The Pink Mushroom

Well, you asked for it (or some of you did; the rest can blame them). Here is my hat (aka the Pink Mushroom) in action, keeping the sun off my face.

Screen Shot 2016-02-13 at 8.25.16 pm Screen Shot 2016-02-13 at 7.47.23 pmI had sad news about a friend this morning, so I took myself off to my Happy Place, and that’s where I’m sitting in the photos, in the sun and the clean air, with just the sound of bees in a tree behind me and birds telling the world they’re happy.

If you just sit for a while and empty your mind, all the sadness just washes out of you and all the peace floods in through your eyes and your busy brain is stilled. I was ‘taking darshan‘ (for more on that, have a look at this post), and it helped.  I was still sad, but also filled with rejoicing that the world had been blessed for a time by the life of my friend.

Tomorrow is our last day of holiday. On Monday, we turn for home. I’m looking forward to sleeping in my own bed again…

87 thoughts on “The Pink Mushroom

  1. I’m very sorry about your friend.

    Please can I have your hat when you’ve finished with it? And the Happy Place?

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you for your kind words.
      You’re the second one to ask about the hat. I think I need to try and make a pattern for it. The actual construction is a spiral, but I think I can achieve the shape with segments. A test is required, so watch this space… As for the Happy Place, all are welcome. I carry the mental image round with me for trying times.

      • I have made similarly shaped hats – one year I made, gave or sold about 50. Only the rejects remain!

      • katechiconi says:

        I enjoy hats and have quite a few, but this one is my faithful travel companion, being quite unperturbed by being stuffed into the corner of my handbag or scrunched into a suitcase. Plus, as the Husband has pointed out, it’s hard to miss, so I neither lose it nor am lost when I wear it, since it can be seen for quite a distance!

  2. I am sorry for your loss, but there is joy in memories. I wish you many blessings as you remember your friend.

  3. tialys says:

    I think I was the first one to blame for the hat! However – you look beautiful (not exaggerating) and thinking beautiful thoughts too.

  4. I’m so sorry Kate. The pretty pink hat can help to remind you of happy times with her, and your happy place looks ideal for reflection.

  5. knettycraft says:

    Lovely hat. Beautiful landscape. Wonderful woman.

  6. kymlucas says:

    Peace be with you my friend.

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    Wonderful hat, we all need a happy hat. Sorry to hear about your friend.

  8. What a wonderful place to feel sad.. c

  9. Clare says:

    I feel like I’ve been searching for the right sun hat for years. Having one you love is a true gift.

  10. dayphoto says:

    You are just beautiful! JUST Beautiful! It’s so nice to see you.

    Linda

  11. Never a fan of pink but the hat is lovely on you. It’s a cheery color and looks like it does most of it’s job. I keep out of any sun too. Long sleeves, collared shirt, long pants. Always a hat. I’m sorry you lost a friend. It always reminds us to never take anyone’s presence for granted. We are gone in a flash. I’m sure she would appreciate your memories of her. No one is ever gone as long as someone is thinking of them. Enjoy what’s left of your holiday and thanks for taking us along. It looks lovely there.

  12. Emmely says:

    I like it, doesn’t look like a mushroom at all!

  13. I’m truly sorry about your friend. You were clearly a good friend to her too. And you are also clearly a beautful person both on the outside and the inside.

  14. pattisj says:

    It’s nice to travel, but there’s no place like home and your own bed.

  15. Grannymar says:

    Thank you for the photo of the hat and it is just your colour. In fact the photo of your beautiful soft face puts your avatar in the shade. I think you should change it. I love your happy place. I am fortunate to have a selection of happy places to quite my mind and I certainly need one after today.

    Your hat is a much better than mine. Maybe I’ll have a go at making a sun version first and later a waterproof version in a nice bright colour. It has to be better than an umbrella or parasol.

    • katechiconi says:

      What a sweet person you are, Marie. My husband thinks I’m beautiful. I think he’s bonkers, but there you go, it’s a good bonkers.
      I’ve looked at the hat with a fresh eye in the last day or so, and I think I might actually try to construct one the same way. Let’s both have a Hat-Along – I’d like to see what you come up with!

      • Grannymar says:

        I’ll put my thinking cap on, there are works in progress needing to be finished before I start something new. I an think and plan as I go along. Meet you at the finish post!

      • katechiconi says:

        Agreed – same here! Mind you, my To Do list is a rolling target, constantly evolving, ever-increasing….

      • Grannymar says:

        It may well be mid March before I manage to begin. All of a sudden my time is not my own and I am having visitors – friends of Elly’s that I have not met before, so need to get the place cleared up so we have space to move.

    • Lynda says:

      Grannymar, I was thinking the very same thing! (RE: the avatar)

  16. EllaDee says:

    A lovely place to take some time out and also for a very good photo of you. I think the uplifting shade of pink makes it a happy hat. I’m sad for your loss but I’m pleased you were able to visit your special place.

  17. claire93 says:

    pink hat, pink leggings – I think you look gorgeous ^^

  18. What a blessing it it is to take darshan for someone you love. I’m pretty sure it doesn’t just bring you some peace, I’m betting it brings your friend peace and the area peace and adds to the world’s peace. Thank you to you and your pink mushroom. Maybe you feel that peace within.

  19. anne54 says:

    So many of us have wished you peace already, but I need to add my wishes too. I am glad that you were able to be in your special place to restore the equilibrium in your life. x x x

    • katechiconi says:

      Having had cancer myself, I find myself a bit thin-skinned when it takes friends away. Even knowing she’s not suffering, I’m still sad for us, the ones left behind. The Happy Place has done its work, though, and I’m balanced again.

  20. I had one of those weeks too, losing my aunt to breast cancer. I discovered that my yoga class (I’m trying new things), which looks out across the river, was a pretty good happy place.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so sorry. Life can be very harsh, and you’ve had more than your fair share of loss recently. I hope you find some peace with your yoga practice with the lovely view…

      • I keep reminding myself that I enjoy an unusually lucky and charmed life, and that losing our loved ones is part of life. It is helping. Your blog post has inspired me to think about donating a quilt to cancer research. I have a pretty one that just needs binding.

      • katechiconi says:

        You’re quite right, and I’m so pleased you’ve decided to donate something.

  21. irmi says:

    Dear Kate,
    I’m so glad you have happy holidays! Your photographs are gorgeous…. Have not had time to read though. Just watching. So sorry. But you and the pink mushroom wow, Grand Dame – so nice to meet you… 🙂 –
    Wishing you more great and lovely days to come and – most of all – a nice and lovely meeting with Our Celi… Enjoy!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, Irmi, for the nice things you have to say about the photos, and for the good wishes for my holiday, and last but not least, the Farmy Fellowship gathering coming up soon.

      • irmi says:

        What a shame! I was way too late with my good wishes for your holiday – and I found now that one should not – never – comment without reading before. And even not do it just in a hurry. So sorry. My intention however was a good one. It’s so hard to keep up let alone reading the comments. I do not manage it right now… –
        Oh my. With your beautiful hat photos there was a lot of grievance going along as I found out lateron. Sorry for you, Kate. I hope you feel a bit better now. Hugs and kisses!

      • katechiconi says:

        Dear Irmi, I am fine. The sadness was expected, and I was ready for it. But hugs are always welcome, and so are you in Chiconia!

      • irmi says:

        Thankyou for your kind Response, dear Kate! – I’m so busy in trying to keep track with your beautiful “Cloths of Heaven” quilt. 🙂 I only reached no. 6 until now what means that there are 18 more posts on that left for me to read. I so love this quilt and your telling of its development step by step. It’s so interesting. I’m in awe! So – even late – you let me be part of its evolution and processing. – Keep up the good work, Kate!
        And have a good night and sleep now!

      • katechiconi says:

        I shall sleep well, it has been a busy day, and we have an early start in the morning, the beginning of our journey home. XX

      • irmi says:

        night-night xxx

  22. Lynda says:

    Kate, I am afraid I agree with Grannymar! You simply must change your avitar and this picture would be a wonderful one to do it with. You are so beautiful. Oh yes, and that particular pink is your color for sure. 🙂

  23. Lorij says:

    Oh Kate you’re lovely! And the hat is so very becoming and beautiful on you. The color is perfect.
    So sorry for your loss. Glad you were able to be encouraged. Have a safe trip home.

  24. Debbierose says:

    Dear Kate. Sorry for your loss. Ihaving a special place like this is soothing. I must say you look gorgeous in your hat, I adore th8s vibrant colour and you pull off the combo like a model. Smiles, hugs, blessings to you now & always

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much! I was very glad to have my Happy Place to go to, and after the initial shock this morning, I am now calmer. Although it’s terribly sad, she was so very sick, and, I think, ready to go.

      • Debbierose says:

        Even when someone we care for/love has been unwell for long time. Whiie we wait, the actual reality is hard. Think of the happy times, I’m sure that is what your friend would wish

      • katechiconi says:

        I like to think of the legacy she has left behind; increased awareness of ovarian cancer, a beautiful quilt to be auctioned to raise funds, and a group of women who dug deep and achieved something good. She’s also inspired me to do more, and I hope to inspire others in the same way.

      • Debbierose says:

        You do inspire, your amazing

      • katechiconi says:

        That’s very kind, and maybe once I have a plan for fundraising quilts, you’d like to join in with a block or two? The more, the merrier.

  25. manicmumdays says:

    I just thought to myself, “I haven’t seen anything from Kate in a while, surely she is home now!” … Came over to see only to find I have to re-subscribe! 😦 Not sure what happened, but I am glad to be back!
    Will catch up on what I’ve missed now! Hope you’re ok and big hugs for your friend’s bad news xo

  26. It’s a lovely hat – I’d prefer purple myself – but I do like that you coordinated it with your trousers! Sorry for the loss of your friend. I’m sure you can find a more local place like this one and find the same peace.

    • katechiconi says:

      I do a lot of pink, and am not very fond of purple. A hat to match each outfit would be grand.
      At home, I tend to go to the beach to find a Happy Place, and just sit on a bench under the casuarinas and gaze out to see. That helps too…

  27. It’s a perfect hat, and you look perfect in it. My condolences on the loss of your friend. I’m glad she lives in your heart.

  28. rutigt says:

    Sorry for you loss! Love your hat!!!!!! It is a beautiful hat to have on your head, when thinking of sad things!

  29. Jen Gardener says:

    Sorry to hear. Your happy place is stunning. I can see why it helps! Lovely hat too!

    • katechiconi says:

      When I can’t get there (it’s about 1200kms from home), I go to one of our local beaches, which has a similar effect, being deserted, wide and peaceful. Glad you like the hat!

Leave a Reply

