Foot²Freestyle: February progress report

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmJanuary was a special month for F²F, but now we are back to normal, and progress so far is good; there are only three of us who have not yet finalised their blocks for February. Emmely is making not only her own this month, but also Pat’s three blocks, and I’m very much looking forward to seeing those. It’s so interesting to see how different all our blocks are. This month, Emmely’s choice was “green, any shade”. Just that.  It both limits and gives us tremendous freedom in our work, especially as Emmely loves modern, improvisational design.

I have been asked if we are going to repeat the F²F block swap for another year. Sue and I are both game to go round again, and if those of you who would like to go again will let me know, we can see how many of the original team are left, and how many new members we need to recruit.  You don’t have to decide now; I will be issuing a reminder in early May. If there’s enough interest, we’ll probably do it again. I think the basic concept will remain the same: a 12 inch block in any style, in a scheme of up to 3 colours. I’d also like to hear any suggestions you may have for improving things – I don’t promise there will be changes, but if there are things which are a problem for some of the members, we can try and resolve them. Going forward, I would probably set up a separate blog for F2F, because the gallery page has made a big hole in my space allowance, but it would probably just be for the gallery, and I’ll keep the updates, etc, here.

Head on over to the gallery to see how we’re getting on so far.  There’s a great variety of colour and design, and I think Emmely’s quilt is going to be spectacular!

9 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: February progress report

  1. tialys says:

    I’m definitely up for it again! I’ve found it has re-ignited my passion for patchwork and made me try harder to improve some of my techniques. Also I’ve really enjoyed going out of my comfort zone with certain colours – who knew I would learn to love green: – and trying different things like wonky blocks, improvisation and paper piecing. As a further plus, it’s been making inroads into my fabric stash of many years standing which is always a good thing as it makes room for more 😉
    Thank you for offering to organise us again – I hope you are still getting enjoyment from the project too.
    x

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m definitely up for it, and if most of us don’t want to do it again, I’d have to think up something else to give the faithful few a fun block swap to participate in. Like you, I feel it has greatly improved my skills, most notably in paper piecing, which was a closed book before. Four so far: Sue, me, you, and a lady called June who came via Esther’s blog. Three blocks a month isn’t an impossible ask, they can be as simple as you like, and there are no quilt police patrolling to make sure we’re ‘doing it right’. Let’s put our Foot² in it!

  2. tialys says:

    If we can’t get enough from the existing pool, I have two or three people in mind I could ask. I’ll wait a bit though – we might find everybody wants in again!

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s one out already, and I have one new volunteer. I’ll chase again later. I would enjoy a new group with a different dynamic, I think. Someone new might bring a great new skill or ideas we can learn from.

  3. I love to see all these blocks each month… I hope you are able to find 12 participants again (sadly not me as I really don’t enjoy sewing these days – my heart is with the yarn). However, it would be lovely if you set up a separate way to view the blocks and, hopefully, finished quilts as they are lovely to look at. What about putting them on Pinterest?

  4. rutigt says:

    It s always sooo nice to see all your blocks! I´m really interested in participating next time!

Leave a Reply

