Time for Teal part 11

Opening squishies is such brilliant fun.

When I got home two days ago, there were two envelopes waiting. One from Viv, who has been a presence on this blog for a good while, and who always has something lovely to say about whatever I make. The other one was from Robin, who is new, but who also came to me via Viv. Robin lives in the ACT here in Australia, but is also Viv’s cousin, and because Ovarian Cancer is a cause close to her heart, and because she’s also a quilter, she asked if she could contribute, now and on future quilts. Well, of course the answer was a resounding yes. And I’m very happy to have a new friend to Chiconia as well 🙂

Here are the blocks. First Viv:

Viv dresden 1 Viv dresden 2

And then Robin, who sent me not one but three beautiful Dresden Plate blocks.

Robin dresden 1 Robin dresden 2 Robin dresden 3

Not too many more needed for the border around the ‘tea table’ – I now only have to make 5, and that’ll be done very quickly. I already have quite a few of the blocks I’ll need for the outermost border. We’re doing rather well 😉

It will soon be time for me to go and buy backing and sashing fabric, and start the whole QAYG process.

31 thoughts on “Time for Teal part 11

  1. Debbierose says:

    Such lovely blocks. I’m starting to really like dresden plate because of this quilt. It was not one of my go to blocks before

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s very versatile and makes a wonderful quilt. There are some gorgeous traditional ones from the 30s, and some amazing modern ones. Worth a thorough browsing on Pinterest!

  2. Thank you for the praise, Kate – unmerited. I can’t remember when I’ve had such difficulty with a block. Robin’s blocks are lovely, with a great choice of fabrics.

  3. norma says:

    Love the blocks.

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    They are lovely. Dresden blocks are the only ones I have ever made thanks to Cath Kidston and the pattern give away in her book.

  5. claire93 says:

    some lovely additions to the tea party!

    • katechiconi says:

      Aren’t they? I got another block today, and Nanette has promised me a couple so I need to hold off and see how many I’ll end up with. I shall make some generic blocks for the outside edge and then start quilting the central blocks while I wait for them to arrive.

  6. Those are all beautiful blocks. I hope you are resting well and feeling better. Love all the colors of teal. 🙂 Question, what is the ACT part of Australia?

    • katechiconi says:

      The Australian Capital Territory is a small enclave within the southernmost part of New South Wales, just north of the border with Victoria. It contains our political capital, Canberra. Imagine that Washington and the rest of DC was its own small state and you have the idea. It needed to have political autonomy, hence the fact that it is a Territory of its own rather than belonging to NSW.

  7. Wow, these blocks are so lovely! They fit so well with the other blocks!
    Hugs
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! I have them laid out around the central section, and they look so great. I need to start quilting and joining that part very soon, while I wait for the last few dresden plates to come in, and then I can add the outer dresden border. After that, we’re nearly done, just the last border.

  8. Robin Murphy says:

    I am so glad that the blocks will fit in Ok. I was a bit concerned about the colours, so am very happy you think they are ok. It was such a pleasure to be able to contribute. Hope you are not pushing too hard Kate, remember to rest occasionally.

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    What lovely blocks. I really like the one that’s more square. I’ve never seen any like that before!

  10. katechiconi says:

    It’s a beauty, isn’t it: much wider blades. Your lovely heart block will be featured in a later post, but it goes really well with the rest in terms of colour.

  11. rutigt says:

    So great to have even more quilters sewing on your teaparty! All the Dresdenblocks are so nice!

  12. soooooo pretty ! I see you are back at work ! take care !!!

  13. Grannymar says:

    The dresden plate blocks are wonderful. Kate, I hope you did not think I had deserted you. I am in London having far too much fun to spend time at a computer. I should be back to normal after referendum day on 23rd.

  14. Three! I should have upped my game!

    • katechiconi says:

      Not at all! You have been very busy, and your block was very beautiful, just like all the others. I am extremely grateful for all the blocks that have come in, since I was unable to do any sewing work at all for at least two and a half weeks.

Leave a Reply

