Foot²Freestyle: March Roundup

What a great month I’ve had with all my sewing projects!  I’m looking forward to seeing how April turns out.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmIt’s time once again for the F²F roundup. It was Claire’s turn this month, with a warm and beautiful palette of various shades of brown, red and orange with a cream/beige/tan background. She likes both traditional and modern blocks, and for some of us, we’ve had to move out of our comfort zones, but I love what everyone has done! Head over to the F²F gallery page to see what has been made so far – it has been a busy month all round and a few of us are still working on our blocks but the next few days will see them all done.

April is Nanette’s turn, and her colour choices are:
Any soft shades of mauves, lavenders, purples (but no dark or bright purples), and soft, light, low volume/value background colours

Such a gorgeous, soft palette, which I’ve really enjoyed working with. Yes, I confess, I’ve made my blocks for Nanette already, I couldn’t resist! I’m not alone, and tomorrow, the start of the month, I’ll be able to put up a couple of sets to kick things off.

Now, is there anyone getting closer to a finished F²F quilt?

The list of sign-ups for F²F 2016/17 has changed a little since the last roundup:

Existing
Sue
Kate
Lynn
Nanette
Esther

New:
Gun Adrian, my ScrapHappy buddy from Sweden
Claire Hupin, a SAL friend and a great pal of Avis’
Sandra Meynet, a French friend of Lynn’s
Moira McSpadden from the US

I’ll circulate contact info and blog addresses once we kick off in June. As before, we’ll all select our colours and do the draw in April to choose which member gets which month. Last time, Sue’s husband got the job; this time, the Husband of Chiconia would like the honour! Doing it in advance gives us all the chance to buy anything we don’t have and boost our stashes if necessary.

So far, we have 9 members, which is probably the minimum number we can still do the block swap with; each of us will end up with 24 blocks made by other people, and we can then choose how many more we’ll each make for ourselves. It will also run for only 9 months, so there’d be less of a time commitment, but I must admit, I do still love the idea of another whole year of lovely blocks! So if you have a fancy to take part in a fun, undemanding and very rewarding block swap party, leave a comment below. The rules are few, the choices are endless, and you’d be most welcome.

On with April, and the last month but one!

 

9 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: March Roundup

  1. tialys says:

    I have also done my blocks for Nanette and will get them photographed and sent off in the next few days. Just yours to go now – you’ve waited a long time.

  2. nettyg says:

    it’s already April, how soon will you want to know our colours for the next round? It’s exciting to anticipate the little parcels that are going to start arriving as the month progresses.

    • katechiconi says:

      I reckon mid-month? I’ll ask for it when I do the progress report around the 15th. I think we’re at the final tally with 9 members, but I’ll wait till then. Avis, Lynn and I are all making ‘Pat’ blocks, so you’ll get an extra one from each of us.

  3. rutigt says:

    Lovely block for Claire!

  4. nettyg says:

    Hey Kate, posting here because my email won’t load, it and a lot of other sites….couldn’t get on here this morning, so maybe it’s slowly righting itself! Wanted to let you know straight away that my blocks have arrived. Thankyou! The fabrics are lovely and all the blocks are so pretty, they look nice mingling with Avis’s. Thanks for the extra block from Pat. Eight blocks on my way to a quilt!..yay.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hi there, it must be catching, we’ve just had a power outage for nearly 4 hours. Glad the blocks have arrived safely. Another 4 will be on the way tomorrow, I think; Lynn said she would be posting hers.

Leave a Reply

