The Cloths of Heaven 23: In the home stretch

I’m back with a needle in my hand...

Border quiltingThe borders are attached. I’ve spliced together many, many pieces to make the batting for these from my enormous store of batting scraps, now much reduced. I’ve joined many, many widths of fabric strips to form the borders themselves. It has been tedious in the extreme, but it’s done. I made up a template for the sinus wave template I was considering and did a test but it looked, well, meh… So I got out paper and a pencil and just scribbled some more till I came up with something I liked better.

I’ve got the border on one side quilted already, with the pattern I finally decided on. Simple circles and triple chevrons, evenly spaced along the border. The bad news is, it needs quilting by hand. Eeek. The good news is, it uses a lot less yoyos (if any, I haven’t quite decided yet)… Hurray! Speaking of which, I have 124 yoyos made. That’s going to be more than enough for the new border layout, however I use them, so the time I save I can use to hand quilt.

quilting coloursThe interesting part of this simple pattern for me is that each line of quilting is in a different colour: the circles are lilac and the three lines of the chevrons are in dark magenta, jade and dark blue. It’s a detail most people wouldn’t notice, but I love it!

Tomorrow I should be able to get the opposite side quilted, and perhaps one of the others, depending on how much real life demands my attention. The green binding is already made and waiting. Once that’s on, I’ll make the decision about the yoyos. If I don’t use them here, I’m certain to find something else to do with them!

Looks as if this quilt is going to be done in time after all…

29 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 23: In the home stretch

  1. Grannymar says:

    Fingers crossed! xxxxx xxxxx

  2. I knew you could do it. I love the purple. Three colour quilting: are you by any chance using up ends of reels? For my big scrap quilt I did just that, and can now see the wood for the trees in my thread store!

  3. norma says:

    Love the purple. Good idea to use different colour threads – kind of like a controlled variegated thread.
    Good to use the wadding stash – I will try to follow your example

  4. Beautiful – your work is just beautiful.. c

  5. claire93 says:

    colours are still as vibrant as always ^^
    and I’ll have to remember to piece batting next time rather than cutting into a new chunk.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was such an obvious way to get rid of the metres and metres of strips of batting I couldn’t bear to throw out. Not only was it economical, but I also have more space in the cupboard now!

  6. tialys says:

    Ten days! Will that be long enough for you to stroke it, admire it and say goodbye to it? If I had done all that work somebody would have to prise it out of my cold dead fingers.
    I’m sure your niece will appreciate it though.

    • katechiconi says:

      Plenty of time. Once it’s fully done, I’m ready to let go and send it off to its new life with someone else. I must just make sure I have a good photo session with it – we’re have a good bit of rain on and off, so getting a day when it’s bright without being overpoweringly sunny to blow the colours out is the trick.

  7. Lorij says:

    I Knew that the quilt would be done in time. You remind me of me once I’m committed to a thing I do try and follow through. You’ve done an awesome job.😄 Maybe niece will let you enter it into a show or enter it for youI’m certain that you will win first place!
    As you know I love the hand quilting

    • katechiconi says:

      I will consider entering it for the Blogger’s Quilt award, because I can do it with photos rather than the real thing, which I hope will be on her bed by the time the event comes round. Thank you so much for the kind words and encouragement along the way while I was making this!

  8. dezertsuz says:

    Way to go! You seem to be pretty speedy with this one. I really like the quilting you are doing on it, too. Hand stitching is peaceful, I find.

    • katechiconi says:

      It is, and I’m on the last border panel. Two more thread colours to go. i’ve done the longest and the hardest stitching, just triangles now. It helps that I don’t fiddle around with hoops or frames; the quilt is rolled on my dining table, which provides gentle tension, and the area I work on is stretched over my left hand.

  9. EllaDee says:

    I always find your talent & capacity to quilt quite amazing. I like the varied & matching thread, a small clever detail that adds a lot of interest.

  10. […] reading this post from Kate I am going to piece the wadding too and maybe the good bits of my stashed old sheets for the […]

  11. Lynda says:

    Your hand stitching is beautiful, Kate!

  12. Debbierose says:

    you are doing an amazing job Kate – keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

