Quiet play: the big cushion

Having made excellent progress with my cross stitch project while I was travelling, it was time for another kind of stitchery.

Big cushion quilting progressThe Big Cushion is about half done. I’ve outlined all the coloured areas – not just the outlines, but all the colours – and have made a start on the background quilting. This is going to be simple echo quilting in ever decreasing outlines, using the same orange variegated thread as the original outlining. It’s slow, peaceful work, easy to pick up and put down, with the result that I can slot a bit in here and there and make surprisingly good progress there too.

For a sense of scale, the whole thing is about 22 inches square, and that bird in the centre of the image is about 3 inches across.

I think I’ll be propping myself in bed with it pretty soon!

43 thoughts on “Quiet play: the big cushion

    • katechiconi says:

      I love that big splashy print – not in large quantities, but great for a cushion.

      • As I mentioned, I have a similar but more traditional print in LARGE quantities, as my full-length bedroom curtains. The colors are more muted than yours. I think that helps make them joyful even in large quantities. Your cushion is looking great and yes, you’re proceeding right along!

      • katechiconi says:

        I’d have gone for more of the same, except that two of them might start to fight with my bed quilt, which is my pride and joy. My curtains are a yellowish grass green, so it all hangs together nicely 🙂

      • Sounds perfect. 🙂

  1. A very eye-catching cusion it will be!

  2. love the vibrant colours. 🙂

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    Wow! Such vibrant colours. Stunning

  4. What gorgeous work Kate, I love the bright fabric you used. I am sure you will love having it to decorate your bed!

    • katechiconi says:

      The fabric is Oops-A-Daisy by Keiki for moda. I think it comes in other colours, but this one is wonderfully vivid. It’ll cheer up dark mornings 🙂

      • You have dark mornings in Australia, or do you mean when the sun isn’t up??? Thanks for the name!

      • katechiconi says:

        My husband starts his day shift at 4.30am, which means we get up at 3am. Yes, even in Australia it’s dark at that time of day, but in summer it’s starting to get light when he leaves home. Not so much now we’re heading into winter.

  5. Those colors are fabulous. Instant joy!
    Hugs
    Esther

  6. tialys says:

    ‘Quiet Play’ – it reminds me of being in nursery school where the teacher would get you to play ‘sleeping lions’ probably hoping you would actually fall asleep so she could nip outside for a ciggie 😉
    Love the morning sun distilled into a bed cushion.

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly how I feel about it. Quiet play for us was cutting things out of coloured paper with round-nosed scissors and sticking them to other bits of coloured paper. These cheerful, simple shapes remind me of that…

  7. Grannymar says:

    Nice colours to wake up with!

  8. Lovely! So bright and cheery, with rich detailing. Love that little caterpillar.

  9. dayphoto says:

    I like projects that are easy to pick up and put down. Love your bright colors!

    Linda

    • katechiconi says:

      It was instant inspiration when I saw the fabric. The scale is a bit too big to work well in other applications; you lose the charm if you cut it into smaller pieces.

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    Oh, that’s going to be wonderful to have on hand for relaxing times. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It will have a permanent home on the bed. Our morning ritual requires a big cushion to prop up against while we check emails and drink coffee and slowly kick our brains into gear!

  11. Thimberlina says:

    Stunning colours! It’s going to look amazing 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It will co-ordinate well with our green curtains and my green-and-brights hand pieced grandmother’s flower garden hexie quilt – which you can see on my Chiconian Quilts page if you scroll down a bit.

  12. Lynda says:

    This is going to be beautiful, Kate. I cannot believe how similar this fabric is to some that I purchased last year! I think I will send you a picture of it for comparison. Perhaps it was the same designer?

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, do send one. It’s funny, three of us seem to have something very similar – Melanie has curtains of a similar design and shade. I’ve given the designer and manufacturer in a comment to Jodie in another comment. If you’ve got any selvedge, you should be able to see if its the same.

  13. norma says:

    That’ll give you a cheerful start to the morning.

  14. modflowers says:

    Love the bright fabric! And I’m a fan of that style of hand-quilting too.

  15. claire93 says:

    I do like “bright” ^^

  16. There’s nothing quite like a quick but satisfying project to lift the spirits.

  17. rutigt says:

    Reminds me that I have a quilt that I´m handquilting. The stitches looks almost like yours. I´m using embroidering yarn. The Big Cushion will be great!

Leave a Reply

