Time for Teal part 4

More squishy fun through the post, this time from the lovely Lynn. (Click on the image to enlarge.)

T4T collage 4

The top two are hers. Lynn, I hope you don’t mind, but I might add a narrow inner border on the cup and saucer block, which ‘float’ a little bit in the background. Something in teal, to pick up the colour of the stitching. And I love the fabrics in the Dresden Plate, which is especially welcome as I need loads of them!

I also got a couple of blocks done myself. ‘A couple’ might not seem that impressive, but these two were fiendish, and while I’m pleased with the result, I will probably never, ever be making them again! They are by Maartje Quilts in Amsterdam. It’s a lovely blog, and she has a fairly large library of free paper piecing patterns, but if I’d been in my right mind, I’d have printed them out at 200%. Making a 6 inch block that has about 45 pieces in it was not a good choice when I was so uncomfortable and in pain and not able to sit easily at my sewing machine! Actually, I’ll revise that. I’d like to try them again when I have a bit more time, my back isn’t screaming at me, and I’ll definitely print them out larger… Some of the pieces were tiny triangles only 1cm (about a third of an inch) on a side.

Next up on the sewing list is the gorgeous gateau on a cake stand and small cake plate and forks blocks from Esther. These two patterns are available *free* in her Craftsy store, along with many other beauties, some of which are free and others which are very much worth their very modest price. After that, I’ll make up another one of my own design for the teal ribbon block, which will feature on every Ovarian Cancer Quilt I make, and probably some hearts and stars for the border, and maybe a postage stamp or rail fence block or two.

I have a couple more teapot blocks and cup and saucer blocks in reserve to fill out the centre section, if necessary, but I probably need most of all to concentrate on Dresden plates; I only have about a third of the quantity I need.

I know there are at least two more squishies on the way with more blocks, so I’m not going to go mad till I see what I have.

34 thoughts on “Time for Teal part 4

  1. tialys says:

    I don’t mind at all – I sort of intended that one to be a bit of a ‘blank canvas’ for you to embellish or not depending on the quilt plan.
    I love your stacks of dishes and cups but I am not experienced enough with paper piecing to try those. I like the large gateau block of Esther’s which she says is not too difficult so I might give that a try next in my FPP adventures.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m getting quite good at PP, but there’s no way I’d recommend it to anyone who was not pretty experienced. I had to do a fair bit of unpicking…. Glad it’s done, think they look great, but not doing them again in a hurry. There’s lots of fun free stuff out there on Pinterest, and there’s nothing to beat the satisfaction of an immaculate PP block that comes together perfectly!

  2. claire93 says:

    oooh this tea party is going to be so much fun ^^

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s going to be a totally Mad Hatter’s party in the best possible way. Everything is coming up so pretty, and once all the blocks are quilted and sashed in teal, it’ll be smashing, I reckon!

  3. norma says:

    These are beautiful.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s going to be a good quilt, which makes me happy, because it’s such an important cause. And everyone is being so kind and helpful. Quilters really are the best and kindest people!

  4. Terrific progress. and I love the pile of plates – worth all the aggro!

  5. They’re beautiful. When you get the blocks I sent, if your back allows will you take pictures please. I took only one picture but am unable to find it. And, I’ve not yet figured out how to add a photo on my blog.
    What is SAL?

  6. I have promised a Dresden plate. It will happen as soon as I am through manic May. The colours look so lovely together.

  7. Debbierose says:

    Teal is a lush shade

  8. Gorgeous blocks! Just stunning. The colors and fabrics are all me.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think it’s going to be a special quilt for a very special cause when it’s done, and so many people have had a hand in it. I just hope I can keep up the momentum for next year!

  9. I am sure it will all work out, it always does! No?

  10. Wendy says:

    I love that stack of teacups!

    • katechiconi says:

      I love it now it’s done, but it was a total bugger to make! 4 sections, and each cup had about 15 pieces. Oh the relief when I finished the last bit and could put the borders on. Then, of course, I thought it was lovely too! 🙂

  11. Magpie Sue says:

    I wish I could commit to making one or more Dresden plates for you. I just know it wouldn’t be wise. There is a teal block on its’ way to you however. Hopefully it will fit in along the outside border…

    • katechiconi says:

      Sue, thank you for the kind thought, but your block is enough! This is my task to complete, and although I am so pleased and grateful for the help and kindness of others, I do not look to others to make all the blocks for me! Your border block will be fine in amongst a wide variety of styles and designs.

  12. rutigt says:

    I love the block with the cups wobbling. And thank you for the link to Maartje. I´ve been at her blog before, but forgot all about it 🙂 Now it´s time to make a new visit, I guess! More Paper piecing…….Yipppie 🙂

  13. I love looking at them but they are way over my head as yet. Maybe in a couple of years of practice. Something to look forward to. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Start with something much simpler to gain confidence 🙂 I have a bunch of simple, pretty pinwheels and stars and a fairly straightforward tutorial I could send you to try out?

      • Are you talking about paper piecing or applique? I’ve never done either. Once I get my new glasses next month, I’ll be able to get back to sewing again. It takes a month for they eye to heal and see properly again. Once the last of my outside projects are done and they are going along quickly, I can concentrate on all the sewing I have lined up. So anxious to see well again. Already better. I’ll ask for your recommendations any time. You are always so helpful. We need you here so keep getting better.

      • katechiconi says:

        I was talking about paper piecing, which used to scare the pants off me and is now often a first choice when deciding what block to make. It’s so lovely and precise. Appliqué for me is mostly raw edge, stitched down with machine blanket stitch at a small size. Turned edge appliqué…. well, I can do it, but for me it’s a case of ‘life’s too short’ :-). Let me know when you have your glasses and feel like trying something, and we can find something for you!

      • I should have the new glasses in 5 weeks. 3 more of healing then exam and ordering with a 2 week delivery is what is expected. By then, most of the outside work will be done and I can get back to fun stuff. Only have one tiny section of house left to paint and the kid has to help with the tall ladder. The rest will be holding parts as he saws and constructs stairs and railings then the skirting around the deck. The planter bed is on the list but should be relatively easy. Inspection starts in June and I want to be ready.

Leave a Reply

