Teal Tea-Time

I finally managed to get into the kitchen.

Doing my best Quasimodo impression, I lurched about (the back pain is ramping up, bring on the surgery), making a gluten free caramel mud cake batter. I spread it across three cake pans in descending order of size. Of course, I didn’t have the right size for the smallest one, so that got made in a little pie pan and is therefore a slightly strange shape.

Teal Time Cake

The caramel mud cake was splodged with peppermint flavoured teal-coloured (or as near as I could get) buttercream frosting (it helps to disguise the lopsided cake!). Also, my cake stand isn’t blue, but, dear Esther, here is your fabulous paper piecing pattern brought to life in a very wonky and not quite as tall, but rather tasty way. There’s about three-quarters of it left, and I don’t think the remainder will last.

Peppermint gateau

And here’s what it should look like…

What do you think, people? It tastes pretty good, mint-caramel combined.

But not as good as Esther’s block looks….

40 thoughts on “Teal Tea-Time

  1. Terrific. I adore caramel and also love mint. An iteresting combination.
    love,
    ViV

  2. norma says:

    Looks lovely!

  3. claire93 says:

    it looks totally decadent ^^

  4. lucyannluna says:

    Love the block & cake. I’ve recently been forced to join the gluten free, still picking my way through that maze, my successful baking involves a slightly flat scone & a packet mix. I’m still experimenting here. Your cake look fantastic

    • katechiconi says:

      I have a huge list of tried and tested GF cakes, and used to make and sell them to local coffee shops, so I know they work. If you’d like something specific, email me using the email address on my Contact Me page and I’ll see if I can help :-). We GF types need to help each other, it’s hard enough doing without decent bread!

      • lucyannluna says:

        Thanks Kate, I’ve found a passable bread roll, OK for occasional take out lunch & a fruit bread that toasts ok. I’ve recently found a gluten free cake flour, seems ok, but does not rise as well. It’s only been around 3 weeks now, so just finding out its in things I didn’t know it was, until its effects are felt. Eating out seems to be a bit of a nightmare. Slowly getting the hang of it.

      • katechiconi says:

        Do you have BeFree wraps in the UK? They are absolutely the best GF wrap in existence, and my go-to for lunches and when I travel. You may get a better rise with the cake flour if you add a teaspoon of xanthan gum to the mix. Eating out is a bit tricky; if you eat meat, grilled fish or steak and salad is usually safe, our local pizzeria has GF bases and our local Italian does GF pastas and sauces. It does get easier, I promise! Learning to read the labels on EVERYTHING is the first thing, and not worrying about glucose syrup from wheat, since by the time they’ve processed it, there’s no detectable wheat.

      • lucyannluna says:

        Thanks I’ll look out for those wraps, the rolls are German, I will look for some xanthan gum, do you still add baking powder as well? Have got to visit in laws this week, not looking forward to it as food will be a major problem, I’m taking my own! But that in itself will lead to more problems.

      • katechiconi says:

        I think the wraps are made in Ireland, so you should be able to find them. Schär bread is OK, but a bit dry. Xanthan is a gum which makes the dough or batter stickier and a bit stretchy and therefore better able to hold the gas generated by the baking powder. You can use guar gum as well, but it’s a little less effective. I have a bread machine which I don’t use that often, as I’ve got out of the habit of eating bread much, but I do have a good loaf recipe if you want it? Will the MIL divulge the menu in advance, or is she a bit tricky to deal with? Some people were a bit dismissive when I was first diagnosed, until I pointed out all the hideous side effects of coeliac disease. That shut them up.

      • lucyannluna says:

        They are real tricky to deal with, & do not understand, it will be of extremely low quality or somewhere I wouldn’t normally choose to eat. I will survive 😌

      • katechiconi says:

        It’s taken about 3 years to get my MIL across the concept, she plays it extremely safe with a roast, steamed vegies and roast potatoes and I don’t have the gravy. Works for me! I also have the added difficulty that I’m lactose intolerant as well… Mostly I don’t bother with that point, and take a lactase tablet instead.

  5. I think I could eat the rest of that cake, no worries! ha ha. Your creating sure looks very decadent and delicious!!!
    We will be having cake here too today. My parents are celebrating their 40th anniversary. I better get ready for it… can’t wait!
    Hugs
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      The Husband has had three slices already. The combination of caramel and mild minty frosting is really yummy. Another time, I’ll make one deep cake and lavish all the frosting on top, but I wanted to pay homage to your block!

  6. tialys says:

    The real cake looks slightly too rich for my tastes but I love the pieced one – you’ve done a great job with Esther’s lovely pattern. I’m impressed you managed to finish either with all your current ‘issues’ and, in case I get confused with the time zones and don’t get chance again, I’m wishing you all the very best for your trip tomorrow. xx

    • katechiconi says:

      I cannot deny it’s rich. That hasn’t stopped Himself putting several slices away without any trouble at all.
      It’s Sunday evening here, I fly out in about 14 hours’ time. By Tuesday afternoon, I should know what’s going on, and will report! Thank you for the wishes ! xxxxx

  7. Debbierose says:

    Never tried Mint Caramel combo, sounds interesting

    • katechiconi says:

      The flavour balance should be more caramel than mint. In England, there’s a famous old brand of lollies called Nuttall’s Mintoes. They are chewy caramels flavoured with mint, so it’s a taste of my childhood in cake form!

      • Debbierose says:

        Now I think if it, you can get a toffee lolly here which is called a mint choc eclair. The shop near me gets them several times a year

  8. nanacathy2 says:

    Caramel and mint. Yummy.

  9. Both the cake and the block look amazing. What’s more amazing is you actually managed to bake it. Quasimodo indeed. I’ll be thinking of you Tuesday. Since I’m in the states, I’ll start earlier just in case I don’t get the timing right. My SIL goes in for angioplasty on Wed so I’ll be busy both days keeping all in my prayers.

    • katechiconi says:

      Quasimodo works by the rule of 5! The cake *was* pretty tasty :-). Not too long for me to wait now. I hope your SIL has a trouble free procedure and a quick recovery.

  10. dayphoto says:

    Ummmy Yummy!

    Linda

  11. Yum. Amazeballs.
    And wishing you strength 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It was pretty darn good. The rest of it probably still is, but I won’t be around to find out, as even if I come home Tuesday night it’ll probably be gone…! Strength gratefully accepted 🙂

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    Brilliant to combine the food and the other love of your blogging life. I could eat that cake any day.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was not a stylish object, and even less so now that it’s been severely mauled, picked at, hacked and eroded by passing marauders. But the flavour was good. The trick is to keep the mintyness quite gentle or it will overpower the caramel cake flavour. And Esther’s design called for a tribute in cake form, I felt!

  13. Looks rather deeeeelicious to me 🙂

  14. rutigt says:

    Yummie, yummie, I wish I could eat it, but just looking at it is good enough for me 🙂

  15. Kirsten says:

    Yum, yum, like a Murray Mint in cake form!

  16. Kate,
    I’m praying that all goes well with you. And that all the well wishes and prayers will strengthen your husband also. Love and Blessings, Lorij

    • katechiconi says:

      My poor husband needs strength; we have just found out how much this surgery is going to cost… 😦
      I greatly appreciate your kindness, and trust He is turning an attentive ear to your words.

Leave a Reply

