The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook # 5

After Anne, who made it, I’m honoured to be first on the list to make a mark on the pristine pages of the Travelling Sketchbook.

If you’re not familiar with this project, I recommend you hope over to Anne Lawson’s blog and look at how it all came to be, links here:

the-sisterhood-of-the-travelling-sketchbook#1
the-sisterhood-of-the-travelling-sketchbook#2
the-sisterhood-of-the-travelling-sketchbook#3
the-sisterhood-of-the-travelling-sketchbook#4

It’s been a rough week or two for me health-wise as some of you will already know, but I’ve finally finished my entry, and here it is. Click on the photo for a larger, and enlargeable, image.

Kate Sketchbook page

A stitched image in fabric, a bit of loopy hand lettering and a sorta, kinda poem. The sewn fabric piece is the hardest bit of foundation paper piecing I’ve ever made, but knowing how fond Anne is of feathers, it was a challenge that just had to be met…. I’m not totally in love with the lettering, but sometimes you just have to commit to getting something down on paper, don’t you? And I like the words… Actually, I’m not even sure which way the page should go, landscape or portrait.  I think I prefer portrait for the feather, but then the words are on their sides. You decide for yourselves which is better.

The Travelling Sketchbook is even now on its way to Sandra (Lady Red Specs – see the link below), so remember to check her blog to see what she’s going to add. I can’t wait to find out – the additions are going to be widely varied and fascinating. I’m going to save myself the trouble by Following the lot of you!

Below is the list of participants and links to them, so you can keep track. Maybe later participants could save a bit of time by cutting and pasting the info? You can track its progress on an interactive map miraculously conjured up by Chas Spain, here.

and finally, back to Anne herself in Melbourne, Australia

The Sketchbook's route The Sketchbook's globetrotting

There is an envelope containing the Sister-hood list with contact info and addresses in the back of the Sketchbook, so do make sure if you’re a contributor that this travels along too. Anne has also made a map where we can record the Sketchbook’s travels, and I hope the others will also update and show this when they publish their contributions, in addition to following Chas Spain’s proposed interactive version (for more on that, jump over here and read up on what she’s planning – it’ll be awesome!).

If anyone reading this would like to join in, please contact Anne about it via any of the blog posts listed at the top – we may need to either add more pages or start Volume II…

So far, the Sisterhood is living up to its name, but the odd Brother would be welcome too, I’m sure….

Update: I’ve now added a Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook page to this blog, which records the background, the story, and the additions, page by page, as they are made. You’ll find it in the bar at the left, under the More Information heading.

54 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook # 5

  1. Debbierose says:

    Gorgeous as always Kate

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much! Do keep an eye on its progress, I can’t help feeling there are going to be some really beautiful things happening between its covers….

  2. Magpie Sue says:

    You set the bar pretty high m’dear! And for heaven’s sake, “finally finished my entry?!” You have’t had the sketchbook that long!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d had my paws on it for 10 days, and had been thinking about what to make for it ever since Anne and I first discussed the idea, way back when. That feels fairly ‘finally’ from my point of view, although I see what you mean 🙂 There’s no rush, and no deadline, so we should all take as long as we need.

    • anne54 says:

      That was my reaction too, Sue! And Kate has had her other issues to deal with. I think we are in the presence of Wonder Woman!

      • katechiconi says:

        No way! As I said to Sue, I’d had a lot of time to think about it, I found the feather pattern I wanted, and the words just followed….

  3. M. L. Kappa says:

    This is lovely! And what an interesting concept! I’ll check it out. X Marina

  4. EllaDee says:

    Lovely contribution, quintessential Kate ☺

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I think it probably is…! I wanted something colourful and pretty for when you open the cover, and the sewing was a real challenge to my technical skills, so I’m mostly pretty happy with it.

  5. tialys says:

    Yes! Beautiful! Both you and Anne have set the bar very high but at least I have a little while yet until it reaches France so I can have a think about what to add. I wish I could do loopy writing or any writing that didn’t look like a crazed doctor’s prescription. I keep meaning to have a go at calligraphy. One day…..

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m quite glad it’s not going from stitcher to stitcher, so that there will be an interesting spread of contributed material. I’m hoping for words and images, some of the papers would be brilliant for paper cut designs, something fantastic and fold-out, journalling. I wish we could have pressed flowers, but I think AQIS would go bonkers over that when it has to come back through Australian quarantine… Well, you get the idea.

  6. what a wonderful project 🙂
    and your page is exquisite. Isn’t it amazing, when we put our minds to something, that we can all produce something beautiful and different? ❤

    • katechiconi says:

      The variety is going to be one of the most fascinating and enthralling parts of this project. It’ll be a real treasure by the time it’s completed its journey. I’m glad you like the page – Anne loves feathers of all kinds, so it seemed an obvious choice, and the words just arrived in my head!

  7. Your feather is beautiful, as is the expert calligraphy. By the time it gets to me I shall be thoroughly humbled and too scared to add anything!

    • katechiconi says:

      Viv, enough nonsense! You will create an exquisite haiku or some other exotic poetry form, with your usual acute observations on life, creativity and the world around us. And we will all love it.

  8. nanacathy2 says:

    I love the blue feather. I bet it was hard to do. The words are lovely too. I shall have a good look at the whole project later when I am on the computer.

    • katechiconi says:

      Keep a note of the list of participants – there’s no one home for the Sketchbook, and it will flutter its pages from one country and one continent to another. This post gives the current order in which we add material, so you’ll be able to see where it’s due next, and hopefully Chas’ map will give us a more visual representation when it’s done (a big job, so it may take a little time).
      The feather was, I agree, tricky, but I love its brilliance and angularity. One day, I may attempt it again 🙂

  9. knettycraft says:

    What a lovely project.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s going to be beautiful, and such a wonderful book when all the contributions are in it. It’s gone from a vague idea, to “wouldn’t it be fun…?” to actually happening, and I’m so glad it’s finally begun!

  10. craftycreeky says:

    Love your feather, I tried foundation paper piecing for the first time this year, took me ages to get my head round it! Your calligraphy’s beautiful as well, I’m still deciding what to do 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I know what you mean about paper piecing, but there are tricks and techniques you can use to save yourself problems. Would you like me to email you a tutorial I made a while ago – it’s so worth building the skill?

  11. rutigt says:

    It´s a great idea and your contribution is perfect! Glad I´m not participating though 🙂

  12. Chas Spain says:

    Fantastic and beautifully creative Kate – wow. I am so excited that I’ll be able to see the work when it comes my way and see how you have constructed it.

    • katechiconi says:

      All the messy seams are hidden on the back (it’s stuck down), but at least you’ll be able to see just how many seams there were! On its own, it’s just a pretty piece of sewing and some words, but as part of a collection of creativity, it has something to contribute, I think!

      • Chas Spain says:

        You’ve made a real start – I am going to have to go out and buy some extra creative juice

      • katechiconi says:

        Personally, I’m running on a mixture of inspiration, hopelessly ambitious planning, a certain amount of skill and generous doses of dexamethazone, oxycodone and pregabalin. I don’t recommend it… maybe some absinthe instead? 🙂

  13. Beautiful project 😊💐🌹👍👌☺️

  14. Gerlinde says:

    Touching and beautiful!

  15. lucyannluna says:

    Love the feather. I will have to think carefully about my own creation.

  16. I’m useless – but my best friend in America would be right into this! Can I send her this way?

    • katechiconi says:

      Sure! And if she wants to join in, and Anne thinks there are enough pages…
      If not, there may well be another Travelling Sketchbook once this one finishes its rounds.

  17. ladyredspecs says:

    Wow, you’re feather is fabulous Kate! Now I know the sketchbook is on the way I’m trying to pull my ideas into a worthy inclusion. I think it will take me a bit longer than 10 days…..

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s no deadline! Give yourself time to think. I’m still a little iffy about my calligraphy, and wish I’d tinkered a bit more, but I wanted to get the Sketchbook on its way.

  18. Grannymar says:

    Kate, I am now up to speed on this marvellous project, and left the following comment on Anne’s blog:

    A world Tour for The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook, when completed! You’ll make the Guinness Book of Records yet!

  19. anne54 says:

    Kate, it is a stunning first entry. I am touched that you wanted to create a feather, and in that intense blue.Seeing your contribution makes the sketchbook real! x x

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m glad you’re pleased with it! I was trying for something natural but brilliant in the feather colours; we have such beautiful birds up here, and that feather wouldn’t look out of place on the ground under my bird table! I’m honoured to have kicked off the process, and excited to see what comes next 🙂

  20. anne54 says:

    Reblogged this on Anne Lawson and commented:
    The Travelling Sketchbook has left Northern Queensland to head a little further south. Jump over to Kate’s blog to see her stunning contribution to the Sketchbook. Would you believe that she has created a feather?

  21. […] the Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook a couple of months back on Kate Chiconi’s blog, Tall Tales from Chiconia, it’s a great idea thought up by Anne Lawson, an amazing artist from Australia. Anne has […]

  22. A quilted feather! Oh my goodness, this is stunningly clever of you. I love what you’ve done and the spirit behind it. I will go check our your page as well. Nicely done all around. Alys

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so glad you like it! Anne’s love of feathers is legendary, so it seemed very appropriate. It’s fun waiting to see what everyone else is going to do; I think there will be a brilliant diversity.

      • It is fun. I love the idea of this traveling notebook and a sisterhood. I saw a huge feather tacked up to a bulletin board at the trail head last week, just before a hike. I thought of Anne immediately.

        Your quilted feather is really something.

      • katechiconi says:

        The pattern is by Anne Sullivan @ Playcrafts, bu the colour choices and the execution are all mine. I’m glad you like it. I’ve just added Sandra’s image to my Sisterhood page – I think the finished thing will be sensational, and I want my own record of it!

Leave a Reply

