The Secret Revealed

These were for a gift, so I couldn’t post about them before.

Susan Druding teapot

The border is actually a mid-dark green, not black as it appears in this photo; it tones well with the leaves in the teapot print.

Piece by Number cups

The willow pattern fabric was an obvious choice; it was a gift from Viv* when I was making the Worldwide Friends quilt, and I had some left.

One of my blogging friends, Dale from the blog Ella Dee, has just moved from Sydney to mid-north coast New South Wales, to a tiny township deep in the countryside. She and her husband are taking the plunge into a calmer, saner life in a wonderful old house.

I missed getting them to her before the move itself, which was just before Christmas (as if the festive season wasn’t mad enough!), so I wanted to get these ready in time for the start of the New Year as well as their New Life.

We’ll be visiting them early next year, but I didn’t want to wait, and I didn’t want her to wait, so they’ve gone off in the mail today. If Dale sees them here, well, it won’t be long till the real things arrive, and there’s a fair chance she won’t spot them before they arrive anyway!

In case you’re interested, the cups are a free paper piecing pattern from Piece by Number, and there are three other styles too, all 4″ blocks, so perfect for mug rugs. The teapot is another free pattern, designed by Susan Druding, and is an 8″ block, which I thought would make a very good sized tea or coffee pot heat pad. There are actually two teapot patterns in the link; I preferred the taller design. Lots of fiddly small bits, and my quilting is a tiny bit, um, organic, but I don’t think their new owners will be bringing out the ruler to check! It was all done freehand and at speed, hence the slight wobbliness.

Tomorrow I take the plunge back into The Cloths of Heaven. It’s time to start cutting the 240 coloured squares that will form the wide border around the central landscape. I shall enjoy arranging the squares considerably more than the pressing and cutting, but once it’s done, it’s done. 4 long side pieces and 4 square corner pieces to be made up: cut, stitched, sandwiched and quilted, then attached to the central panel with sashing strips.

After that, there’s one last big job. The outer border with the yoyos. Lots and lots of yoyos…

*http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Secret Revealed

  1. I’m glad you have mentioned cutting and ironing 240 little squares…I have a similarly long and boring task ahead of me, which I’ve been putting off. Now I will think of you when I tackle it 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Cut 15, stop for a coffee, cut 15, stop and do something else for 5 minutes, cut 15, read your emails, cut 15….. Of course, once the squares are done, I face the yoyo mountain. I haven’t dared work out how many of those I need yet!

  2. EllaDee says:

    Ooh, they’re wonderful! I love floral + teapots & cups, and the G.O. is a fan of blue & white willow, so your choices were very perceptive. I’m looking forward to receiving and putting the real thing to good use…
    Maybe a relaxed pot of tea on the verandah while I catch up on blog reading. We’ve come out the other side of the move & Christmas and are getting used to the idea of being on holiday for a while 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I think that sounds like an excellent plan! Glad you like what you see – the backs are just print fabric so if you’d hated them you could just turn them over! The envelope went in the mail today, so should start its travels tomorrow. With luck and a following wind you should have it by the end of the week, early next at the latest.

  3. I love the idea of a teaset of mug rugs. If I remember rightly, that willow pattern print was originally made into a tea-cosy. tablecloth and napkins, which were sold at an exhibition donkey’s years ago. You had the scraps.. I’ll see if I can find a photo.

  4. tialys says:

    What a lovely gift. I adore the willow pattern fabric and can’t think of a better project for it.

    • katechiconi says:

      It practically jumped into my hand and said “use me!”. This sort of thing is a great way to use fabrics with strong prints – I can see a series of teacups and pots using up all those big splashy florals I seem to have accumulated without actually buying them!

  5. Lorij says:

    I really, like anything tea cup, tea pot and saucer. These are simply beautiful.
    My Granddaughters both really like the dresses and jackets that I made. I gave my daughter the quilt and let her know that I will do the rest of the history and applique the names on it this week hopefully. She’s very pleased. I will send you photos of all first chance I get.
    I pray that your 2016 will be happy, healthy and prosperous.

  6. Grannymar says:

    We had the bookcase quilt maybe next it will be the dresser with plates, cups and saucers… whatcha think?

  7. rutigt says:

    I like the two cups. Looks like real china to me 🙂

  8. I’ve only ever made one mug rug and I gave it away. Your tea set ones are lovely. You’ve given me an idea so thank you 🙂

  9. How could one resist willow pattern china?

  10. […] Other sewing projects: Grey & white Riley Blake dress Blue floral Amy Butler top Lilac top Black spot dress Laptop cover for me Tablet cover for the Husband Crochet tool kit, tatting tool kits 1 and 2 Octagonal sewing box tested for Tialys, same box made for the Dowager Gerbera bag AHQ laundry bag Striped tuffet Paper pieced tea pot and cups heat pad and mug rugs. […]

  11. […] community for the inspiration & virtual company they provide. Special thanks to Mary, Kate & Celia for the lovely cards & housewarming […]

Leave a Reply

