Tallying up the year

For the second time, then, and this time without all those ‘dangerous’ links!

I always have trouble remembering exactly what I made over the course of the year.

Screen shot 2014-09-26 at 8.53.04 PMSome things, of course, stand out in my memory, like Worldwide Friends, or the current epic, The Cloths of Heaven. But I don’t keep a list anywhere. Perhaps I should, to remind myself that despite my personal perception, I’m really not a lazy slow quilter! I feel a bit hesitant about doing it; it seems so much like blowing my own trumpet and boasting about how much I’ve achieved, but now that I’ve assembled the list, I can truthfully say I have done quite a bit!

So, here we go.

Use the search box at left to find and look at any of these projects or click on the Chiconian Quilts link at left to look at the quilts.

Quilts completed in 2015:
Worldwide Friends: hand stitched & quilted, queen size
The AHQ Corporal’s Quilt: machine stitched & quilted, bunk size
Aimée for my sister: machine stitched & quilted, lap size
Truck Quilt for the Husband: machine stitched & quilted, large lap size
Bookcase Quilt for my niece: machine stitched & quilted, lap size
Bulldogs Quilt for a birthday: machine stitched & quilted, queen size
The start of The Cloths of Heaven

Individual blocks completed in 2015:
22 for Foot²Freestyle (click on the link at left under ‘More Information’ to take a look at the gallery)
13 for ScrapHappy
3 patterns tested for Esther: October Sky, large and small versions, and Venice.

Other sewing projects:
Grey & white Riley Blake fabric dress
Blue floral Amy Butler fabric top
Lilac top
Black spot dress
Laptop cover for me
Tablet cover for the Husband
Crochet tool kit, tatting toolkits 1 and 2
Octagonal sewing box tested for Tialys, same box made for the Dowager
Gerbera bag
AHQ laundry bag
Striped tuffet
Teapot & cups heat pad and mug rugs

Embroidery in 2015:
‘Kowhaiwhai’ completed
‘ANZAC’ started
Blue sampler started.

That’s a respectable total. In this coming year, I’d like to finish Cloths of Heaven plus at least two more quilts of at least lap size, I’d like to finish a couple of garments I’ve cut out but not sewn yet and make a couple more, I’d like to bring F²F to a successful conclusion and make my own quilt from everyone’s blocks when it’s my turn, and in embroidery I’d like to finish both the blue sampler and the ANZAC piece, and start something new and elaborate I have in the back of my head waiting to be let out. Modest goals, but knowing me, I’ll be adding to the list on an almost weekly basis!

Thank you all for your company and kind and thoughtful comments over the past year. Apparently, WordPress has calculated that I’ve had enough visitors to fill the Sydney Opera House to capacity ten times over, this year…

40 thoughts on “Tallying up the year

  1. An impressive record, but I’m not surprised. Just think, not only have you made all those things but you’ve pictured and told us about them in detail in your blog, and that’s no mean task either. A year well lived.

  2. Grannymar says:

    I will ask the question that I tired to add to the deleted post.

    When do you sleep? Gathering the notes and photos for blogging can eat up time, besides replying to comments. You bake by the car load, you garden, built a hen house, cook & clean all before the craft skills take over. I wish I had a quarter of your energy. May it long continue and I am glad to tag along on a daily basis. May the Force ( inspiration) be with you through 2016 and beyond!

    • katechiconi says:

      I find blogging comes easily and naturally. I write exactly as I speak, pictures arise in my mind as I do so, and I take them to fit. Or it’s the other way round and I’m inspired to take some pictures and the words flow to fit. I do sleep, I promise, I’ve even been known to have an afternoon snooze. If anything suffers, it’s the cleaning; my house is perpetually dusty, a function of windows and doors standing open, dust from the dry ground. The geckos don’t take care of all the spiders, so some of my corners are badly festooned. But the dishes get done, the laundry washed and hung out, and the Husband has no complaints and no wish to stop me in my creative endeavours because he can see it makes me so very happy and contented. He’s a good ‘un, I think I’ll hang onto him!

    • katechiconi says:

      Hmm, some other weirdness happening. Let’s see if I can send a comment here instead…:
      Whoops, not quite there! My comment on your latest post has gone walkabout. Could you check and see if I’ve been sent to the sin bin after all…?

  3. Debbierose says:

    It is hard to list them all, but you have done and completed lots

  4. I’m glad you made a list. It’s easy to think about all the stuff we didn’t get done, or that didn’t go the way we’d hoped. But when you lay it all out like that, it’s easy to see you’ve done a lot of very high-quality work. Each project has you reaching a little bit farther — a lot to be proud of!

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re quite right. In retrospect, I’m reaching far beyond my grasp these days, and just having the belief that I will find a way to make it happen. F2F has also pushed me to improve my piecing skills and accuracy, and that’s paying off in all my sewing work. I’ve learned to love and become addicted to paper piecing, which I NEVER thought would happen. And much of it is thanks to the encouragement and support I receive from blogging friends. Thank YOU for my great list of achievements!

  5. Well, you were not in my spam folder after all. Now if you get the comment from this post all is well on this end. I am with Grannymar, wondering when you sleep. I don’t sleep much and get a whole lot less done. I do try to track what I’ve completed with photos so I can realize that I’m not a complete slouch. Getting close though. I didn’t try to click on any links until after I post this comment. We shall see. Have a wonderfully productive and balanced new year.

    • katechiconi says:

      It seems all is well! I do sleep, I promise, around 6 or 7 hours a night. One of my habits is to give myself a certain period of time to sew, set a timer or alarm, go into my sewing room, shut the door and just work till the alarm goes off. It’s quite efficient at making slow but sure progress. Have yourself a wonderful and creative 2016!

      • Thank you, you as well. 🙂

      • Great idea Kate!
        I am looking for a way to get “more” done in the limited time I have. Not necessarily physically get more done, but setting a time to sew a bit every day, even if it is 15 minutes.
        Loved reading your list and of course the comments! 😜😃
        Hugs
        Esther

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ve been doing it for a couple of years now, and it works well! Having a time deadline means you work quickly and efficiently rather than dawdling around and getting distracted.

  6. claire93 says:

    that’s why I love keeping a blog – it serves as a kind of diary, for all the crafting I did throughout the year.
    You’ve had a very full year, and I look forward to seeing all the creations in 2016

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s exactly how I see it too! I kept a diary for many years, but it didn’t allow me to add pictures easily, one way that blogging is superior – the other, of course, being that you can share it with all sorts of friends near and far.
      May your 2016 also be creative and productive; I’m looking forward to seeing your quilting taking off!

  7. rutigt says:

    You really have done quite a lot last year! You also have taken time to blog often about your work and that´s very nice! I like reading your blog 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I love to talk! And I really love to talk about what I’m working on, so blogging is no hardship for me. I love to see your work, and I so admire you for writing in English too!

  8. Maybe you should put all the pictures of your work in a book for the days when you are old and can’t make new pieces…..:D or make some sort of art journal where you can include pieces of fabric that you used……that is not boosting you know !! your work is worth remebering !

    • katechiconi says:

      I take a lot of photos as I work through a project, and only show a few of them on the blog, so I have a very good record on my computer. I have recently started to keep a sketchbook for each quilt I make, with many notes in it – my memory isn’t so good any more and it helps me remember how I did things, and why.

  9. So impressive! And don’t forget….you also created a tutorial for that wonderful Gerbera bag! It is still on my to-do list. 😉 I’m hoping to get to it very soon.

  10. What can I say? You’ve had a bumper year! I have the same problem with the housework. My OH just wants me to be happy and crafting so he does most of the cleaning when I’m not looking 😉 Keep up the great work Wonderwoman 🙂

  11. Jen Gardener says:

    Nice work Kate. I have no idea what kind of work is involved in all of that, but it sounds like a hell of a lot of hundreds of hours! And some lovely pieces to show for it!

  12. EllaDee says:

    Phenomenal. It’s a great tally but the numbers don’t tell the whole story of the amazing inspiration & creativity that drove the processes and end results. As I read the descriptions I remembered how I thought
    each and every piece was so special and amazing.

    • katechiconi says:

      Your insights are really fascinating; the list doesn’t seem a great deal to me compared with some people, but I try not to compare because everyone works a different way. I find creativity a driving force, and so many other activities are just passing time till I can get back to it!

Leave a Reply

