get there.

    PS: Do you suppose your sender of precious gifts has a pattern for that thread catcher? Annett? Pretty please?

  9. Grannymar says:

    I am still in transit, on Irish soil but not home yet. More teal tiles for us to enjoy and that squishy parcel had some more delights. I will be having a go at the little thread-catcher when I clear two projects that have short ‘must finish’ dates on them. Oh boy do I need forty eight hours in each day and not twenty four, right now. So glad to read you are pacing and improving, Kate. The way to go for both of us.

  10. rutigt says:

    So many nice Dresden Plates! The thread catcher, I have made a few myself, they are very useful!

  11. I was a bit worried about my background fabric, but it seems to be fine with the others. Phew!

Leave a Reply

