Harbour (high)Lights

Well, you can’t go to Sydney and cruise round the harbour without a few pictures, can you…?

Opera House from Circular QuayToday was my niece’s 30th birthday, and to celebrate, we booked ourselves onto a cruise around Sydney Harbour. Not one of the ones where you troop on and off to briefly inspect places that need a lot more time than you have, but one where you stay on the boat, sip a nice glass of something, and simply appreciate the view of one of the world’s most beautiful natural harbours and its highlights. My niece, her sister and their friend, the Husband and I established a spot at the front of the top deck, set up camp and hauled out cameras, ready for the Harbour to bring on the photo opportunities. It didn’t disappoint…

The weather was outstanding, so long as you had a hat, sunglasses and plenty of sunscreen. I also took my UV-block umbrella for a sunshade, as I like my face the way it is and prefer not to have skin cancers dug out of it! The Husband likes my hat, mainly because it means he can spot me from quite a distance (it’s bright pink). I like it because it’s shady and means I don’t have to squint in Australia’s brilliant and searing sunshine. I have been told it makes me look like a bright pink mushroom. So be it. I will always wear hats…

We start for home tomorrow. Back in Coffs Harbour tomorrow evening, a motorbike day on Saturday, joining friends in our bike club for a get-together, a family day with my sister and BIL on Sunday. Monday we’ll drop in to see a friend (hi Nanette!) on the way to our next stop in Brisbane, where we’ll see more motorbike friends, collect some new tyres for the bike, and have dinner with the Husband’s brother. After that, we’ll see how much energy we have left. Do we make the long dash all the way to Rockhampton, or do we break the trip earlier? Either way, it’s another two days on the road. A full program, and we need to pace ourselves a bit. We’ll be home on the 17th.

I’ll leave you with a few photos….

Sydney Harbour Collage

32 thoughts on “Harbour (high)Lights

  1. Sounds like a wonderful trip and we did a cruise like that round the harbour – much more relaxed and enjoyable. Love the sound of your hat!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a lovely place to visit, but no way would I want to live there… The hat is bright pink fabric, can be rolled into a ball but emerges tidily to do its job, with a brim halfway out to my shoulders. I don’t travel without it!

  2. tialys says:

    Beautiful photographs – worth battling through the adverse weather for – but I would really like to see one of ‘the hat’!

  3. Debbierose says:

    Wonderful pics Kate. My niece is 30 this week, must be party week for many. Sydney is very pretty, I haven’t been in years. Have fun

  4. Is this niece the recipient of that wonderful quilt you’ve just finished? I’m glad you’re having a lovely time, and the pictures are lovely. When my son was at sea (Merchant Navy Engineer Officer) in his youth he saw most of the world, and reckoned Sydney was the best city ever.

  5. sounds and looks most civilised 🙂 but next time, get in front of the camera with your pink hat, silly!

  6. wonderful! And thank you for wearing a hat! Last year I had annual physical and the doc asked me if I always wear sunscreen. We don’t have quite the issues you do, and I answered honestly, “No, but I always wear a hat.” A couple month later I had an eye exam and the doc asked me if I always wear sunglasses. I answered honestly, “No, but I always wear a hat.” 🙂

  7. dayphoto says:

    Lovely, Lovey! I’m so glad you have been able to have a vacation.

    Linda

  8. EllaDee says:

    It hasn’t changed a bit! And you managed a pic of my old building, the AMP. Sounds like a lovely time has been had, with more to come. And even I, these days, am inclined to don a hat.

  9. kymlucas says:

    I want to come back and visit again! We visited Oz on our honeymoon back in 1993 (married in 1992). Maybe for our 25th anniversary we can do it again. ❤

  10. Grannymar says:

    Hats are important in that strong sunshine and not just for women, Men with very short, thin hair or bald heads should wear hats too. Kate, did you make your hat> and you know my next question: Do you have a pattern?

    • katechiconi says:

      I didn’t make the hat. It’s formed from 1cm grosgrain ribbon, stitched edge to edge in a spiral, working out then down for the crown and then progressively outwards for the brim. Given that it happily folds flat, I could probably make a pattern for it but it would need to be constructed out of segments rather than in the spiral pattern of the original. Would you like me to try to make a pattern? Quite happy to, once we’re home…

      • Grannymar says:

        I have a light pieced rain hat that lets moisture through, but it might do as a sun hat, if I added a wider brim. I am sure that with some thought I could make a pattern from it and have a go. ‘Watch this space’ as they say!

      • katechiconi says:

        I like the sound of your repurposed rain hat! One of the things I like about the pink hat is that it’s not just a round, it’s longer than it is wide, and therefore fit the head better.

      • Grannymar says:

        Mine is pink too. I must take another look at it and a photo or two… I feel a new project coming on!

  11. pattisj says:

    Lovely harbor photos. Enjoy!

  12. Lorij says:

    Kate, I’m glad you’re having a great time. Please do let us have a peek at your pink hat. Your photos are wonderful.
    As I explained to you about my both Granddaughter’s being gluten intolerant, my daughter is trying to find a recipe for bread to make for them that’s not soggy. They are also allergic to cow’s milk and one to soy, and nuts, so she must use a different type of milk. The girls loved bread but what does she do. She’s also having to use an egg substitute because of the egg white allergy. Any help you can offer will be so greatly appreciated.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have a GF bread recipe, but unfortunately it includes soy flour, milk powder and eggs… Not very helpful, this time. I’ll see if I can find a ‘bread’ recipe that will be safe, but it will have to wait till I get home later in the week. And you can see the pink hat in my next post!

      • Lorij says:

        Thank you do much. We are having a time trying to find something that will work. They both can’t have eggs do she’s trying a substitute and it’s not working well at all. The bread tastes okay but is soft or very soggy inside and nice crusty outside. She’s using goats milk. So glad someone understands all this😯. Have a good trip home.

      • katechiconi says:

        Thank you, I hope we shall.

Leave a Reply

