Time for Teal part 10

More beauties are on their way.

Time for Teal_01 Time for Teal_02_AnnettDespite being quite unwell, Annett has made and sent me two beautiful Dresden Plate blocks – exactly what I most need right now. I am so very grateful for her kindness, as it will save me time in getting the next border done. She’s sensibly given me extra fabric round the outside so I can trim them to size.

As most of you know by now, I am going to need spinal surgery of some kind in the near future, which means it’s likely my sewing time will be considerably reduced. There will be a bit of a hiatus in blogging during and immediately after the procedure, too. As I don’t know when it’s going to be yet, I’m planning to see if I can crank out a few more Dresden Plates of my own this weekend before I have to fly down and consult the neurosurgeon on Monday and Tuesday.

Also on today’s agenda is my first attempt at the Time for Teal Cake. If successful, I will get in a quick post about it, and also give the recipe if anyone’s interested.

I’d better get moving, cakes and plates won’t make themselves!

 

39 thoughts on “Time for Teal part 10

  1. tialys says:

    You are keeping busy I see. I’m looking forward to seeing your cake but not promising I’m going to bake one of my own – I’ll have a look at the recipe though 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not sure I’ll get to it today, maybe tomorrow, I’m pretty sore. I have to do a little bit of baking, we’re due at the SIL’s for dinner and I’m the dessert queen, so it’s my quickest recipe: peanut butter cookies.
      I don’t really expect anyone much to bake the cake, but I think it would be fun to provide a recipe together with the quilt, so that perhaps someone can make it if OvCA have a fundraising tea.

  2. M. L. Kappa says:

    These are beautiful! Such a bore about the surgery – I feel for you. But you can catch up on some reading… Perhaps you should invest in a lazy-boy chair. My mother had one after her back surgery, and it was brilliant. Hugs!

    • katechiconi says:

      At the moment, I sit in the corner of the sofa, leaning against several pillows and have a large beanbag on the seat on which I elevate my legs, with my knees up close to my chest. This is the best position for decompressing my spine, but it does make room rather scant for the Husband! We both want Laz-E-Boys anyway, but have no room unless we get rid of the sofa, which is perfectly good… Reading, embroidery, even a bit of laptop action are all possible.

      • Ironic in a way, because you are the least Laz-E-Person ever.

      • katechiconi says:

        Perhaps they should invent a new line called ‘Enforced-Rest-Gal’. Nah. It doesn’t have the same ring to it…. Pity neither my ethics (can’t get rid of a perfectly good sofa) nor my wallet (HOW much for just a chair?) will permit one for the foreseeable future.

      • dayphoto says:

        My heart is with you. My thoughts hold you within them daily. My prayers are constant for your successful surgery. I ask God and the Universe to heal you.

        Love you,
        Linda

      • katechiconi says:

        With friends like you, who needs guardian angels? I’m fully resigned to the fact of surgery, it’s just all the uncertainty surrounding it that is still bothering me. That will pass once I’m there in the moment.

  3. EllaDee says:

    Despite being somewhat hobbled and sensibly cautious you just keep on keeping on. You’re an inspiration. I keep seeing you surrounded by red healing light, for your Root chakra, I think.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve tried to think of as much as I can to smooth the way. I’m indulging in a wheelchair from the gate to the exit at Brisbane 🙂 I’ll take the healing light, or any other kind of positivity that’s on offer right now. Right now, my Muladhara is giving me serious gyp.

  4. anne54 says:

    I know you need to get things done, and hate to be idle, but please be careful! Those blocks of Annett’s are delightful.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m especially grateful for Annett’s blocks, knowing that she’s not in good shape herself. I promise to try and be careful and take it easy. My back will let me know when it’s time to slow down, quite emphatically.

  5. Lovely plates. I used your templates for mine, but must have done something wrong, as the middle pokes up and it took far more pieces to join together. It is also very big! Back to the drawing board….

    I hope your flight is not too uncomfortable and that all goes well in Brisbane.
    lots of love,
    ViV

  6. norma says:

    Love the teal blocks.

  7. knettycraft says:

    Thank you Kate for presenting the blocks…. I used a Dresden plate ruler, joined the pieces with my sewing machine and did the center and apliqueing the plate on the background by hand. I would love making one with rounded edges…. I suppose it must be with EPP then?
    Be careful with your health Kate… fingers crossed for Tuesday!

    • katechiconi says:

      You can make Dresden Plate blades with a rounded top this way: Make a thin card template. Cut sheets of aluminium foil about twice the size of the template, as many sheets as you have blades. Cut your fabric round the template with a generous seam allowance. Place the fabric right side down on the foil, centre the card template on the fabric, then fold the foil back over the edge tightly, doing the rounded edge last. Fold it over a little at a time to ensure you have a smooth curve. Holding the template by the excess foil folded to the back, place the flat face of the foil on a dry iron and hold it there for a few moments. Let the piece cool, then carefully unwrap the foil. You should have a nicely pressed edge all round your card template. Remove the card, press again and appliqué the piece down. The card can be re-used, the foil probably not.

  8. nanacathy2 says:

    The very very best of luck! Keep busy and occupied and just do what you can. Xx

  9. Grannymar says:

    I’m running late, got stuck into a project and lost all sense of time. I have decided to light the candle first thing on Monday and leave it flickering right through to Tuesday Night. Each time I see it will be a reminder to think about you. I so wish I could travel with you for moral support, the thoughts and prayers will have to do long distance!

    • katechiconi says:

      That should take me safely through Monday afternoon’s Xrays and MRI, a night’s sleep and then my Tuesday 10.30am appointment. The Husband is miserable not to be going, but if it turns out I’m staying, he’ll get leave somehow and come down to be with me. And in any case, I’m not alone, I have dozens of friends thinking about me, hard!

  10. Lynda says:

    Sending this ❤ ❤ ❤ and a prayer for good results this coming week! I'd send you dresdens too, but I am afraid they would arrive far to late to be of any good to the cause. It takes an age to get there from here.

  11. rutigt says:

    So nice that you have friends that help you to sew blocks!!! Sorry I can´t help you more than I have. Just praying.

    • katechiconi says:

      Gun, there’s no need to be sorry. It’s all voluntary. I have already received far more blocks than I expected, and still plan to finish this quilt in time, even with all the problems with my back, mainly because I’ve had so much help.

Leave a Reply

