Foot²Freestyle: March progress report

Is it just me, or is this month just whizzing past?

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmSo far, we have 6 sets of blocks up in the gallery for Claire, whose turn it is this month, so at the halfway point of the month, we’ve got half the blocks done! At least March is a normal length, so we all have a couple of extra days to finish compared with last month.

Head on over to the gallery to see where we’re up to so far. I’ve really enjoyed seeing how people are venturing into areas they haven’t been comfortable in before, or using colours they ‘didn’t like’, only to discover that actually, they like them after all! I’ll never be a huge fan of improv, but I did enjoy my brief excursion into the area a month ago… And of course, it’s always useful to have everyone else’s ideas to look at as a source of inspiration :-). Update: Avis’ completed quilt is now showing in the November section of the gallery. It’s gorgeous!

The year of block swaps comes to an end in May this year. Some of you have already said you want to go again next time, and some have already told me they will not be joining us.  If you’re sitting on the fence, can I urge you to have a think and let me know one way or the other, so that I can offer your place to someone else if you do not want to join us? And for anyone out there who would like to join in but hasn’t made contact yet, do leave me a comment or send an email to the address on my Contact Me page.

There are options. We can do F²F with fewer people, but the finished quilt will be smaller. Or, we can do it with more, and we each make fewer blocks. What we do now, twelve participants each making three blocks, produces a substantial quilt, but it doesn’t have to be so large. If you’ve seen Avis’ recent post about her finished quilt, you can see the thing of beauty we will each end up with – but a slightly smaller version of the same thing would be just as nice! So if you’d like to join the fun, develop a new skill, try something different or work with an unfamiliar colour, let me know.

Time to head back to the sewing room and crank out another couple of blocks!

16 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: March progress report

  1. norma says:

    What a glorious collection of blocks.

  2. tialys says:

    March is looking good! I love your pears 😉

  3. Lorij says:

    Hi Kate, I was looking at Esther’s site and it hit me that you wanted tea pots and such but, I am making a strip block and a dresden sort of block. If these won’t do, please let me know.
    I have been going through quite a bit. I read what you said but with all that’s been happening I guess it didn’t really register in my head😊. What did register was teal and cream and 12 1/2 inches unfinished

    • katechiconi says:

      Strip blocks and dresden blocks are perfect! My general plan is to have the centre of the quilt like a ‘tea party’, with teapots etc, but round this it will be dresden plates, and then round the outside any kind of block you like so long as you stick to the size and colour. So you’re doing great!

  4. Moira says:

    I’m interested in joining next year. Been a long time since I did a block swap of any sort, and I’e watched Susan and Claire have fun with their blocks over the year.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’d be most welcome! If you could send me an email using the address shown on the Contact Me page, I’ll send you more info and you can see what will be involved.

  5. rutigt says:

    Beautiful blocks as usual! And Avis finished quilt………Have no words, it is gorgeous!

  6. I popped over to see the most delightful quilt. The blocks are all so intricate and beautiful set off with the sashing. How exciting to see them all together!! Wow!

Leave a Reply

