Cosmatesque #3

Circles within circles, wheels within wheels…

Central circle

Lower left quarter colours Templates copied onto card Inner circle templatesThe central circle is assembled. The shapes (apart from the white triangles) were a bit small and fiddly, and every single one had a curved edge some-where, but I got better at lining things up as I went along. The trickiest bits were joining the amber triangle to the blue triangle above it, since I was joining two curves, but I discovered how best to get it done and the joins are tidy. Actually, the worst part was ensuring that the inner curve of the ring where it joins the red fabric was smooth, and as you can see, I wasn’t totally successful… Since I took that photo, I’ve actually gone back and improved the curve by unpicking and restitching a small section.

I’ve robbed some fabrics from my Steampunk collection, which is seriously stalled in any case. There are some great textured and marbled fabrics in there, perfect for this application, so I feel justified.

Next, I have to add a white ring to the outside of this. The ring after that will be a bit more laborious – there are all those small straight pieces which form the zigzag between the triangles. But they’re simple, and it makes good TV watching handwork. I can make use of time when my hands would otherwise be idle. The colours are limestone, slate, charcoal, dark umber and golden amber again. The four final corner pieces will be dark cobalt and dark red.

And I’ll be trying very, very hard not to keep hearing ‘The Windmills of Your Mind’ in my head while I work…

34 thoughts on “Cosmatesque #3

  1. I do like that song…oh, now it’s in my head.

  2. dayphoto says:

    I would have a hard time with that…Now its in MY head!

    Linda

  3. Thimberlina says:

    Wow, that’s amazing, all this inspiration is just too much!! 😀

  4. claire93 says:

    you’ve me singing too ^^
    and well done!

  5. Moira says:

    Your work is beautiful! This quilt is going to be lovely when you are done. And so much more than I’ve attempted since I don’t do curves unless I’m working on an applique quilt. =)

  6. rutigt says:

    Looks like a great start!!! I also sing different songs to my quilts and it is very annoying 🙂

  7. Wow! Looks like an interesting project!!

  8. Looks perfectly smooth from where I’m sitting. This is seriously impressive work Did you managed to find the white marbled fabric you were looking for?

    • katechiconi says:

      I have found something mottled, off-white, which will do the job for the main background of the piece. Happy days! And the circle definitely looks better now than it did before.

  9. I just showed my kids how you make a quilt. They wanted to know if you are German because of the precision of the drawing and the detailed execution of the work. It’s so impressive. :))

    • katechiconi says:

      Not German, half-English, half-Dutch by birth, and Australian by choice. I have always been able to draw, it seems to me the easiest and best way to plan something complicated, and if you use graph paper, the whole job gets a lot easier! I’m glad you’re enjoying the process, watch out for a bit more soon!

  10. Never ending or beginning….arghhh! I love the song almost as much as your patchwork and the fabrics are just WOW!

  11. norma says:

    I don’t think I would have noticed the circle if you hadn’t mentioned it but you always feel better if you get things sorted out, don’t you? Isn’t it funny how no one else notices but you can’t help seeing the little mistakes yourself?

    • katechiconi says:

      I knew I was doing the wrong thing when I let the wonky stitching through, but I just wanted it done. Then, of course, it poked me in the eye every tie I looked at it.

  12. tialys says:

    You are an inspiration with the challenges you set yourself. Even the diagram would have me running screaming from the room.

    • katechiconi says:

      I looked at it when I’d first finished the doodle and went “nah, too hard” and then realised that taken individually, none of the bits were all that hard, it’s just that they were all in there together. None of it’s hard, just complicated!

  13. Lynda says:

    I can understand walking away from this one for a breather and then coming back to it. I had to do that with my wedding dress when I made it. It was a Vogue pattern and ultra “fiddly”. In any case it is probably very therapeutic to take a break. In the end it will be one of your very best… I can tell already!

Leave a Reply

