SAL 29: More top border

Lots of stitching has occurred, mainly due to the large amount of time I’ve spent squirming uncomfortably on the sofa, trying to find a position where my back didn’t hurt.

There’s a lot of counting in this pattern, and the general effect doesn’t necessarily reflect how long I’ve spent on it – and that’s not including the unpicking and re-doing bits! Here’s where we were 3 weeks ago. You don’t get a good sense of the pattern repeat at the top yet:

Blue sampler 2

And here’s where we are now – that’s better!:

Blue sampler top border progress

Another flower, another cross and another half flower and this particular border will be done. Then, there’s the simply fiendish border pattern down the right hand side…

As always, it’s worth your while visiting the other SAL stitchers, even if they’re not posting progress today. Don’t forget about the difference in time zones; if you’re seeing me first, you may need to drop in to theirs a bit later to give them a chance to get their posts up.

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com
Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com
Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com
Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com
Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk
Lucy at https://lucyannluna.wordpress.com
Jess at https://everthecrafter.wordpress.com
Sue at http://sewingmagpie.blogspot.com
Constanze at https://textiledreamer.wordpress.com
DebbieRose at https://sewrosey.wordpress.com

Next SAL is due 12th June. See you then.

36 thoughts on “SAL 29: More top border

  1. lucyannluna says:

    Looking good, great progress

  2. so pretty, but i can’t imagine it’s in any way comfortable for you to do this right now? How much longer before you are without pain?

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s less uncomfortable than sitting at the sewing machine or standing – anywhere! The back news is not great; the steroid shots have had absolutely no effect after nearly 2 weeks. Seeing the doc on Thursday about where we go next.

      • Oh. I’m sorry to hear this. I was under the impression that you were practically pain-free 😦 😦 Look after yourself, Kate xxx

      • katechiconi says:

        The first day was great, while the local anaesthetic was still working. I was under orders to take it very easy, and did. Net result: little pain. But as I started to move around again, it was clear the problem wasn’t going away. I’m back to square one or perhaps a little worse; it seems to be progressive. We opened the image files on my MRI disk last night and it’s really obvious and a little frightening how badly the nerves are getting pinched. Bring on Thursday and the next step in the journey.

      • Oh no! I want a magic wand to wave in your direction with the exact right spell to heal you completely.

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ll settle for a surgeon I like and trust, a rongeur (love that name!) and some small and precisely positioned pieces of titanium. After lots of reading, I’m pretty sure I don’t want the latest whizz-bang solution, but something tried and trusted with solid follow-up data and good outcome percentages.

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    Oh my I love that border, it’s coming on great. Sadly I didn’t manage a single cross on the flower fairy this time so withdrew from the Sal, but I will be back as everyone is so wonderfully supportive and encouraging. Good luck and so hoping you are getting better.

  4. That border is gorgeous. I wish you had better news for us about your poor back.

  5. claire93 says:

    there’s something so therapeutic about stitching this kind of design, and I love the dark blue on white

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s lovely and crisp and clean, and the complicated geometry and shapes really appeal to my mind. It’s good therapy right now too, as it takes my mind off other things 🙂

  6. Magpie Sue says:

    Will the right side border be a duplicate of the left one? I’m glad you’re enjoying this, it’s not what I would choose for fun! I’m sorry your back isn’t feeling better by now. Has it really been two weeks already?

    • katechiconi says:

      No, it’s different – and quite difficult. I enjoy this kind of work as a sort of mental Sudoku. It’s calming, distracting and produces a pretty end result!

  7. It looks beautiful both close up and further away. I love the colour choice 🙂

  8. Debbierose says:

    Well done, stitching can be very therapeutic

  9. Wendy says:

    Looking good, some good progress there! It’s interesting the different approaches we take to cross stitch. You’ve started with a border, claire started at the bottom and i start in the centre

    • katechiconi says:

      Once this piece develops a bit further, you’ll see why I chose to go that way! On previous samplers I’ve worked quarter by quarter, my favourite process, but the patterns are complex on this one, and miscounted stitches would mean the whole thing would fall apart in the middle.

  10. rutigt says:

    So exciting to see how this embroidery is gonna end up! 🙂

  11. Carole says:

    Lots of progress there and it looks brilliant.

    • katechiconi says:

      I love the pattern of the top border, it’s been a pleasure to stitch – apart from one point where I had to rip back a whole inch because I’d made a mistake…

  12. Very very pretty! Sending you healing hugs.
    Esther

Leave a Reply

