A little holiday….

I may be taking a short break next week.

T2 Sagittal Mid Line

A new picture for you, after the CT scan I showed before. This is a much more detailed MRI image from the middle of my spinal cord, taken from the side. Click on it for a bigger version.

At the top, it’s more than 20mm wide. Down at the bottom, where you see the narrowing, it’s less than 10mm. That is Not Good.

I’m seeing a surgeon in Brisbane, nearly 1,000km south of here, on Tuesday. At that point he’ll decide whether I can go home and wait for my name to come up on his surgery list in due course, or if I get whipped in straight away for something urgent. My pain meds have been tripled. It’s helping, but I don’t know how long the new dose will last before the Big pain breaks through again. It’s great that something is happening, and quickly. It’s stressful that I don’t know exactly what, and when, or for how long.

While I wait for my appointment to come round, I’ll be trying to distract myself with something nice.

I know!  How about testing my Time for Teal Cake recipe? I’ll keep you posted… and then I get to eat cake!

 

65 thoughts on “A little holiday….

  1. Robin Murphy says:

    Take care Kate, I will be thinking of you on Tuesday. I have cut out a couple of dresden plates and will be putting them together on the weekend.

  2. claire93 says:

    good luck Kate, we’ll all be thinking of you.
    Are you flying to Brisbane, for more comfort?

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I’ll be flying. If I do end up having something done, I won’t be allowed to sit in a car for the 2 days it’ll take to drive home. It’s got to be the plane.

  3. I hope you’ll soon be helped ! A 1000 km is a long drive for a hospital !!
    Good luck with your operation !

    • katechiconi says:

      I won’t drive, I will fly. It will only take about an hour and a half, and I can manage that, but I couldn’t sit in a car for 2 days… I have to travel to where the right surgeon is, for the best result.

  4. knettycraft says:

    Oh Kate! I hope you get well after it…. I wish it for you so badly!!! I finished your F2F blocks and I’m working on the second dresden plate today so I’m going to send it tomorrow. Of course it will take its time (to Nanette it was a three week journey last month. But I’ll send pictures tomorrow.
    Crossing my fingers for you! xx

    • katechiconi says:

      How wonderful! A lovely squishy parcel to look forward to!
      I’m confident that whatever the surgeon decides will be for the best, and I have great hopes of being pain free soon.

  5. Kathy D says:

    I sort of lurk on your site, enjoying the beautiful work. I will pray for you and for the surgeons. Good luck Kate!

    • katechiconi says:

      Lurk away to your heart’s content, and do feel free to comment – I LOVE comments! I do appreciate everyone’s good wishes, prayers, positive thoughts and genuine goodwill, and live in hope of a good and pain free outcome to the surgery.

  6. Jen says:

    so sorry to hear that – will be thinking of you! Glad you are in safe hands and someone is looking out for you xxx big hugs xxx

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s all slightly scary, but annoying that no one will tell me what’s going to happen – mainly because they can’t! It will all be decided by Tuesday afternoon, and then I’ll know what’s happening 🙂 xxx Hugs always welcome xxx

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    Poor poor darling. Very very best of luck.

    • katechiconi says:

      Actually feeling quite cheerful right this minute – the new dosage of the nerve pain drugs is doing its stuff 🙂 I’d forgotten what it felt like not to hurt!

  8. Jule says:

    Hugs (gentle ones), I’ll be thinking of you on Tuesday. ❤️ Good luck 🍀 and enjoy the cake 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much, I do appreciate all the wonderful good wishes. If the cake works out and looks OK, I’ll do a post – a teal-frosted cake to add to the teaparty 🙂

  9. dayphoto says:

    Oh, my dear and special friend! Fingers and toes crossed that the solution will be found and quickly! I wish I could go with you and sit in the lobby to hold your hand. Although, I know you will have your Dear Hubby there, which is ever so much better.

    Gentle hugs to you!
    Linda

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly, Himself will not be coming on this trip unless they keep me down there as an urgent case. We’re saving that for the (hopefully) scheduled surgery in the near future, which is the ideal scenario. What I really want is a cast-iron, guaranteed fix, but that tends to involve the full-bore surgery, and I’m not keen on being in hospital for 4 days and then stuck in Brisbane for another week or so before I’m allowed to travel. I will hold your hand in my mind while I’m waiting 🙂

  10. Sending gentle hugs along with wishes for perfect healing.

  11. Magpie Sue says:

    Personally, I’m hoping he takes you in for surgery right away. You’ll be out of pain and functioning that much sooner and you won’t have to make that long journey twice. You know I’m holding prayers for the best outcome in my heart for you.

    • katechiconi says:

      A quick fix would be good, but I’d be without the Husband, who can’t come down this trip. We’re saving that for the eventuality that surgery is less urgent and will be scheduled. I’m praying myself that Someone will guide the surgeon’s hand and mind and all will be well.

  12. Wendy from NY says:

    Best of luck on the outcome, I’ll be praying for you on Tuesday. Safe travels…

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! So kind… I will be wafted there and back in total safety on the wings of everyone’s good wishes and prayers. Nothing at all could possibly go wrong 🙂

  13. tialys says:

    It doesn’t sound like much of a holiday to me 😦 However, I know it’s one you need to take. Here’s hoping for the best possible outcome.

  14. I do hope they don’t send you home to wait. Having travelled all that way, the least they can do is treat you quickly. Bon courage,
    love,
    ViV xox

    • katechiconi says:

      I think I’d rather have some time to think and prepare, rather than be hustled straight in and operated on. A moderate delay would also imply the possible damage is less, wouldn’t you say? And if I go back, I can take the Husband with me next time; he has to work on this visit.

  15. lucyannluna says:

    Take care & good luck. Will be thinking of you

  16. My word Kate, this is a lot to take in. i do hope the doc can help you quickly and get rid of that pain. I wish I could gently hug you!
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      I am being enveloped by virtual hugs from all sides, and it’s lovely. I know he can’t fix me completely, the problem is degenerative, but a big reduction in the pain would be amazing!

  17. Can’t like this one! Ow ow ow. Yes, you are going to have to have surgery it seems! Before 10mm becomes nothing. Very Not Good.
    But as always, super awesome to see the MRI! Thanks 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a really good one, too, they have a 3-Tesla MRI scanner, which makes fabulously detailed and crisp images. Geek alert! The only downside is that you can see exactly how pinched the nerves are at that point, and it brings home very clearly that not getting something done is not an option.

  18. Good luck Kate. Friends all around the world are willing the surgeon do do his best and soon. Take care 🙂

  19. Grannymar says:

    1,000km is a long way to travel with or without pain. My candle is at the ready again both for you and a steady handed surgeon. Like Viv, I hope they do not send you home to wait in pain. Healing hugs in the meantime. xx

    • katechiconi says:

      It is a long way, but it’s where the right surgeon for the job happens to be, so I’m travelling willingly. The flight is nearly 2 hours, but I can cope with that, and I’ll ask for one of those golf cart transports at the other end; Brisbane airport is big! Personally, I’d prefer the delay. I want time to think about what’s happening, and I want to have the Husband with me – he can’t come on this trip.

  20. Lynda says:

    Just so you know, I only clicked the like button because of the cake… and the possibility that the surgeon can help your pain. ❤

    • katechiconi says:

      Like can also mean that you empathise, I suppose! I’ve had a day from the upper regions of hell (bad, but not the worst), and no cake happened. And now I’m too tired and sore to bake. Hopefully, tomorrow…

      • Lynda says:

        I’m sorry. Rest up and tackle cake tomorrow. Then tell us about the cake! 😉

      • katechiconi says:

        Cake is baked, resting again before I tackle the buttercream peppermint frosting. Look out for a post later!

      • Lynda says:

        Ooops! I hit the send button before I was done… let me know the color scheme for the next one and I will get right on it. And, because I wasn’t paying close attention to the particulars, are they 12″ finished blocks? :)))

      • katechiconi says:

        See my previous reply, and yes, the size is 12″ finished, 12.5″ untrimmed. It’s a decent size to get a design onto, and it makes the quilt go faster. And just for you, ahead of schedule, I’m announcing the theme for the next one is ‘Tealed with a Kiss’, and all the blocks are to feature an X in some form, whether it’s pieced or appliqué, several on one block or just one big one. I’m hoping for a huge range of layouts and sizes and variations on the colour.

      • Lynda says:

        How fun! Shopping for teal this week…

  21. That photo sent chills up my spine! I have never seen anything like it and am amazed that you are sitting or walking at all. A lot of expletives came to mind but I’ll keep them to myself. I will pray for the best result whatever that may be. You will be in my thoughts and prayers until you are well again. Going alone has to be the hardest part other than the uncertainty. You have many wishing you well. That will count for a great deal. Giant tender hugs. Marlene

    • katechiconi says:

      It does indeed count for a very great deal… I have to tell you my reaction was pretty salty too. Some of the ‘salami slice’ views are a bit scary too…. Hugs gratefully accepted, from your heart to mine!

  22. norma says:

    Take care and hope you’re well soon.

  23. EllaDee says:

    Hmmm, so you got to talk to someone… it’s good you’re getting in for an assessment quickly. Only a few more days and you’ll have a plan.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes indeed! I had a half-hour interrogation over the phone while she took a full history, and on the basis of what I told her, she ‘triaged’ me into an urgent appointment on Tuesday. I hit the deck running (well, OK, hobbling) on Monday morning for my flight, check in to hotel, down to hospital for scans, back to hotel, eat, sleep up for appointment, paperwork, physical tests, examining the scans, and eventually…. a decision. Then I have to find a quiet spot and try and book myself a flight home, assuming he hasn’t whipped me in, which is a possibility. I will be very, very tired by the time I get home….

  24. NikkiM says:

    Always in my thoughts. Love Nikki

  25. Debbierose says:

    Take care, stay positive. Prayers & hugs to you Kate

  26. Oh that does look frightening. I’m reading this on Monday, so you’ll be there tomorrow. Sending positive thoughts for safe and smooth travel, and a plan of action that will take care of you quickly!

  27. pattisj says:

    Hoping for a good report for you, Kate.

Leave a Reply

