Where I write

Over at The Kitchens Garden, we’ve been issued a challenge.

From time to time, Celi and many of the Farmy Fellowship, her huge following, post an image of where they write their posts, their comments and their responses. For some, this place migrates according to season, how they feel or what’s happening in their lives.

My writing cornerI have a desk, but I don’t use it. Here, on the corner of the sofa, I have my laptop and charger to hand, the camera and download cable, books on food, fiction, quilting and reference, my work lamp, my current embroidery project, my Bluetooth earpiece for talking on the phone while I type, and of course, lots of cushions! The Husband sits two feet away with his own paraphernalia, handy for reading out drafts or comments and replies.

This mass posting should be a fascinating insight into how such a large and diverse group interacts. Head over to Celi’s blog for links to everyone else’s Where I Write.

I’m looking forward to seeing how the other half writes!

63 thoughts on “Where I write

  1. Wonderful, and full of Kate-ish work things.

  2. A great wee nook you have there Kate!

  3. M. L. Kappa says:

    Ooh, how cozy! I think I’ll stick around!

  4. Gerlinde says:

    Looks cozy and comfortable .

  5. knettycraft says:

    I personally couldn’t write on the sofa. Because I write very fast using all ten fingers I always need a table (I learned it at my first professional training after school – wrote 7 letters per second then on a mechanical machine). But your wonderful place there is looking cozy and absolutely Kateish!

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    I love your cushions, never mind the writing space, and did you make the large green floor cushion. I am thinking a blog post about cushions would be good!

  7. On occasion I take my laptop to the dining room and lounge but for the most part work from my little office – http://wp.me/pT5Tj-2jQ
    Have a super day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t find my perfectly good desk as comfortable as the end of the sofa! And as I can hook up to my desk printer wirelessly, there’s no need to move 🙂

  8. mame19 says:

    I agree with Gerlinde above; it does look so comfy and cozy. I don’t know how you type on a laptop… I never have been able to adjust from a proper keyboard.

    • katechiconi says:

      I graduated from a full sized extended keyboard when my beloved 12 year old iMac had to be retired. It took a while, but I got used to it, and now I love the flexibility of working wherever it suits me. And generally, the sofa suits me best!

  9. Grannymar says:

    I love your cosy corner, My post and link to Celi have just gone live now.

  10. I love seeing the place everyone is and the people behind the ‘story’ they are telling on their choice of media, whether it be their quilting story or creative story or whatever. It makes such a difference when you see something personal about the writer and maker. It makes it easier to place the person, in the sea of other quilters, crafters and makers. So thank you Kate, I love what you share!

    • katechiconi says:

      What you don’t see is that it’s also handy for jumping up to deal with a load of laundry, stirring something in the kitchen, letting the Dowager in when she comes round for coffee…. it’s the hub of the house, of course!

  11. meadowmice says:

    Oh I love seeing another multi-tasker ‘nest’. I too find that I have my knitting, crocheting, camera, computer, books and my bestie beside me. Loved checking out your blog today!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’d find it hard to go back to a desk, though I do find the bed a handy alternative on lie-in mornings. No sewing, but I lie among quilts and cushions I’ve made myself, with a lovely cup of coffee and extremely congenial company 🙂

  12. norma says:

    Looks and sounds very cozy.

  13. anne54 says:

    That looks like the most comfortable nook. No wonder you are able to create such interesting posts 😊 I love wide arms on couches and chairs, as they are so useful, perfect for books and other goodies — just like you have in your photo!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s just as well it’s a fabric and foam sofa, since I’m constantly stabbing the arm with pins and needles. The flat top also makes the most convenient table, although I don’t risk coffee mugs up there, that would be asking for trouble.

      • anne54 says:

        I have a big red (leather) arm chair that I will post about soon. I put my tea cup on the arms, although I can feel the Fella’s nervousness whenever I do. No upsets yet!

      • katechiconi says:

        Unfortunately, we’re both equally clumsy. Fortunately, the sofa covers are washable… He does know that leather wipes clean, doesn’t he…? Or is it brand spanking new and pristine?

      • anne54 says:

        Definitely not brand new! Leather wipes are life savers. I do have to add that the Fella is very good with housework. He even keeps an eye on the weather to see if the washing needs to be brought in!

      • katechiconi says:

        Well, now you have a new heat pad to protect the other arm of the chair!

  14. EllaDee says:

    This is the space I see when we chat. It’s lovely, and central. And clevely arranged. Which I can relate to as I like to still be in touch with my world rather than tucked away.

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly. I need to be in the flow of things, otherwise the meal would burn, the phone would go unanswered, the shopping list would be blank and the laundry would be neglected!

  15. I have not posted a photo of where I write but I really should take a photo for future reference. I have enjoyed seeing where others write. Yours is quite cozy!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s such a clever idea of Celi’s; we all take away a mental image of how we all work, which helps to round out our knowledge of each other. Now I can visualise where Farmy Friends are when they read or write comments.

  16. publicpollen says:

    That was a comfy nest. Wish I had a sofa corner that inviting! And everything you need only an arm length away. Even your husband. Clever!

  17. tialys says:

    I feel very boring as I have a desk!

    • katechiconi says:

      Nothing boring about that. I used a desk for years until I got a very small laptop and realised I could work with my feet up! I still miss my very big screen…

  18. mountaingmom says:

    Great space. Love the quilted pillow.

  19. Magpie Sue says:

    Fun! Sort of like a studio tour for those of us who do more sewing than writing (or farming!). 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Even the farmers have somewhere to write! If you go over there, you’ll see all sorts of people and all sorts of writing spots. Interesting how many people don’t use or need a desk any more, though…

  20. Lorij says:

    I love it. This makes all the people’s blogs that we read more real. I do not have a blog but follow several. My daughter keeps encouraging me to do one but, I don’t have time yet and I’m about to start a new chapter in my life so, until I’m settled and have things on track I don’t need any additions. I generally reply to blogs from my phone, once in a while I use the computer. Email is done the same way. Usually in between putting together a jacket, skirt, piecing a quilt or some mending. I was so busy making a suit the other day that I knew something was different with my machine but couldn’t figure out what it was. I got ready for bed. Got up the next morning and finished that suit and started working on a dress. When I came back after running an errand and turned the machine on there was no light! I realized that the something was my light had died and I was so busy sewing I didn’t realize it because of the extra light I use.😄

  21. Oh that looks like a wonderful cozy space to work – thank you for joining in Kate – You are a great support for me and many others – I am having fun going around looking at everyones spaces.. c

  22. Good grief, I came here, read, liked and left without a comment. My brain said I made one but my fingers didn’t do their share of the job. 😦 I’ve been here a couple of times looking at your cozy spot with all you paraphernalia around you and thinking it look quite similar to mine. Except you have a sofa and I a chair. You have a magnifying light as well. What a help they are. We may as well be comfortable. Hope you are doing a bit better.

  23. I need my desk! I do not think that this is just because my computer is a desktop and not a laptop. I do not balance meals on my lap well either; I need tables.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have a laptop sized lap, which helps. I think yours would probably be a bit on the dainty side. As for eating in my lap; the Husband and I have king-sized napkins for a reason…. Mr & Mrs Klutz. Thank God for washable covers on the sofa.

  24. wombatquilts says:

    Love your space…and not just because my cushion is there!

  25. Kirsten says:

    I spy with my little eye . . . a certain cook book 🙂

Leave a Reply

