Words under pressure #22

We’re back, a day earlier than expected, but I couldn’t face another night away.

So teeth were gritted, pedal was pushed to metal, pillows were plumped, and off we set. Things were not good for several sections of the journey, and least of all when we finally got home. But everything is much better now.

Home at last

Here I lie,
clean, comfortable, clothed
in soft and waistless lawn
baby-scented, still…

Here lie I
like one laid neatly out
for the coffin-maker’s
invisible art.

All aligned:
head, shoulders, waist and hips
knees and ankles wide spaced
all ruler straight

But sideways!
My burning, punished spine
ratcheted ever tighter –
unloaded after

Days of bumps,
bangs, bends, by beds enforced
winds down like clockwork –
lies level at last.

On my side
nose gratefully buried
in softest old cotton, forehead
finally uncreased.

46 thoughts on “Words under pressure #22

  1. claire93 says:

    plenty of bed-rest after that long journey and you’ll soon feel more like your old self

    • katechiconi says:

      I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to fall into my own bed, which knows me and is the correct and comfortable shape… Boiled egg and toast, cup of tea… I’ll be ready to sleep very soon now 🙂

  2. M. L. Kappa says:

    Phew! Home sweet home🛌

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    can’t beat your own bed. Get well soon.

  4. May the uncreasing be unceasing.

    • katechiconi says:

      And the straightening unabatening… Ummm. Doesn’t quite work, but you know what I mean. At present, lying on my back feels like lying on a box of small rocks. Not sharp ones, just very, very lumpy and pressing into me in unexpected places. This too will pass. In the meantime, I lie on my side, but the spine has to be straight.

  5. Kathy D says:

    Home – the best medicine and place for healing. You’re on your way now, happy days!

    • katechiconi says:

      Also the place for spotting spider webs, piles of washing up, dead plants, thick blankets of dust and heaps of laundry. I’m staying safely in the bedroom, it’s scary out there!

  6. dayphoto says:

    Getting home, in your own bed, sofa, recliner, your own routine and you will start to heal! On to NO MORE PAIN!!!

    Linda

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s already unmistakably better than when I was discharged 6 days ago, but the difficulty is achieving a long-term comfortable position. It’s coming, though!

  7. I can really relate. There is nothing like your own house and space, no matter how grand or humble. One v can do just as they please in their own space. And that alone is wonderful!!!!
    Take it slow and easy so you can heal . Don’t push it. You have plenty of time to do everything you want once you’re healed. 😄

    • katechiconi says:

      The pleasure of putting out a hand in the night and know you’ll find your water/ pills/ glasses/ book or whatever on the nightstand is huge. I’d been making do with a chair beside the bed at the BIL’s, and constantly knocking things over, or off!

  8. So glad that you are back home with familiar things and the peace and freedom that only come of being in your own space.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’ve got that exactly right. Peace and freedom. It’s what I’ve been missing. We turned out the lights at 10pm yesterday, and were only woken by my pill alarm at 6am. I slept straight through the midnight dose. The magic of home has started to work already!

  9. Yippee for your own bed and the comfort of home, but you’re a naughty girl for forcing the pace. NOW will you please take it easy and let your body heal?????

    • katechiconi says:

      It was the idea of trying to get comfortable in yet another motel bed. I was motivated entirely by the lure of my on wonderful bed. There were 4 hours of rather grim, well, let’s call it discomfort, and then I was back, out the car door, into the house and straight up the stairs to bed, trailed by the Husband with a thousand pillows. He has done the entire job of unpacking the car while I took the briefest possible shower, got into a nightie and went and laid myself out straight, on my side, spine unweighted at last. Bliss….

  10. Nothing better than being home after days in hospital. Welcome back, hon.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, mate, you are so right. The bed doesn’t crackle. No one barges in with a blood pressure trolley and gets arsey because your blood pressure and blood oxygen are too low and your temperature’s too high. I have a warm and cosy Husband snuffling right beside me, who makes lavishly good cups of early morning coffee, served with a ginger bicky. Did you know we have a coffee machine in the bedroom?

      • O my. You are awesome. I can’t even imagine how wonderful fresh coffee scent is as an alarm clock!

      • katechiconi says:

        There’s a much stronger tendency to start the day with a grin on my chops, I’ll say that for it! We take up a tray at night with cups, thermos of milk, etc. In the morning, the Husband does the barista thing, milk steamer and all. If you can find space for it, I thoroughly recommend it as a life changer!

      • It sounds so lovely and bonding. Never gonna happen here – he won’t get up until the last minute and I’m up two hours beforehand.

      • katechiconi says:

        That’s a tough one… This way, we both start the day more cheerful. Every bit helps, eh?

      • I think our version is that he always brings up water for the bedside every night. Cold as possible for me! I am in charge of making the coffee and setting the timer for the morning. Poor man is only allowed one cup a day, now. He’s obeying, grumpily.

      • katechiconi says:

        That’s good too… One cup’s a bit penitential, but I’m guessing it’s a health thing.

      • Yeah. I’m okay with my usual two, but he drank it all day at work so…I’m proud of him for being able to snap his fingers and just have one.

  11. Home sweet home, enjoy every minute and don’t think about ‘all those things that could be done’. (Follow your advice and stay in the bedroom!) With a coffee machine, you are ‘totes sorted.’

    • katechiconi says:

      And just at present, totes comfy! The difference a really good, puffy top mattress makes cannot be underestimated. And I just got to open all my squishy envelopes!

  12. Thank God. Poor girl. Glad you are home again.

  13. Magpie Sue says:

    Ah, that full night’s sleep sounds so good. You must really have needed it. Remember now, not too much too soon!

    • katechiconi says:

      Don’t worry, the back isn’t ‘backward’ about letting me know if I do too much! And sometimes a great big wave of fatigue takes over and I virtually drop where I am to snooze for a bit.

  14. Debbierose says:

    Bliss, your own bed! Rest & enjoy

  15. very glad you are home. xxxxx

  16. rutigt says:

    Whether you have pain or not, your own bed is always the best!

    • katechiconi says:

      It surely is. The pillows are the right size and shape, the covers are the right weight and warmth, and the mattress is the perfect combination of soft and firm. Heaven!

  17. So happy you are home again!!! Let you pillows be fluffed, you tea be brought and hugs be felt!
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly I’m not allowed to spend too much time among the pillows. I must walk, increasing amounts each day, to strengthen my back and prevent blood clots in my legs! It hurts and I don’t like it, but it has to be done…

  18. I could feel every word here. Beautiful writing. Giant soft hugs.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! And I’m already so much better than when that was written. Lying down and waiting for sleep is less of an exercise in waiting for the painful bits to relax and adjust and more of a lie down, close eyes, say “aaah” … and sleep!

  19. I hope you’re starting to feel better xx

    • katechiconi says:

      Loads better, thank you! Trouble is, when it’s not actually hurting I’m all too likely to overdo things, and then of course, it starts to hurt again…

Leave a Reply

