Foot²Freestyle: the start of something new

For the past 10 months and for the next two still to come, the F²F group has been creating something great.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmNot just three blocks from everyone for the month’s lucky member, but also building friendships and skills, developing new tastes, exploring new ideas, and showing that when a group of dedicated women put their minds to it, something amazing can be achieved.

On June 1st this year, F²F turns one year old. I say this because it’s continuing, not ending. Some of the existing members are stepping back, to pursue other avenues and concentrate on other pursuits. Others are staying on, to go round again. Still others are joining, having seen the fun from the sidelines and now wanting to have a share of it too! At the beginning, Sue and I said that if there was still interest, and if everyone was still having fun, we’d do it again – so we are! The same few rules apply, and so does the same freedom and lack of rules.

This time round, we have 9 members instead of 12, so the block swap will run from June 2016 until February 2017. It means a slightly smaller quilt, but also less commitment of time for the members, so there are advantages! This time we also have some fabulously bright and gorgeous colour schemes – I am so looking forward to working with the combinations selected :-). For an idea of what I’m talking about, take a look at the Members page on the new footsquarefreestyle blog. Until the new session starts in June, most of the action is taking place on that page, but I wanted anyone who enjoyed seeing this year’s swap in action to see what’s in store for the coming session.

And if you’re a member for the coming session and haven’t yet chosen your colours or visual reference, do let me have your ideas, so we can all go shopping!  I’ve been…..

My F2F year 2 colours

23 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: the start of something new

  1. claire93 says:

    looks like you’re ready for the second round, and you’re still waiting patiently for your first set of blocks ^^

  2. wow !! great colour combinations !!!

  3. tialys says:

    Aha! I can see you’ve done a bit of shopping for me – as well as yourself and some other fans of ‘the brights’. I’ve been shopping too – mostly online so far – as my stash appears to be distinctly lacking in bright colours. I saw Sandra yesterday and have her colours and will send you an email about them.

    • katechiconi says:

      I wasn’t sure if the golds in the roll were gold enough, or too bright, but I think you’ve answered my question! I’m going with very dark navy for myself; hopefully that’ll be OK for you too? I’ll keep a lookout for your email about Sandra’s colours.

      • tialys says:

        I think those golds are gold enough. When I said no bright yellows, I sort of had the lighter, sunny yellows in mind, if you know what I mean. Gold is good – as is that navy. I’m going to pack up your blocks today – together with two for the Teal Quilt – and hopefully in the post tomorrow. I won’t send you photos in advance, as we would do normally, as it will spoil the surprise that the rest of us have all enjoyed.

      • katechiconi says:

        I think you should send photos, or there’ll be nothing in the gallery for May for ages! If you prefer to wait till May 1st, that’s fine. For those who send blocks after the beginning of May, I’ll say to send photos, otherwise it’s going to look a bit sparse, and I truly don’t mind about the surprise! 🙂

  4. Lorij says:

    Beautiful colors. Maybe I’ll join next go round.

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    Good luck to you all.

  6. rutigt says:

    OMG…….six weeks!!!!! I better start planning and shopping 🙂 Where does time fly? I don´t know……

  7. Those are some bright colors. They will certainly wake you up. How are you managing with your back? It’s wonderful you have the energy for this.

    • katechiconi says:

      The back is not getting better as fast as I’d like, but what I’d like and what is normal are two different things! It’s do a bit, rest a bit, do a bit, rest a bit. Seems to work…

  8. Lorij says:

    Wow! Beautiful colors. Maybe next time round I’ll join😊.

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    My mouth is watering just looking at those luscious colors!

Leave a Reply

