F²F² June progress report

Sorry it’s a few days late, people, life has been a bit busy.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmWe are just over halfway through our first month of F²F², the second round of Foot²Freestyle. This month, it’s Lynn’s turn, and her palette of navy, gold and grey is planned to make a masculine quilt for her husband. So far, the blocks that have been produced look perfect!

There are only 9 of us in this session, and I think this will make life a good bit easier for everyone in the long term. At this point in the month, we already have 7 of the contributions posted in the gallery on the F2F blog (click through for a look), so only two left to come, one of which is mine.  I’m finding sewing a bit harder than I’d hoped. My back is not happy at protracted periods bent over a cutting table, light box or sewing machine, so I have to work bit by bit. However, I will get my blocks done and posted by the end of the month!

I’m really delighted at how much the skills and adventurousness of the participants in this round have improved. Some of us are already very experienced piecers and quilters, and others are relative newcomers to the art, but seeing each others’ work has proved inspirational and encouraging for all of us.

Right, I’d better spend some time in the sewing room today. I’ve got blocks to produce!

12 thoughts on “F²F² June progress report

  1. I’m sorry you are still having problems, Kate. If you do as you are told by the experts, it should get easier day by day. Don’t jeopardise the success by impatience to finish a couple of blocks!!!! Lecture over.

    love and encouraging hugs,
    ViV x

    • katechiconi says:

      I suspect that just over 2 weeks out from surgery of this sort is a little over-ambitious to be expecting a full recovery… I am *trying* to be patient, but it’s hard to look at all the things I want to do and know that I just can’t.

  2. Debbierose says:

    Very nice gallery gold, navy, grey. Take your time recovering, better in long run

  3. rutigt says:

    I´ve visit the Gallery and it looks great!!! And to you: Take it easy 🙂 June still have lots of days left and we all know about your surgery, so if you are a bit late with your blocks, I don´t thnk anyone will be offended..

  4. Lynda says:

    The color way and the blocks are beautiful! Please, please, Kate, be good to yourself and take it easy. Trust me (and my friend’s son) second surgeries are not happy. Slow and steady wins the race as they say.

  5. Take it easy Kate. Remember we can take the blocks of your hands if it becomes to much.
    Knuffels
    Esher

  6. tialys says:

    Hello! I’m back from my U.K. visit and just ploughing through 434 emails (deleting most of them). I have Claire’s blocks so far and I know Sandra has made them so I’ll get them from her this week and photograph them for the gallery – which I am deliberately not looking at.
    As for you – don’t rush or make me anything too complicated – I know they will be lovely in any case and I have yet to start sandwiching and quilting. I did find some nice fabric for the backing in the U.K. though so just the sashing to think about.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hello! Glad you’re back safely, and hope you had a good time. I have one block made, paper blocks printed for the second, and the third will be either a postage stamp or a hexie block. I’m a bit anxious at how little sewing I can do before I have to stop – the same applies to the housework, but that’s a lot less concerning, of course! Your blocks will be done in time, but it’ll definitely be the latter end of the month.

Leave a Reply

