The Cloths of Heaven 22: Let’s go round again

It’s ready for the final addition: the border.

Can I just say again? I love this quilt… It’s been such a satisfying piece to produce because at each stage I’ve been able to achieve what I wanted, and if change was necessary, it was always for the better instead of watering down the concept.

Cloths of Heaven side panels

It doesn’t really taper in towards the bottom, it’s just the angle I had to take the photo at. And I simply CAN’T get the colours to look right in indoor light…

I’m OK with the small inconsistencies, the bits where things don’t quite line up. This will happen when you have lots and lots of long edges. Fabric stretches, a little here and a little there, and some is worse than others. It happens when pieces are handled a lot, as in quilting, and become slightly warped. It happens when you are trying to line things up blind, where seams to be aligned are on the inside of a multi-layer sandwich and all you can see is the plain fabric on the outside. I can hear it now: Vergeet niet, lieverd, perfectie is voor de Lieve Heer. Thanks, Ma.

I love the quilt the way it looks now, and it’s tempting to stop. But this size (76 inches square) isn’t quite large enough to cover a queen bed with a good overhang. So I’m going to add the 6 inch border, yoyos and all.  Thankfully, the quilting design that’s now nudging away inside my head for liberation requires fewer even than my second estimate. Think sinus waves, of varying lengths, in different thread colours, each line strung at intervals with yoyo ‘beads’.

There will be a short interlude for loads of pressing and cutting…

29 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 22: Let’s go round again

  1. just need to google yoyos…..

    • katechiconi says:

      So do I; I find myself completely in harmony with my niece’s tastes and preferences when making this quilt, and I feel it will make a worthy marriage gift in an age where so many things are transitory and throw-away.

  2. claire93 says:

    this is going to be the most amazing quilt !

  3. tialys says:

    Of course you may say you love this quilt – we all love it!

  4. Lining things up blind is a pretty good metaphor for life too.

  5. Admire away at the work you’ve created. It’s beautiful and no reason to be modest about it. I’d be showing it off everywhere had I done it. 🙂

  6. norma says:

    I love it too – gorgeous!

  7. Grannymar says:

    Admire away, you have wonderful talent and sticking power to see the Masterpiece through! I think I might eat it before ever completing it. Sleep time for me now, my days this week have not been my own and very frustrating at times, but thankfully the ducks are beginning to sort themselves out. Night night!

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope you slept well! I have had a frustrating day, with only time to hand stitch one seam when I had planned to press, cut and assemble the borders. Ah well, tomorrow is another day.

  8. rutigt says:

    The quilt is looking great so far. Now I´m waiting to see the rest of it with yo-yos and everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

