ScrapHappy February

This month, it has come around so fast!

February Scrappy BlockOnce again, it’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

As you’ll appreciate if you follow my blog, it has been a busy January and early February. One block is not a lot, but I promise to be a bit scrappier in the coming months; I’d like to have two or three each time from now on. There is a plan in play for using these blocks, and once I have enough, all will be revealed. Then, of course, I’ll have to find something else to do with my scraps. I’m sure something will emerge…

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps – no new fabrics. It can be a random or formal quilt block, a pillow or pincushion, a bag or hat, a collage or rag rug. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address shown on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. You don’t have to worry about a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance whether you’ll have something to show.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at):

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in Swedish and English)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Heléne at http://quiltochsom.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Eva at bambisyr-evaj.blogspot.com (in Swedish only)

Viv at https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com (in English only)

Nanette at http://stitchandsow-homeandgarden.blogspot.com.au (in English only)

Lynn at https://thetialys.wordpress.com/2016/02/14/a-bit-of-a-scrap-and-stuffing (in English only)

Norma at https://shesewsyouknow.wordpress.com/2016/02/15/scrap-happy-february (in English only)

Birthe: http://birthesrom.blogspot.no (in Norwegian only)

Turid: http://densyendehimmel.blogspot.se (in English and Norwegian)

See you again, same time next month

31 thoughts on “ScrapHappy February

  1. norma says:

    Pretty block.
    I’ve done a scrap project to link to you this month, hope you like it.

  2. these blocks you make – they have my name WRITTEN all over them !!!

    • katechiconi says:

      The ones I’ve done so far and for the next couple of months sadly already have a name on them, but the ones that come after might be persuaded to go and live in ZA if you like…?

  3. Debbierose says:

    Beautiful bright happy colours

  4. Well done – with all you’ve had on it’s a little miracle!

    • katechiconi says:

      I had to get it done before we went away, too, so I could use the sewing machine, get the photo done with proper lighting, and I prepared and scheduled the post in advance. It’s actually quite amazing it got done at all!

  5. rutigt says:

    I´m working on my post right now 🙂 A bit slow, I know, but waht can you say. The woman forgot all about it 🙂

  6. Lorij says:

    Kate, I love your new photo. It’s lovely. The hat is nice and the color suits you well.

  7. Love the new photo of you. Has a happy feel. Not sure I could do a scrappy quilt. It would be good to manage my OCD issues. Everything always has to match. What size squares and blocks do you make? It looks so cheerful.

  8. claire93 says:

    my scrap box is beginning to fill up, maybe I’ll join you soon ^^

  9. Grannymar says:

    Bless your energy, Kate. I have a list as long as my arm of things to do and it never seems to shrink. How do you do it?

  10. tubakk says:

    Lovely blocks. I love scraps, and have made a blogpost today. I’d like to be a part of your Scrap Happy Days every month.

  11. EllaDee says:

    Travel and all this too. You are amazing. I love the way the different colours and patterns that you would think might clash, complement each other. Clever.

  12. nettyg says:

    I didn’t make it, have a project, but just too exhausted after a day of packing and moving to even take a photo…better luck next month!

    • katechiconi says:

      Not altogether surprised, I must say. Your house is looking wonderful but you have such tremendous plans and there is still a way to go. Take it easy, and we’ll see you next month!

Leave a Reply

