Foot²Freestyle: May progress report

It’s that time of the month again, when the blog posts come thick and fast, and now it’s time for the final progress report of our first Foot²Freestyle year.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmIt’s lovely, but also a bit sad, to remind you that for some of you this will be the last nag/ reminder/ encouragement I’ll be issuing for F²F. Happily, though, others have enjoyed it enough or have time enough to join us for the next session, although the group will be a little smaller, and the quilts too… For some, that may not be a problem; you do end up with a very substantial quilt if you use all the 36 blocks that result from F²F, and something a bit smaller and more manageable may well be preferable. We now have three completed quilts showing in the gallery, Pat’s, Avis’ and now our latest, Lynn’s. All three show just how amazing these beautiful sampler quilts can be, how such varied work and small variation in colour can make the whole really come to life.  I know that Sue is hot on the heels of Lynn’s finish, and by the end of the month, I hope we’ll have hers on display too.

Now that it’s my month, I’ve been overjoyed with how beautiful the May blocks I’ve been sent have been. And you’ve all done so well – halfway through the month there are only 5 sets outstanding – one of which is my own! Pretty impressive for the end of a year-long block swap, and I’m so grateful :-). Please don’t hesitate to send in photos as soon as you’ve mailed the blocks; I find the excitement of actually receiving the squishy entirely makes up for the slight lack of surprise about the content!

I hope those of you who are giving your time and attention to other projects over the coming months will still find time to drop in at F²F‘s new home, look at our colour choices and check out what’s going on in the gallery. I’ll still do my progress and roundup reports here, but the gallery will now be situated at the purpose built F²F blog, and I’ll provide a link for easy click-through. We have an amazingly vivid and varied set of colour schemes going on, and I fully expect some of the new quilts to be sensational!

 

14 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: May progress report

  1. Bon courage F2F2-ers. I am too much of a wimp to join in, but really enjoy your updates, Kate.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s OK, you’re playing with the Travelling Sketchbook project, you can’t take it all on! Perhaps another time we’ll do something smaller and quicker, and you’ll feel you have the time and energy to give to it.

  2. norma says:

    Enjoyed going through the gallery.

  3. tialys says:

    Your quilt – like all the others – looks like it’s going to be fabulous. I’ve really enjoyed the process and it’s definitely made me learn to love patchwork again. I’m learning new skills – hello paper piecing! – and getting through some of my stash (although, of course, I hade to buy just a little bit of new fabric 😉 ) plus I’ve ended up with an amazing quilt at the end of it.
    Thanks to you and Sue for organising us and for all your encouragement – I know sometimes it must have felt like herding cats – we couldn’t have done it without you and neither would we have wanted to.
    Hoorah for the next round – I’ve already made two or three blocks, I’m that keen 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      The Husband of Chiconia says you’re nearly as tragic as I am… But I don’t see him stopping me or rationing my fabric intake, so that great big smile on his face is a bit of a give-away. F2F has been a lot of fun along with the cat-herding, or I wouldn’t have stuck my hand up for another year. I have a steadily growing pile of *wonderful* black, white, grey and lime green blocks of all descriptions, and I think I’ll be doing narrow black sashing after all the QAYG is over. Whatever encouragement and help I’ve been able to offer has been very rewarding, but I do wish a few more of you out there would finish a couple more quilts – they look SO amazing when done! Esther, I’m looking at you!;-)

  4. claire93 says:

    it’s been a very motivating swap to follow. All ladies have produced some gorgeous blocks and seeing the finished quilts come together is really the icing on the cake

  5. Grannymar says:

    That was a feast for sore eyes today! I love the colours and each individual interpretation! Well done to all of you.

    • katechiconi says:

      F2F will be around for a while, even as the new version starts, so the gallery on the Chiconia blog will continue to be updated till that happens. It has been a splendid year of colourful creativity, and I look forward to more of the same next time!

  6. rutigt says:

    I can see the blocks are getting more and more advanced, the more you sew! They are all so great (said it before, haven´t I?). Soon it is our turn to be happy dancing!!!

Leave a Reply

