The Cloths of Heaven 19: border control

I’ve finished piecing the borders.

The work of the last few days has been pretty repetitive, and frankly, much too dull to post about. But now, I have all four side panels pieced, so I can show you the outcome of the earlier poll. I give you Radiant, in all its glorious colours!

Borders finishedYou can see now what I was aiming for; the overall impression is still blue/green, but there’s a gorgeous red glow surrounding the centre.

Speaking of which…..

Borders and centreI can’t get far enough away in the room to take a shot straight on to the design wall, hence the slightly annoying angled shots.

None of the sides are attached yet; tomorrow it’ll be time to start cutting the backing and batting strips, sandwich the panel, and then quilt, prior to attaching them to the centre. I’m still slowly churning out yoyos for the outer border; up to 56 so far.  Only another 150 or so to go, then…

I’m feeling really happy with how this quilt is coming along. I love the challenge of bringing to life something that has only existed in my head, and this is a lot more complex than most of my work!

I think if I can keep up the momentum, I should be able to get it done in time (with a little space to draw breath) for second week of February, and the handover in Sydney to another niece who can carry it home to her sister!

49 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 19: border control

  1. claire93 says:

    wow!

  2. I have a feeling this quilt is going to be of championship standard. How about submitting it to Houston or wherever the Austalian equivalent is.?

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s very kind, Viv, but it’s more important to me that my niece gets it for her first wedding anniversary :-). I hope she’ll use it for her bed, but in case not, she’s getting a hanging pocket on the back.

  3. shew, awesome!!! And your radiant choice is clearly spot on 🙂

  4. knitnkwilt says:

    This photo shows the purple better, and it makes all the difference. Looks very good! I agree on submitting it to a show.

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly, there just isn’t time. If I didn’t want to put it in the hands of my niece’s sister, who’s visiting in February, and get it to her for May, which is when her first wedding anniversary is due, I’d consider entering it into Mackay Show, like Worldwide Friends in 2015. I agree, this photo does show the colours a little better, but I’m still going to wait for a good outside daylight shot to show you what it *really* looks like!

  5. Grannymar says:

    Mate, you have taken my breath away, and I am joining the chorus encouraging you on submitting it to a show! I am glad you are adding a hanging pocket on the back. In my book it would be wasted on a bed.

    • katechiconi says:

      No show, for reasons previously explained! I’m glad you like it, and while I would like her to have sweet dreams sleeping under it, I’ll be quite happy if it’s on the wall instead.

  6. Grannymar says:

    Oops! That ‘Mate’ should read: Kate!

  7. tialys says:

    Stunning. I’d have to have it on the wall I think – like the work of art it is destined to become.

  8. rutigt says:

    Sooo great! You´d be proud!!!!

  9. I’m listening to a TED talk about how beauty is an essential driver of evolution and a core need in all of us. It makes me think of your work — the elements balanced just so, the evocative colors, the precision and attention to detail —all resulting in a thing of beauty that language can’t really describe.

    Here’s the link if you’re interested: https://www.ted.com/talks/denis_dutton_a_darwinian_theory_of_beauty?language=en

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much for the kind things you’ve said about my work – I’ve saved the link, and shall listen to it properly when I am not rushing to get ready for an appointment! It’s interesting that you should talk about this at a time when I’m beginning to organise my thoughts and intentions about actually making pieces of art instead of embellished bed coverings!

  10. You must be the favorite aunt in all the world for your nieces. That is turning out to be more stunning than I could have anticipated. It’s like giving birth and then being so happy your baby turned out beautiful as well as perfectly formed and healthy. It’s a long slow painstaking process but so worth it in the end. Just “WOW!”

    • katechiconi says:

      There are 4 sisters in that particular set of nieces, and only two have quilts so far… I can feel some plaintive pleading from the other two coming on in the next year or so! Anyone in my family who has expressed an interest has received a quilt, but I have carefully not inflicted one on anyone else! I put too much of myself into the work to find that it’s been relegated to a cupboard or the dog’s bed!

      • I’m with you. My children are not interested so have not made them any. I’d rather donate to charity than have it be unwelcome. No grandchildren so I just sew and give to who asks. They are lucky to have you.

      • katechiconi says:

        Fortunately, my family is still quite keen, and we’re numerous, so I won’t run out of ‘request quilts’ any time soon. The trick is making sure I have time for my own internal visions to be brought to life, rather than just quilts for others!

  11. pattisj says:

    This is gorgeous!

  12. This is really stunning. You have quite the talent!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much! It’s been quite difficult to have this thing sitting in my head saying “you have to find a way to make me happen”, knowing that my skills were only just up to the job. It’s been a good stretch of my ability, and a great boost to my confidence!

  13. Lorij says:

    Kate it’s beautiful!!! The border is gorgeous. Isn’t it marvelous to have a vision in your heart and mind
    then be able to create whatever it is !!!! ???
    You’ve really done a marvelous job.😄

  14. katechiconi says:

    I’m very happy with this one, it’s living up to the internal vision – so often, I find myself wishing I’d been able to get it just a bit closer! Over the next few days, I have to sandwich and quilt the sides, then attach them to the centre, and then it’s time for the final border!

  15. dezertsuz says:

    Oh, wow, do I ever LOVE that!

  16. Oh, wow!! This is stunning!!!

    P.S. I know you can’t enter it into a ‘real life’ show but what about Bloggers’ Quilt Festival? http://amyscreativeside.com/bloggers-quilt-festival/

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s a great idea! I need to take better photos when it’s done… Would you enter this under Original Design or Art Quilt? Or even just Large Quilt? I’ve never done this before, so advice is gratefully received!

  17. Lorij says:

    Under beautiful quilt 😄

  18. Magpie Sue says:

    I agree with everyone else, this is gonna be a stunner. (No surprise there!) I’m curious to see how the yo yo’s come into play. Wouldn’t mess with them myself. ;- )

  19. wow, what a glorious piece of work – your vision is strong! c

  20. Kirsten says:

    Oooh, nearly there . . . !

  21. Impressive!those colors really zing!
    Esther

Leave a Reply

