Foot²Freestyle: February round up

The end of February always comes with a rush, being such a short month, and this year, it’s worse than ever.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmI’m posting the F²F round up early this month because I have a post coming out already tomorrow, and come Monday, I’ll be away from home, down in Melbourne having huge fun (more on that another time). In any case, all but two lots of blocks are in, and the final two sets will, I’m assured, be in the mail this weekend, so I’ll upload the photos when they come in and close the month down after that. Emmely is getting the most sensational selection of green blocks, ranging from fully traditional to totally improv, from darkest to palest green and all shades in between. She’s making not only her own 3 blocks this month, but is also making 3 on behalf of Pat too, so I’m hoping that at some stage she’ll find time to draw breath and send me all those photos as well! Head over to the F²F gallery page to see the full range, and get a sneak preview of the first two contributions for March.

I’m also hoping that one day soon one or two of you will send me a photo of a finished F²F quilt to add to the gallery. So far, the only complete one is January’s special effort for Pat, and I’d soooo love to see another couple….

March is Claire’s turn, and her colour choices are:
Background cream to beige to tan. Colors: Brown (deep, rich , or ordinary), red, orange (any variation of orange: red-orange, yellow-orange, etc). If your block asks for a wee bit of green, that would be okay too. I like modern/minimalist/asymmetry just as much as traditional.  Plenty of choice there to play with!  You should already have Claire’s contact information and address, but if not, let me know.

So far, we have a number of repeat sign-ups for F²F 2016/17, and a couple of new members:

Existing
Sue
Kate
Lynn
Christina
Nanette

New:
Gun Adrian, my ScrapHappy buddy from Sweden
June Dodge from the US, who spotted F²F on Esther’s blog and asked to join

UPDATE: We now have Esther joining us again for the next session, and a new member, Claire Hupin from France, who has been following along and building her skills so she can participate in the next session. Claire is already an ‘honorary’ member, having been the secret maker of some of Pat’s blocks from late last year, so we’re very glad to have her along.

We need a minimum of 12 or the scheme doesn’t produce enough blocks, so if you have a fancy to take part in a fun, undemanding and very rewarding block swap party, leave a comment below. The rules are few, the choices are endless, and you’d be most welcome. Oh, and if there are more than 12 of us, so much the better!

On with March. Let the fun begin!

 

25 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: February round up

  1. Anlina says:

    When am I seeing you again??

  2. tialys says:

    I had come to a bit of a halt with putting my blocks together as I was waiting for thread and sashing fabric to arrive but I should be able to get going on it again soon although I doubt mine will be the next finished F2F quilt you’ll see. I got the months confused and have already done April’s blocks so need to make a start on Claire’s over this weekend. Then it will be your turn!!
    I asked my sewing buddy if she’d like to join in – no blog like Christina but a big fabric stash! – and she seemed quite interested. We could work on them together at our Wednesday sewing sessions. I’ll see how the sign ups go and ask her. I’ve also got a blogger friend I’ll ask but she has just joined up to a 100 x 6 inch sampler challenge (no swap involved) so she might have enough on her plate.

    • katechiconi says:

      It sounds as if you’re pretty well under control. If your friend would like to join, then we’d love to have her. Your other blogger friend may be doing the Splendid Sampler challenge, which I thought about, but then decided it would be a big chunk of time, especially as they come each week rather than each month!

      • tialys says:

        She is doing the Splendid Sampler challenge. I had a look but didn’t like the small size or the fact you don’t get to swap which is what is such fun with the F2F one. She probably won’t have time to do our one as well so I’ll just ask my sewing buddy and let you know next week.

  3. I will participate again!
    The blocks are in the mail and with any luck they will arrive today. I will send you the pics tonight.
    Lots of hugs
    Esther

  4. claire93 says:

    I’d like to join in this time Kate ^^
    I feel I’ve made progress this year with my piecing skills and it was such fun following this swap as a non-member, that I’d really like to be a part of it the second time around.

  5. rutigt says:

    Looking at the gallery, I´m getting a bit nervous… 🙂 Can I live up to that standard? All the blocks are so beautiful!!!!!

  6. Your quilting skills are all so superior to mine but I love seeing the lot of the finished blocks. Just beautiful. Just to let you know, I have received my little sewing scissors for the airplane. Delivery was extremely quick. Smaller than even I could imagine. We shall see how it goes. 😉 Thank you so much for the information about them. I’m envious of your next trip and the chance to visit with miss c. 🙂 Hugs to you both. 🙂

  7. katechiconi says:

    Oh great, I’m glad they arrived in time. Maybe you’ll feel confident enough to join us if we go round a third time! There are others who haven’t been quilting that long, and they find being part of the group really helps build their skills. I’ll pass your hug on to Miss C when we meet on Monday 🙂 xx

  8. Magpie Sue says:

    Oh, what good progress on sign ups for next year! If I think of anyone else who might like to play along I’ll be sure to let you know. Guess I ought to do a post on my own blog…

    • katechiconi says:

      That might produce a few more, for sure. I think if we get a good few, we can reduce the blocks to two each month, which will ease the pressure on the busier members, so I’m going to keep up the reminders.

  9. dezertsuz says:

    I’m in again. I didn’t realize you were doing this! Thanks.

  10. tialys says:

    My sewing friend here in France says ‘yes’. She hasn’t got a blog but I can include her goings on in mine. It will give us a new project to do together on Wednesday afternoons. Her name is Sandra Meynet. She is French but understands quite a bit of English. We’ll be nearly up to twelve again soon!

Leave a Reply

