The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook

My friend Anne, a talented and generous artists, has come up with a fun idea. Have a read and see if you’d like to join in. So far there are seven of us participating, but the more the merrier, and the more varied the input the more interesting and creative the outcome will be.
Sew, draw, paint, write, photograph, cook, collage…. make some kind of creative contribution and make this Travelling Sketchbook totally amazing!

If you’d like to see who’s participating, there’s a later post from Anne here.

Anne Lawson

Oh I do love a good idea, and this is one of the best! A travelling sketchbook!

Let me go back to the beginning….

A while ago I was inspired to make sketchbooks from odd bits and pieces of paper that I had drawn on, practised watercolour washes on, started paintings on and so on. I offered them to blogging friends and sent about half a dozen around the world. One was to Kate in Northern Queensland. (You can read more about the original idea here.)

Earlier this year Kate and I had a chance to meet up in Melbourne. When she got home she sent me back the sketchbook with delightful additions. This was one, and you can see all the pages in my post from earlier in the week.

IMG_4251

Though the comments in that post Kate came up with the brilliant idea of having a travelling…

View original post 281 more words

12 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook

  1. Fantastic project. I love your pages Kate.

  2. lucyannluna says:

    What a good idea, having a think about it. Your pages are great.

  3. A lovely idea. Count me in (I’ve emailed Anne)

  4. Great idea. I do draw but won’t join in because of postage. I am so far away and have spent a fortune lately at the local PO!

  5. tialys says:

    Am I surprised that you can draw and paint as well 😉
    I can’t but can do other things so have told Anne I can join in if she still want’s more people.

    • katechiconi says:

      She will! We’re hoping for maybe more people to join as we go along, once they see what other people have contributed. It’s less a Sketchbook than a Creative Notebook of Different Stuff, but that doesn’t exactly trip off the tongue…

Leave a Reply

