Jewellery for backs

I’m now sporting 4 of these, the shank is blue, the cap at the end is purple and the screw that holds the rod in place is gold. Swanky, eh?

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 5.10.57 pmAnd of course, that’s not all of it, but it’s pretty, isn’t it? Almost sad that you can’t see it… (Just call me Borg Queen, or perhaps RoboQuilter). Yes, OK, I am on quite large doses of pain relief…

So, I’m awake, OK, can wiggle my toes. Not up to protracted blogging yet, though.

I felt you all out there, crossing fingers, praying, lighting candles and sending out positive and healing thoughts. I knew you were there. You did a good job, y’all.

Now, where’s the button on that PCA?

Heh heh… mmmmmorphine….. aaah, that’s better…

PS: If anyone is curious to know what’s been done, have a look at this totally non-gruesome animation which explains the process. I’m looking at you, Ms Mac G.

80 thoughts on “Jewellery for backs

  1. Hurrah! Glad it went ok… have they made you walk yet?

  2. Jen says:

    Well done you! So pleased it’s gone well. Now rest up and concentrate on getting better X sending massive hugs and lots of positive thoughts xxx

  3. tialys says:

    Welcome back to the conscious world – or semi conscious as you are on the morphine. I love your new jewellery and hope it does its job so you will soon be up and about, pain-free and wowing us with your creations again. Lots of love – off to watch the animation….
    xxx

    • tialys says:

      Watched it! Looks like a doddle! I don’t know what all the fuss was about πŸ˜‰

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s nice to be back in the land of the living. I’m a bit upset to find that none of the comments I’ve made on other blogs this morning have appeared, so WP is up to its usual tricks. Not good for my blood pressure!
      I kind of wish the jewellery was visible, it’s pretty!

  4. Good news. πŸ™‚ (No response needed.)

  5. EllaDee says:

    So glad to see you out the other side 😊 sense of humour fully functional.

  6. Robin Murphy says:

    Ah those pain meds are wonderful things. Glad to hear you have such nice new jewellery.

  7. manicmumdays says:

    Glad you made it thru in one piece! Rest up and get well soon ❀

  8. M. L. Kappa says:

    You are now officially a bionic woman! Xxx

  9. claire93 says:

    great to see you are still chirpy ^^
    do as the doctors say, and you’ll soon be back on your feet

    • katechiconi says:

      I was back on them this morning briefly and it was not a fun experience, I nearly passed out afterwards because my blood pressure dropped, but it was great to stand upright and actually walk without too much pain.

  10. knettycraft says:

    My first thought today morning was: It’s many hours later in Australia… now the surgery is done. I don’t need to know all the scary details… but I am glad you got it and what you are writing sounds humorously and encouraged although all the pains and morphines…
    If it wasn’t 2 pm here I would raise my glass to your health!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, Annett, I’m feeling pretty good considering what they have done to me! The morphine is a great help, and so is the support and good wishes of my friends πŸ™‚

  11. nanacathy2 says:

    Roboquilter! Love it. Here’s to a speedy recovery from the operation. Lots more hugs coming your way from North Yorkshire.

  12. So glad healing can begin in earnest! Sending bright green healing light.

    (A mixed media fiber art quilt titled RoboQuilter sporting some fancy colored screws just might be a future project….)

  13. Bionic Woman is not fiction. You’ve joined the elite bionic club – with four stents and a pacemaker, I welcome you!

    Yes, they’re very pretty, and I’m sure they’ll be doing a grand job very soon in getting you hopping about.
    love’n soft hugs,
    ViV xox

  14. knitnkwilt says:

    Thanks for the video–I’m of the “inquiring minds want to know” set. πŸ™‚ Glad the procedure is done and recovery begun.

  15. dayphoto says:

    OH! You came through fine and able to blog! Soon it will be therapy time and then HOME!

    Linda

  16. lucyannluna says:

    Glad you made it, now you can look forward to going home.

  17. Great to hear from you Kate! We’ve all been watching and waiting for you to reappear πŸ™‚ Lovely to see you back and take your time to get well again.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I’m back – and still mostly on my back! But no longer so terribly drowsy or nauseated. Nice breakfast, short walk, and time to catch up with the blog.

  18. Jule says:

    Posh! It’s a shame they’re hidden. πŸ˜‰ *in my best Cyberman voice* ‘You have been upgraded.’
    Hope you’ll be back on your feet again soon. Bonus: Your new rank as RoboQuilter entitles you to a special security procedure at any airport of your choice. πŸ˜€

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! I will now need a special card to explain the beeping!
      I hope this may be the last back surgery for a very long time, otherwise I’ll be turning into the Borg Queen, all metal spine and head!

  19. Magpie Sue says:

    Very pretty! Glad to hear you in good spirits. There will be no holding you back now!

  20. Totally Non-Gruesome! But fascinating. I did want to see what the bones should look lik after they fuse, but I suppose it will be different for every person.
    I think it is kind of fabulous you get to have such spiffy colours in there! How boring otherwise, eh! Best wishes for a speedy recovery and that the morphine always helps when needed!

    • katechiconi says:

      The morphine is Da Bomb! I love the idea of multi coloured bits in my back too, and thought the colours were imaginative. Much better than grey, grey or dark grey.

  21. Grannymar says:

    Healing greetings to our very own heavy metal druggie Kate! I was notified by email when you posted this, but sitting in line for my call to take my car through an MOT. Thankfully the car passed and I came home smiling. Many interruptions later I have peace to leave a comment. Totally delighted and envious of your colourful jewellery. One day at a time steady and slow is the way to go. ((((hugs)))) xx

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, dear Marie. I would feel better if WP in its infinite wisdom had not decided to hide all the comments I have made on other people’s blogs today. They may be waiting to be approved, for some reason; I cannot imagine what, as I’ve changed nothing. Do check your Towel post, I made a comment there…

      • Grannymar says:

        Found you at the end of the tourist route, read spam bucket. Remember you are 1,000 miles away from home and the IP address might be different, so WP may not recognise you. I have that problem when trying to comment from my phone when on the move,

        I am in the ‘baby’ class when it comes to added extras, I do carry a card to explain the bleeping from my hip. I will get to test it in an airport pretty soon. The other thing you will need to watch out for is lightening storms. Like me you are now a lightening conductor. If you are caught outdoors and unable to go into a building, sit in a car… the rubber tyres break your contact with the ground.

      • katechiconi says:

        Hmm, I never realised I’d be drawing down the wrath of the gods in thunderstorms! Thank you for the car advice, it could come in very useful. I shall have to ask my surgeon about the card to explain the bleeping.

      • Grannymar says:

        Morning Kate, (08:00) Saturday here) I was given a card (credit card size) with the date of surgery and naming the position of the added extra. I was told to show it if and when I was going through Airport security. It lives in my purse with my magic money cards… just wish there was some of the real stuff to back them up! πŸ˜‰

      • katechiconi says:

        Morning Marie, now 10.30 your time and 6.30pm our time. I shall look forward to my Cyborg Certificate πŸ™‚
        Another card to try and cram into my overstuffed wallet. I shall have to relocate some of the loyalty cards, I think….

      • Grannymar says:

        I have a grand little purse with three zipped pockets. I punched a whole through all layers at one top corner and added my keys. So one pocket holds coins, another cards and bank notes and the largest one takes receipts, stamps, and the odd business card I am given when out and about. So when I have my purse, I have money and keys too. SO FAR I have not mislaid them in the house (says she hopefully!).

      • katechiconi says:

        I couldn’t manage with such a small one – I seem to need all sorts of things extra. I have my keys clipped to a ring on a long cord sewn inside my bag, so if I pull on the string, the keys surface from the bottom as if by magic!

      • Grannymar says:

        My purse is 10 x 13 cm in soft leather and fits, keys and all in my walking trousers pocket. I used to carry a much larger one with half the kitchen sink in it and with the keys attached it would not fit in my pocket. I love this one and should have gone back and bought a spare. I too discovered those strings on a recent bag purchase. It keeps my Moo card holder, a USB stick, a trolley coin and three swipe able mini loyalty cards on it. I have since made a few more to add to other handbags.

  22. ladyredspecs says:

    A bit of bling and some happy juice, you’re well on the way. Wishing you a quick and easy recovery

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve just discovered your comment in my spam folder; apparently I’m not the only one WP was messing around with the other day. Thank you so much for the good wishes, just a shame I can’t exactly show off my ‘bling’ πŸ™‚

  23. Awesome and colorful news! Feel better soon and take care.
    Nina

  24. Anlina says:

    Yippee! Do you have a ‘release date’ yet, or too soon to say? Freezing and wet in Melbs, off to make pumpkin soup (once I extract lap warming feline) xo

    • katechiconi says:

      Tomorrow they remove most of the wires and tubes, hopefully, at which point I’ll be allowed to totter into the bathroom unaccompanied for some much needed personal care. After that, they’ll be chasing me around the corridor and getting me to do exercises. Hopefully, final release will take place on Monday afternoon, at which point the husband will be here ready to extract me. Not freezing but equally wet here in Brisvegas, and the husband is bringing down a container of home made Moroccan lamb and chickpea soup to sustain me!

  25. Hiep hiep hoera!!! So glad you are well!
    Yay!!!!
    Esther

  26. nettyg says:

    Good to hear you so chirpy, and that your 2nd walk went so well. I have 2 4 inch x 1.5 wide metal bits in my arm, and sadly have never beeped. And I was so looking forward to flashing my get out of jail card in airports. I did have a few security people wanting to look under the strapping, and who prodded a bit, quite painfully. On flood watch here now 😦

  27. rutigt says:

    Morfin or not, IΒ΄m glad youΒ΄re on this side of the operation πŸ™‚ Hope it will be just fine with your spine now and no more pain!

    • katechiconi says:

      They took my morphine away this morning :-(, but on the up side, they also too away all the other tubes. Just two things left, which will stay until tomorrow; a needle in my hand and a small drip into my back. There is still pain and stiffness, but I know it will pass and then I’ll be much better than I was before.

  28. Debbierose says:

    Happy your in good spirits, definitely Robo Quilter. Hugs for a speedy recovery

  29. I’m delighted to hear that all went well. I’ve had back and neck pain for years, so know all to well how debiliating they can be. It’s good to hear the surgery did the trick. Thanks I for including the video. It was really helpful for understanding the process. Rest well.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s very tiring and energy-sapping, isn’t it. Already when I stumble down the corridor with my Rollator, I can tell that there’s no pain down my legs, a HUGE improvement. The video is a bit sanitised, but does give the technical detail, which I like knowing about.

      • I am thrilled to hear that the pain in your legs is gone. What a relief…quite literally. Best of luck with your continued recovery, Kate. I’m so glad the surgery is a success.

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ve overdone it today, enjoying the sensation of being able to get around again. Flat on my back once more, but only temporarily, I promise!

  30. Cas Arthur says:

    Glad to hear you’re up and about Kate! By the sound of the weather report, staying put for a bit sounds like a good option. All the best for your recovery! Cas. xxx

    • katechiconi says:

      The weather back home is fine, it’s just Brisbane and points south. John will be here tomorrow, and then we’ll be at Kev’s for 4 days or so, so I shall be well taken care of before the long trek home πŸ™‚

  31. Conor Bofin says:

    Thinking of you Kate.

  32. Titanium? Whatever they have done to your back, I hope it works. Maybe I will be brave enough to watch the non-gruesome animation.

    • katechiconi says:

      Now I know you’ve seen it, it wasn’t at all bad, was it? All cartoony and sanitised. No squirting and squishing and saw and drill noises. I thank God I don’t clank or jingle!

  33. Jen Gardener says:

    Oh wow, you’ve been busy! How’s your back? I haven’t worked in ortho/neuro since my second year of nursing but it looks like it can be pretty uncomfortable for a few days post op! Hope they looked after you well!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s nearly 3 weeks on now, and I can walk without pain, sit and lie nearly without pain and the thing is tidily closed, but I certainly know it’s still there!

Leave a Reply

