SAL 27: a fresh start, a blue sampler

I made a selfish choice, and went with the piece I really wanted to make for myself.

I’ll definitely get back to ANZAC some time, but not when I have so many other balls in the air. One of the embroidery pieces I’ve been contemplating needs a lot of counting and planning and I still have to make a chart. So that’ll have to wait too. The other needs a major investment in a lot of skeins of different colours. This one ticked the boxes. No chart to create, no millions of colours, just two.

BlueSampler top left cornerWell, it’s another sampler. No big surprise there, since it’s common knowledge that I love them. Two colours, not one, gasp! It’ll be larger than the last one, by quite a margin, worked on 16 count Aida in dark navy and mid blue. What you’re seeing is the mid blue. Some fun borders, some nice lettering, a few flourishes. Some quite tiny stitches – 16 count, what was I thinking – but at least it keeps the thing a manageable size. This is a small section of the top left corner.

As always, it’s worth your while visiting the other SAL stitchers, even if they’re not posting progress today. Don’t forget about the difference in time zones; if you’re seeing me first, you may need to drop in to theirs a bit later to give them a chance to get their posts up.

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com
Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com
Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com
Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com
Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk
Lucy at https://lucyannluna.wordpress.com
Cathy at http://nanacathydotcom.wordpress.com
Jess at https://everthecrafter.wordpress.com
Sue at http://sewingmagpie.blogspot.com
Constanze at https://textiledreamer.wordpress.com

Welcome, Constanze, the newest member of our growing group! Jule is taking a well earned break but will be back.

See you next time…

36 thoughts on “SAL 27: a fresh start, a blue sampler

  1. I wish you’d stop posting about your cross stitch. Every time you do, I want to scrabble for the big box where I stored my last x st project, which is about half complete. And I can’t afford the time for that. But that’s pure selfishness talking, sorry 😦
    But I might have to do a post on the same subject, you’ve given me an idea.
    xxx Enjoy your peaceful Sunday and happy stitching

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m pleased with progress on this project, but there’s nothing to beat a one or two colour job as opposed to lots of very similar colours! It’s been a good Sunday; I got a new phone and we finally got a new washing machine, collecting it tomorrow 🙂

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    I love samplers too, and blue cross stitch. I made one in blue and loved it! Happy stitching today.

  3. claire93 says:

    blue on white – it’s going to look lovely

  4. lucyannluna says:

    Lovely border & pattern, great start

  5. rutigt says:

    Looking good and 16 count Aida is much easier to stitch on, even if it is small. You don´t have to count threads to get the stitches right 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree! I’d rather stitch on Aida than natural linen every time, especially with such a large piece. My next project after this is a series designed by Gerda Bengtsson, and she suggests linen, but I’ll be using Aida again!

  6. Carole says:

    Ooh, this is going to be a pretty one.

  7. Moira says:

    Lovely work! Will enjoy watching it take shape as you work on it. Makes me want to get some of my bigger pieces out (mainly kits at this point, altho I do have oodles of charts as well) and work on them. Small ones tho that travel with me to doc appt’s are the norm for my cross-stitch though these days.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have a plan for the next piece, which will be composed of 12 small pictures grouped together. Each one’s only about 7×8 inches, so very portable. It’ll have to wait till this one’s done, though!

  8. tialys says:

    I like the simple colour scheme.

  9. Very nice so far 🙂 If one colour cross stitch is monochrome, what do we call two colour stitching. Duochrome? Stereochrome?

    • katechiconi says:

      Monochrome is the use of one colour or *values* of that colour. So as I’m using two values of blue it’s still monochrome. Two colours would be duotone. Don’t ask me why it changes from chrome to tone….

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    That beginning has me wondering what the rest of the design will be! Maybe a sampler design would fit on the larger blank needlepoint case I bought… Hadn’t previously considered that option.

    • katechiconi says:

      This corner shows where two borders come together, it’s roughly the same width all round, but a bit deeper at the bottom, and then letters and so on. I like the idea of a sampler needlecase!

  11. Cecilia says:

    I admire everybody who is so talented in cross stitching like you are. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

  12. Is cross stitch considered embroidery? Because I can kind of do CS! If the cats don’t get all interested 🙂

  13. norma says:

    Pretty project!

  14. Lorij says:

    As much add I enjoy hand sewing I like others cross stitch but I don’t like doing it. Is beautiful but I’m not about counting and such. I’ve done some but only when there is no other kind of hand work to do. Yours is pretty. It makes beautiful gifts it’s just not for me. I look forward to seeing yours when it’s completed.

    • katechiconi says:

      Life would be so dull if we all liked the same stuff, wouldn’t it? I don’t much enjoy the counting, but that’s what it takes to achieve the results, so I go with it. This piece is going to be quite large, so the finished result will take a while.

  15. Debbierose says:

    You are very industrious. Lovely thread colour

  16. Kirsten says:

    Ooo, I like the look of this one so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

