The Cloths of Heaven 17: clarity

I had to do a bit more work, but now I see my way clear.

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 11.19.54 amThank you to everyone who participated in the poll. ‘Radiant’ was a clear winner, which confirms what my own instinct told me.

Behind the scenes, I also tried it the other way, with green radiating out to red. This is how it looks, beside the red glow version.

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 11.16.48 amI want this quilt to retain its blue/green primary colour scheme, but with red/purple highlights. To me, the red glow version achieves this better, not least because the corners will then be darker blue and green. If I go with the green glow, the whole balance shifts towards a red/purple overall impression, as the corners would then also be red/purple. Not what I want. I also think that the red glow version frames the centre better, rather than blends into it. Sometimes you just have to do the work to settle any internal doubts…

Right, back to the sewing room. I have a whole load of setting out to get on with!

28 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 17: clarity

  1. I’m so glad you tried both ways. One thing I’ve found is the quilt tends to “be” the color of the last border. So if you want the quilt to be red/purple, that should be on the outside, as it will give a stronger impression that way. If you want to stay with a cool impression, the outside edge should be the cool colors. Great work.

    • katechiconi says:

      A very good point. The outermost border of this quilt is going to be a 6 inch band covered in yoyos in the colours of the quilt, probably on a dark blue background to make them sing. This ‘frame’ needs to blend a bit with the quilt side panels, which won’t happen if they’re mostly red/purple. I’ve set a corner out now, and it works just as I want it to with the sides. I love it when things go well!

  2. green and red VIBRATE! I love it and the blue.. c

    • katechiconi says:

      The photos don’t do the colours justice, they look a bit flat and samey. In real life, there’s a lot more variation. I must try and get some pics in daylight, but it’s gloomy with the rainclouds overhead!

  3. Now that I see the layout, I think I agree with you clever quilting ladies. Perhaps random works better when it’s on its own (if you know what I mean). 🙂

  4. Lorij says:

    I didn’t vote but, I do think that the red radiation is prettier. It seems to make it pop 😄. What you’ve done so far is beautiful. I know when you are finished it will be Fabulous.

    • katechiconi says:

      It feels good to be starting work on the side panels, because I know they’ll go faster than the centre. I’m already thinking how to quilt them! I have just over a month to finish this, including all the yoyos….

  5. Red radiating to green/blue makes a logical progression to me. The other way round and you lose the fabulous effect of the corners of the centre panel. Get sewing, girl – a month isn’t long.
    love,
    ViV

  6. claire93 says:

    I actually prefer the blues and greens radiating out, but you know what you’re doing ^^

  7. rutigt says:

    I´m seeing two different quilts and I don´t know which one is the best! My first thought was that the left quilt looks bigger and I loved it, but then I looked at the right one and now I´m confused 🙂 I´m just glad it isn´t me who have to chose which one to do! Maybe the right one is the best after all. With the red inside it has , in a way, more character, I think, right now……. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a good thing I have made up my mind already! I like the look of the one on the left, but I know the one on the right will give me the result I want. So that’s the one I’m using!

  8. Aha! I see! The corners …

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly. What happens to the corners is all important, because they will set the colour for the quilt in a way. I want a cool quilt with a bit of a warm glow, rather than a warm quilt with a cool glow.

  9. tialys says:

    I voted for the radiant but once I saw your ‘behind the scenes messing’ I actually prefer the green radiating out – in isolation – but I can see that, for this quilt, the other way round will work better.

  10. They are both lovely but I prefer the more vibrant one on the right (and I would give it orange/red glowing corners too but I know you already have something specific in mind).

    • katechiconi says:

      The request was for a mainly blue-green quilt, with touches of red/ burgundy/ purple. To achieve this I need to keep the corners in the blue-green end of the spectrum. The red is tempting, but I have to stick with the original vision I had for it!

  11. Grannymar says:

    The one on the right would be my choice.

  12. Great idea to try both! You have explained very clearly what your intentions ar!
    Love it.
    Esther

Leave a Reply

