Foot²Freestyle: January progress report

There has been sad news for the members of the group this month.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmOne of our ladies is now in the final stages of her journey through life. She joined us knowing that this was coming, but thought the block swap sounded fun, and that it would give her a goal, a project to hang on for. Fate has a way of upsetting the best laid plans, and she will not be with us for the final months of F²F. Since her turn is late in the process, we have collectively agreed that we will drop everything and bring her quilt to life. This month would have been Emmely’s turn, and you will already see some blocks for her in the gallery, but in the next few weeks, you will see, as if by magic, a whole month’s worth of blocks for this other quilt, and in due course, a finished quilt, the first one in the gallery.

Because time is short, we will first make a ‘Virtual Quilt’, which will give her a preview of what is to come. So far, 33 of the 36 blocks we need are already on their way to Sue, who has generously agreed to assemble the whole thing. Sue is also blessed with a son who has a longarm quilting business, and he will kindly quilt it for us. Once bound and labelled, it will be sent on to its new owner, who will, we hope, be able to enjoy it for at least a while. In due course, it will be donated to the Ovarian Cancer Quilt Project in Houston, Texas, to be auctioned for the charity.  If you are interested in seeing what it’s about, hop over and take a look, or go to the Facebook page.

One of the things I love about the quilting community is its generosity. Our members have given freely of their time, money, stash and energy to reach out to a fellow quilter, and ladies, I love you all for it. Thank you all, so very much.

38 thoughts on “Foot²Freestyle: January progress report

  1. knettycraft says:

    Together we can do it!

  2. kymlucas says:

    I know this means a lot to her, and I thank you for this incredibly kind gesture.

  3. Grannymar says:

    Wonderful to hear of the love and care of your group for one one of your injured flock. It is a lovely to read of the human kindness as I head for my bed on a day where I heard of another soul in difficulty and also following the progress of a young man (16 yo) who had a relapse yesterday following major brain surgery and fought all the day long and into the night to survive. I look forward to seeing the finished quilt and hope it brings joy to your fellow quilter on her final journey.

  4. Cancer is a shit.
    Which reminds me that I want to pick your brains about the appropriateness of some lap quilts our group wants to make to donate to chemo patients.

  5. nettyg says:

    We love and appreciate you too Kate. for your drive and kindness and energy and generosity to see this through for our fellow F2fer. We ARE doing it 🙂 btw, the link to the quilt page is broken.

  6. Lorij says:

    It’s so kind to be kind to one in need. And it’s even better to do. My best friend of 30 plus years passed away May 2014 from ovarian cancer. I did all that I could for her until the end. I hope that you can get the quilt done in time. The best to all of you.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! At the very least, she’ll see her Virtual Quilt, but of course we hope she’ll get to lie under the real thing… Doing is so much better than Wishing, in this case.

  7. claire93 says:

    virtual hugs to all of you F2F ladies. It’s at a time like this when friendship is so important, and I think it’s brilliant that everyone has rallied together so speedily in this race against time.

  8. tialys says:

    Are the last three blocks in the process of being made? I am happy to make more if they are needed.

    I am so proud to be a part of this group.

  9. Well, this just has me in tears.

    • katechiconi says:

      Don’t be sad… We’re so glad to be able to make even a tiny difference, to turn our feelings into action of a positive kind. Once F2F is over, I’m thinking that it would be fun to have a once a year Quilt for a Cause Challenge, all kinds of contributors donate a block which will be turned into a quilt to be auctioned for charity.

  10. rutigt says:

    I cried, reading this. This is how the world should be. Everyone taking care of each other!

  11. nanacathy2 says:

    This is a lovely post. Surely your quilt will be ready in time . I admire the participant for starting a new challenge and you others for prioritizing her quilt
    My father was in a hospice, every day he had fresh bedding, one day on the bed was a handmade quilt, it spoke of love and care to me. God bless all of you.

    • katechiconi says:

      Certainly the Virtual Quilt will be, I’m starting work on it tonight while I wait for the last 3 block images. She’s a great person, she’s given it her best shot, and now it’s our turn. While we are all too far away to be of practical help, we can make it possible for her to achieve one more goal.

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    Such worthy stuff you are doing Kate. Your group is to be admired.
    Best,
    Conor

    • katechiconi says:

      I am blessed with a group of quilting friends who are filled with the spirit of generosity and willingness to go the extra mile. And who among us would turn his or her back on a friend in this situation who had such an easily achieved wish? None, I’d like to think…

  13. What a loving and nrautiful thing to do. It really moved me reading this.

    • katechiconi says:

      I was howling like a small child when I read her first email to me… Since then, the happiness factor has increased somewhat, as we are both getting a lot of pleasure from this project!

  14. Beautiful – sorry, was crying when I typed and couldn’t see 😦

  15. I’m not a quilter, and not part of your group, but I have so enjoyed following this odyssey. You are a wonderful group of generous, caring people. Thank you for sharing your souls with the rest of us.

    • katechiconi says:

      It gave us an opportunity to do something meaningful, and the post was an opportunity to publicise the cause and the charity in case others were moved to help too. Thank you so much for your kind comment.

      • kymlucas says:

        If I could add one more thing, I would ask readers to familiarize themselves with the symptoms of ovarian cancer — symptoms which are so common and so ephemeral many don’t consider them symptoms. For this reason, this type of cancer is rarely diagnosed in its early stages, often leading to a poor prognosis.
        Here are the symptoms:
        Bloating
        Pelvic or abdominal pain
        Difficulty eating or feeling full quickly
        Urinary symptoms (urgency or frequency)
        For more information, visit http://www.ovariancancer.org/about/symptoms-of-ovarian-cancer-detection/.

  16. So thankful to be part of this.
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      Me too! I’m just grateful to be able to DO something constructive. And not only will it bring joy to her, but later on it will be enjoyed by someone else AND raise money for research.

  17. […] remaining members shift forward a month. If you want to know the background, please visit first this post, followed by this post, which will explain everything. All the blocks have either arrived in the […]

  18. Joan says:

    This is fantastic. What a great group to finish this quilt. As kimlucas posted please familiarize yourself with the symptoms. I had had similar symptoms due to bowel problems and doctors ignored me. I wish I had known the symptoms so I knew how to talk to the doctor with facts.

Leave a Reply

