The Cloths of Heaven 16: order vs chaos

I have a dilemma. No, it doesn’t hurt, but it’s annoying.

I have now cut all the squares to make up the side and corner panel for Cloths of Heaven. I’m happy with the mix of jewelled and dark colours, and now that the press-cut-press-cut-press-cut agony is over, it’s time to start sewing once again. Here’s where the dilemma comes in.

Construction pageThe original concept for the quilt was that the colours for the side and corner panels would be mixed, jumbled, random and otherwise haphazard. There’s a pin on my Pinterest board for this quilt which contains all these colours and more, co-existing in beautiful but random harmony, hence the original idea. I knew I’d have trouble with true random because of my compulsive eye not allowing certain colour adjacencies. What I didn’t envisage was that while I was setting out the squares, my subconscious would take over, enter into a conspiracy with my hand, and give me a totally different idea for the side panels altogether. And I’m pretty sure I like it more!

What do you think? Below is random (as far as I’m capable of random!), and above is the other idea. It radiates. I really like the idea of a glow surrounding the central panel. I think the corner squares will remain muted in blues and greens, but if I go with this route, I’ll widen the glow effect so it reaches nearly the full length of the panel.

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 3.37.05 pm

Here’s how both options would look against the centre panel: radiant at the top, random at the bottom:

Radiant side panel Centre panelScreen Shot 2015-12-29 at 4.03.51 pm

What do you think? Is it better radiant or random? I don’t promise to follow the consensus, but I’m interested to know how the options strike you. Have your say!

 

 

49 thoughts on “The Cloths of Heaven 16: order vs chaos

  1. Nothing wrong with the radiant, it’s absolutely lovely, but I am the Queen of Random – so my choice is clear 🙂 xx

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, your Majesty! Does the poll form show up when you open the post? If so, do hit the Random button! If it’s not showing I shall have to investigate.

      • The first thing I did was vote. Never seen a poll form like that before, most intriging 🙂

      • katechiconi says:

        Go to the WP Admin dashboard, go down to Feedback, click on Polls. At the top of that window, you’ll see an option to Create New, click on that. Scroll left and right for style and size options. You can add extra questions and define parameters. Once you’ve created it, save it, copy the short code from the box, and paste that into your blog post. It will save your poll in case you want to use it again in the future. You don’t see the poll box in the editing format of the blog post, only the line of code. If you want to see the poll results, click on “see results” in the View Post screen and it’ll give you the percentages and total votes.

    • knitnkwilt says:

      “Other” space wasn’t big enough. I love arm chair quilting that I can think about but not do. 🙂 I think random is too much red and could detract from the center. But if you brought “random” into the center a few reds might sparkle. Then keep the light blues/greens in the corners.

      • knitnkwilt says:

        Duh–should be I think radiating is too much red.

      • katechiconi says:

        Yes, that one puzzled me for a moment or two, till I realised what you meant!

      • katechiconi says:

        Interesting idea… The thing is, there has always been red-spectrum colour in the quilt in my internal vision, so perhaps I don’t find it so ‘sudden’ visually as you do. Also, I’m quite aware that the colour reproduction is not very good – the red spectrum includes light and dark cerise, wine red, fiery red, bright violet, dark violet, grape and eggplant.

  2. claire93 says:

    I’ve voted, and for radiant ^^

  3. lucyannluna says:

    I like the radiant one ( sorry have not voted as I’m on my phone). It looks beautiful.

  4. I’ve voted for radiant, perhaps graded lighter ar the edges where the blues take over?

    Whatever you do, this quilt is going to be truly special.
    love,
    ViV

  5. Jule says:

    I’m voting for radiant (the poll button doesn’t show up for me). 🙂

  6. rutigt says:

    I also have a hard time sewing blocks in random. I vote for the radiant 🙂 If I “must” sew random, I have to close my eyes before choosing and even that is sometimes difficult LOL

  7. The poll is fabulous — just a couple of days ago I wondered if I could use one. If I need pointers, I’ll check with you.

    I voted for radiant. I really think either would work well, but the radiant “makes more sense” to me, giving the circular design of the center. Thanks for letting us chime in.

    • katechiconi says:

      The poll tool isn’t hard to use, and there are a few options for layout and colour. So far, the Radiant option is well in the lead, which confirms my own preference, but I’m going to let it sit overnight (my time) and move on it in the morning.

  8. manicmumdays says:

    I like the radiant … Have you tried ridiant with the green at the middle and the red in the top corners? {would be interested to see a pic of that too if you have :)}

  9. Lynda says:

    Kate, the general consensus is for radiant and I must agree. This is going to be one amazing quilt!

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree too! I’ve tweaked the layout a little and the shape is a little smoother and less sudden. One final variant to test tomorrow, reversing the green/ blue/ purple/ red gradient, and then I’ll know.

  10. I’m behind here and will catch up next week or maybe this week but my brain liked the radiant best. I did vote. The random set my brain trying to figure it out. Funny how brains work. It’s a stunning quilt and I didn’t look at it because I want to go back and see the stages of progress.

  11. Carole says:

    I really struggle with random. I like order. My choice would be the radiant. I think it looks lovely 🙂

  12. tialys says:

    I’ve voted for radiant. I like the idea of a ‘glow’ surrounding the centre.

    • katechiconi says:

      Me too, but I’m also going to look at a variant where the glow is in the far corners, so that the green corners of the central square tie in with the outer panels better. Oh, the decisions!

  13. anne54 says:

    Yep, added my vote to the radiant too. I think that because the centre of the quilt is so beautifully not random, random patterns around it would jar. I think the centre needs the colours radiating out from it. The random could end up looking too bitsy. Go with your gut instinct!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m going to investigate one more possibility, which is green radiating out to red. It may just end up being the way I go… It just seems to continue the edge of the central square nicely. Although I do love the hot glow too!

  14. Grannymar says:

    I am late to the polling station, but voted for radiant. Not to read the next post and see your decision.

    • katechiconi says:

      You made the right choice!

      • Grannymar says:

        I see I am two posts behind… Blame my visitors who left late this afternoon and are now safely home.

      • katechiconi says:

        Visitors and family come first! I hope you’ve had a good festive season. I’m not sure we’ll be able to stay awake long enough to see the New Year in, with early starts and long working hours for the Husband, but I never seem to make much of a song and dance about it anyway!

      • Grannymar says:

        YES! Visitors and family come first come first in my book too. We had ‘my’ Christmas yesterday after a whole week of not talking to a human in person,,, phone calls had to do. I certainly made up for it with hugs and doggy licks! I seldom sit up to hear the bells, the year begins whether I am awake or not. I just hope that 2016 will be a healthy one for all of us.

  15. Kirsten says:

    I prefer the radiant configuration. Everything else is so organised. I realise that I am probably way to late to the party and you will have done it all by the time you read this!

Leave a Reply

