Time for Teal part 9

Here are the last two blocks for the centre of the ‘tea table’.

I had a couple of appliqué days, and tried a new (to me) process. Normally, I fuse my piece to the background and then stitch round it. But this adds an extra layer of thickness and stiffens the appliqué section. With the block below, it would have meant 8 layers on top of the background, and the design area would have been quite rigid.

Kate's mug and plate stack

Instead, I used tear-away stabiliser. I laid down all the elements in order on the background, one on top of the other. Behind the light area, I pinned a piece of stabiliser. Then I basted through all the layers, around all the shapes. Next came a small, narrow blanket stitch around all the shapes. Finally, I removed the basting, and on the reverse, carefully removed the stabiliser and snipped away all the excess fabric behind each shape.  Each of those elements has just one layer of fabric, and the block is still nice and flexible. The basting held the pieces in place, and the stabiliser prevented the rucking and channelling you get under the edge stitching when there’s nothing behind it.

Kate's teacups and doiley

I used the same process for this block, but the embroidery stitch around the edge of the ‘doiley’ kept trying to chew up the fabric, and I was lucky to be able to hide a dodgy patch behind one of the cups. If I use this stitch again in appliqué I may use fusible instead, and then the fabric won’t shift at all.

Finishing these last two blocks means that I now have the final arrangement sorted out. Voilà! Tea and cake, anyone…?

Tea Table Centre

Next job is to sandwich each block and quilt it, and then join them. These central blocks will have a pale cream/beige lightly patterned narrow sashing to try and give visual unity, although it’s a bit tricky given the range of background colours! Never mind, I’m sure it’s going to be amazing whatever I do, the blocks are all so lovely.

After that, it’s time to move onto Dresdens. Some more of you have volunteered to produce a block or two, which will be greatly appreciated now that I have to unfortunately ration my time at the sewing machine. I need 7 small (8 inch) and 5 large (10 inch) Dresden blocks, on a light background. I have a whole heap of fabulous scraps. Noooooo problem! After that, it’ll be the outer border, and another 21 blocks needed. I have a fair number of paper piecing blocks sorted out, and I’ll intersperse those with simpler pieced designs. We’re looking good!

Right, back to the sofa to unkink the back. I never thought I’d get bored with sofa-lounging. How times change!

55 thoughts on “Time for Teal part 9

  1. With all this quilting going on, I take it you aren’t also being the Baking Queen?

    • katechiconi says:

      Nope. Business is very quiet, and given the state of my back and the fact that I can’t stand for more than 5 minutes at a time, I’m not chasing after it. I am, of course, baking for us, something quick and easy. Think brownies, peanut butter cookies… I do have plans for a Time for Teal cake, though…. I’ll definitely post about that one!

  2. claire93 says:

    those blocks are all fabulous!!!

  3. A wonderful collection. I thought last week’s intervention was supposed to make your back better? Or did they tell you it would take time? Do you have any physiotherapy?

    I’m about to start joining my Dresden Plate wedges.
    love,
    ViV

    • katechiconi says:

      ‘Supposed’ is the word, Viv. The root nerve injections have achieved zero, nada, zilch. The pain continues, and continues to escalate. The doctor has said it’s too late for physiotherapy to fix it, but I have two exercise programs, one for water, one for home, which strengthen my core without any additional stress. I foresee a teeny weeny spot of surgery on the horizon… And yes, naturally, I’ve done obsessive amounts of research.

      • Oh poor Kate, I am so sorry you were put through all that for nothing. But I suppose it was worth a try?

      • katechiconi says:

        Definitely! But I can’t see what else we can try; all conservative treatments are now exhausted. If it must be surgery, I’d like the least invasive, rather than the newest, shiniest procedure and mountains of hardware. But I suppose that’s the surgeon’s call…

      • Indubitably. I put off the suggested pacemaker for ages and several heart attacks later, I had to give in to the inevitable, wishing I’d given in the first time it was proposed.

      • katechiconi says:

        That’s exactly why I’m preparing myself mentally and emotionally for the probability. There’s solid research that says women either defer or are not offered necessary treatment as early as men, with the inevitable result that their outcomes are not as good.
        Anyway, enough health stuff. I hope you’re enjoying the tea party so far!

      • I love tea parties, specially yours! My plate is half made. Do you want me to quilt it? If so, what batting are you using?

      • katechiconi says:

        Don’t worry about the quilting, I’m going to use the same fabric for all the backs, to keep it nice and simple, and the quilting will be very simple and probably straight lines in some form. I’m thinking a central diamond, with radiating parallel lines.
        As for the tea-party, just wait till I post my Time for Teal cake! I have to wait for a good morning without too much pain so I can stand for a while to make it, but I’ll get it done soon. GF, of course, but hopefully still delicious!

  4. norma says:

    Looks lovely! I like your method of getting rid of the bulk.

    • katechiconi says:

      Fiddly and time consuming, but definitely so worth it if you’re going to have a multi-layer appliqué. You do need a good sharp pair of small scissors, though; it’s an exercise in frustration if the tips are blunt.

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    So sorry to hear you are still in pain. I love the time for teal blocks. I would like to thank you and all your fellow quilters for inspiring me to engage with my fabric stash. You are amazing.

  6. rutigt says:

    It is gorgeous!!!! The cake and the teapots and all of it!! I really like this teal color. In Sweden we don´t have one good word for the color and that makes it disappear. You just think of blue, turquoise, blue-green and when mixing all those color, the teal color got lost somehow.

    • katechiconi says:

      The colour is named after the duck, which has a head this colour. The Latin name is Anas crecca, if you want to look up. It makes remembering the colour and name together easy.
      The tea table is looking fun, isn’t it? Beige sashing between the blocks, and teal sashing round the outside before I add the dresden plate border.

  7. M. L. Kappa says:

    Absolutely stunning!

  8. Kim says:

    The blocks are so pretty. It’s going to be a great quilt. You mentioned the sashing. Light grey entered my mind as a possible…wouldn’t be any clashes and wouldn’t stand out too much, but just enough. Just a thought. I’m so sorry the shots did not work.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s definitely another possibility, but there are a lot of warm creams and beiges there already, so beige seemed a good choice. I’ll have to audition some fabrics!

  9. I LOVE it already !!!

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    Yup, this is going to be another stunning quilt. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope so, because it means it may raise a good price at the charity auction! I’m so proud of how kind and generous all the contributors have been, so they deserve loads of the credit.

  11. Those blocks are amazing and I’m amazed you are continuing to work on them with your back in so much pain. I hope they find a way to ease the pain soon. Being a couch potato is not all it’s cracked up to be. Of course, that’s when I started blogging. Couldn’t do anything else. 🙂 Look what I’ve got myself into from it. 🙂 The virtual community helps keep your sanity when you are infirmed. Hugs,

    • katechiconi says:

      I do everything in 5s now. Work for 5, stop for 5, stand for 5, sit for 5, walk for 5, rest for 5. And you’re right, some of the outright best support I’ve had in my situation has been from the blogging community.

  12. Debbierose says:

    Scrum-diddly-umptious I’m in love with this quilt, its amazing

    • katechiconi says:

      It will be so good to be able to give the Ovarian Cancer people something lovely to help raise funds, and if I’m going to make a regular thing of it, I should kick off with an amazing one, don’t you think?

  13. Grannymar says:

    I glanced at this post on my phone yesterday – I was not at home. So glad I waited to see it properly on the big screen. Love, love, the colours and the table is looking wonderful already.

  14. This will be another fabulous creation! Love the teal, and seeing how blocks from different quilters can come together so agreeably.
    So sorry to hear about your back. Sending good healing thoughts your way.

    • katechiconi says:

      Sorry to take so long replying; in its infinite wisdom WP put you in my spam folder, from where you have just been rescued. No idea why, previous comments have come through without problems. I too love how everyone’s blocks work so well together despite their widely different sources, it gives me great hope for the finished quilt 🙂

  15. Lynda says:

    This is spectacular, Kate! I really love how it has all come together.

  16. Girl, this is awesomess served as cake!
    Hugs,
    Esther

Leave a Reply

