Foot2Freestyle: May roundup, and conclusion

It’s the last month of the first round of F²F!

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmMost of the blocks are either here or on their way. A couple of us have not been able to get their contributions done by the end of the month, with excellent reasons, and I’m really not complaining. For the first time in my life I have multiple WIPs and making my F²F quilt has to take a back seat to getting more important things done, so a delay in receiving blocks is not a problem.

It has been a wonderful year of working with you all, and Sue and I have enjoyed it enough to be going round again. Lessons have been learned, skills have been honed, new skills acquired and perhaps, for some, new passions developed. Personally, I have gone from detesting paper piecing because it seemed so hard, to absolutely loving it and preferring it to regular piecing for many applications. It has given me new ambitions to reach for, and taught me that we all work in different ways, all valid, and all best suited to each of us.

I thank you all for the enjoyment, the beauty, the challenges and the lessons learned in organising this block swap. Some of you are joining us for the next round; only 9 months this time. To the rest of you, I wish you happiness, good progress with your projects and a hope that you will stay in touch.

To the F²F² members, see you all over at the block swap’s new home: http://footsquarefreestyle.wordpress.com.  Progress reports and roundups will still happen here, images will be displayed over there in the new gallery. What a riot of colour that’s going to be – everyone has gone vivid this time round.

It’s been a great block swap. Thank you all.

NOTE: This post has been prepared in advance and scheduled for posting on the last day of F²F. I may not be able to reply to comments straight away due to medical issues, so please be patient. I’ll reply to everyone as soon as I can 🙂

10 thoughts on “Foot2Freestyle: May roundup, and conclusion

  1. claire93 says:

    it’s been so much fun following all the progress over the last 12 months, and finally seeing some of the quilts take shape.

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! Seeing quilts actually happen has been such fun, and I notice that Esther has started hers as well. I think she’ll be the next one after Sue.

  2. tialys says:

    I’m so glad you managed to enjoy the whole experience Kate – it must have been tough to keep us all in line at times. All our thanks must go to you and Sue for organising the F2F Swap Party. I have ended up with a beautiful quilt and had enough fun to sign up again. I’m with you on the Paper Piecing – another convert is born 🙂
    x

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s addictive making something beautiful and getting it right, isn’t it? I’ve amassed a rather large library of paper piecing patterns, so if you’re ever searching for something particular, give me a yell and I’ll see what I’ve got. So glad you’re joining us for round two. I hope you’ll forgive me if my blocks don’t make it out till right at the end of the month, but I think I have a good excuse!

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    I have enjoyed watching this project unfold and have been inspired to try stitching bits of fabric together myself. I don’t always understand what you are all doing but I love reading about it anyway. All power to your sewing machines! Thinking of you and sending you more good wishes and prayers for a good outcome.

    • katechiconi says:

      Anything you don’t understand, don’t hesitate to ask. I love it that the block swap has inspired you to make a start. Thank you so much for the good wishes; now that they’ve brought the surgery date forwards, I can look forward to being pain free a lot sooner 🙂

  4. rutigt says:

    Congrats to one finished round and now over to the next one 🙂 Yeah!!!!!!

  5. Thank you for organising such a brilliant swap. My purple wonder is now neatly folded away in the cupboard and it’ll be used as soon as the weather turns cold. Good luck to all the swappers in round 2. I’ll be watching with interest from the sidelines this time 🙂

  6. katechiconi says:

    Thank you for the fun, and for being the first to finish her own quilt – and in record time! Your example has spurred the others on to finish theirs, which is after all the point of the block swap.

Leave a Reply

