Quiet Play 2: quilting done

Our local library had a book sale, and I loaded up…

I cannot resist a new book. Hence small progress with the quilting of the Big Cushion front, but it’s done now. Not the world’s neatest or most even hand quilting, but lovely and textured and nubbly!

Quiet play quilting doneIt’ll need a 3 inch border all round to fit the cushion pad I have, but that’s OK; I have a very, very pale yellow with a small white dot which gives the impression of rich cream. With this as a border, the cushion colour scheme ties in very well with my grandmother’s flower garden hexie bed quilt and the green bedroom curtains. The back will be the last piece of my favourite lime shot cotton, again with a 3 inch border. I’m not sure what I’m going to bind it all with; it’s more or less asking for a hot pink or orange but I don’t have any in my stash, and I don’t like an aqua binding against the lime background. A bit of thought is required….

One more post, and this project will be done ๐Ÿ™‚

43 thoughts on “Quiet Play 2: quilting done

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    thought or shopping [evil laugh]

  2. katechiconi says:

    I suspect your evil laugh is fully justified, but a single fat quarter will do the trick, so I won’t be bankrupting us ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Grannymar says:

    The flowers have really come to life with your quilting, I feel I could almost pick a bunch of them. Enjoy your thinking/shopping trip, remember it can be part of your exercise programme and… good good for your health if not your purse! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Grannymar says:

    I’m catching the bus now… I might get there by Wednesday!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Catch a ride with my sister! She and her gentleman friend are arriving on Thursday, and she’ll be passing overhead sometime on Tuesday! I’m pretty sure they’ll take a seniors pass…

      • Grannymar says:

        The very thought of putting my hand up and cadging a ride all the way to your doorstep, will keep me going all day. I actually live under the flight path to Belfast International ( though there is nothing international about it!) Airport. we just think big and kid ourselves!

      • katechiconi says:

        I live a mere 15 minutes from our (not at all International) airport; it used to be less, and right under the flight path too โ€“ you get used to having gaps in the conversation while you wait for the noise to stop, don’t you?

      • Grannymar says:

        Back in my growing up days I lived under the flight path to Dublin Airport. My two older brothers and I often walked the ten miles or so on a Sunday afternoon, to the then one kidney shaped building we called ‘the airport’. We climbed up onto the flat roof (it was allowed back in those days) where we watched the planes coming in to land and draw up below us on the tarmac, or taxi-ing along the runways for take off. The walk home cleared our fume filled lungs and deafened ears, allowing our appetites to grow ready for our evening feast.

      • katechiconi says:

        That’s a fun and obviously still vivid memory. As a child I used to live 500m from the fence round a USAF air base in the UK, where they held an air show every other year. Lots of low flying, showing off and chimney pot rattling!

      • Grannymar says:

        Airports are on my mind this morning, Elly has just landed in Dublin after an all night journey (2 flights) from a ten day work trip to Israel. I am always glad to know she is safely back on Terra ferma. Now it is time for my breakfast.

      • katechiconi says:

        Have a great day!

  5. I love the all-over quilting – and the bonus is that it really strengthens something that will get a ot of wear. If you want a hot pink or orange border, then go for it

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m thinking bright orange, myself… I’m really loving the dense quilting, which gives the fabric a lovely bobbly texture, although because it’s so soft it’s not at all rough.

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    I love the texture of this, so vibrant!

  7. Lorij says:

    Hi Kate, the cover is lovely and I think the orange will be splendid ๐Ÿ˜„.

  8. claire93 says:

    hand quilting has really brought this to life ^^

  9. rutigt says:

    The quilting made it look great! Almost like a painting!

  10. Feel free to share titles of books you’ve found entrancing lately. Procrastination-by-book is my favorite thing.

    • katechiconi says:

      Ah, then allow me to recommend The Words In My Hand by Guinevere Glasfurd, The Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham, and All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. All have all held me glued to the page for inappropriately long times, to the detriment of housework, sewing, cooking and laundry. What else are books for, if not to get lost in…?

  11. anne54 says:

    It looks stunning Kate. I am a little behind with this project, so I need to ask….is the pattern from a piece of material, or did you appliquรฉ those flowers etc on? The quilting is a great way to add definition and interest.
    I have just finished reading Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life, which I would recommend, and have All the Light I Cannot See on the shelf to read next.

    • katechiconi says:

      No, the flowers are printed on the fabric. The scale was too large for any quilting blocks; you’d have lost all the fun by cutting it up, so I decided to outline all the flowers and the individual colours within them, and then fill in all the spaces between with stippling to give texture and make the flowers stand out more. A cushion was the obvious use for a piece this size, and I regularly use a rather sad and floppy one for propping myself up in bed in the morning. This one will be much more satisfactory!
      All The Light We Cannot See is a beautiful book, and made me cry in several places, but then, I’m a notorious weeper at sad books and movies…

  12. Yes, hot pink or orange, I agree. Good luck in finding such a piece… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m hoping to find something today โ€“ Spotlight is open on Sunday and I can also buy the zipper I need there. It would be good to finish this project after having it on the pile for 15 months!

  13. Thimberlina says:

    Just love the colours and textures, it’s look like a happy piece of fabric now! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  14. tialys says:

    All that hand quilting! You make me feel guilty for my ‘machine dependence’.
    I’ve made a note of those books you recommended as I’m almost ready to start another. I echo Anne’s recommendation of Kate Atkinson’s ‘Life After LIfe’ – although I am a big Kate Atkinson fan and love all her books but my favourite is still her first one, ‘Behind the Scenes at the Museum’. Laughing and crying all over the place.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve read ‘Behind the Scenes…’, but have read rather mixed reviews of ‘Life after Life’, from absolute raves to something along the lines of ‘yes, OK, but… why?’. I’ll probably borrow it from the library to test it out before I buy it!

  15. Lynda says:

    This is very beautiful, Kate. You have encouraged me to give it a go with one of my fabrics. Waiting for the reveal now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I really didn’t think you could inject any more fun into this fabric but you did. It’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

